We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really Nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
Ranked #10 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really Nice!”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

One of the reasons we relocated to the Houston area of Texas was it's close proximity to other cities. San Antonio is just under a three hour drive from Houston and with a couple of days off it was a perfect getaway. We arrived late, close to midnight and were greeted by the valet upon arrival. The valet staff were all very professional and courteous. FYI...there is a $29 per day charge if you use the valet. Having lived in Las Vegas for 20 years where valet parking is free, it is difficult to pay for valet parking but at midnight and tired it was worth it.

I had booked our room on the hotel's website and thought I confirmed a courtyard view room with a king bed. Upon checking-in we were told I had actually booked a river view room with two double beds. I apparently clicked on the wrong line when I booked. They did not have a courtyard room that night but we were promised that we could switch rooms the next day. Our bags were delivered to our room by Anthony Lozano who actually met us in the valet and escorted us to the registration desk (on the 2nd floor). Anthony waited for us while we checked-in and provided excellent service. I'd also like to mention Mourad, one of the valets, as he also provided excellent service.

The room, although not what we wanted, was modern and very nicely appointed. We went down to the bar for a couple of cocktails and late night eats. The hotel has a very nice patio area that overlooks the river and it was a great place to enjoy our food and cocktails. I actually had one of the best burgers I've ever tasted!

The beds were comfortable but unfortunately we were awakened by a banging noise around 7:30 am. My fiance called the front desk and they apologized. It turns out they were updating the carpets on the 6th floor and the workers were hammering. We bumped into two of the managers in the lobby later in the day and they asked us about our stay. We told them we really liked the hotel but did not know there was work being done and that the hammering woke us up very early. They were very sympathetic and gave us two $22 vouchers for breakfast the next morning. We did switch to a courtyard view room for our 2nd night. The courtyard rooms have spacious balconies which overlook a very nice waterfall/fireplace. We would definitely book a courtyard room over a river view room.

Although we had a couple of bumps, the Hotel Valencia will be our place to stay when visiting San Antonio. The entire staff was very helpful and you could tell they really cared about your experience. In fact, they encourage you to post a review on TripAdvisor.

Things to do while in San Antonio...the Riverwalk is a lot of fun with great restaurants, people watching and even a boat tour of the Riverwalk. If you are a history buff definitely visit the Alamo. About 30 minutes away we went to the Natural Bridge Caverns and the Wildlife Ranch which is an African safari that you drive through in your own car. We highly recommend these two attractions!

Room Tip: Courtyard room with balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lance B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,878 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,929
    531
    214
    132
    72
See reviews for
441
1,183
81
550
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (678)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2014

I spent weeks trying to find the perfect spot to spend a romantic birthday weekend with my Girlfriend. I am really glad i picked this place.

The hotel is a charming Boutique hotel that manages to be inviting and warm without sacrificing the luxury and upscale feel associated with these type of hotels. It is definitely a nice choice for couples, business/pleasure trips, and a little escape with friends- not so much a family environment.
The hotel is a little dark due to the low ambiance lightning throughout the building, but this only adds to the private-luxurious feel. The lobby (located one floor above street level) can get a little noisy with the beautiful water-feature that welcomes guests into the hotel at first arrival. The view from the room (Riverview King) was not spectacular but it was satisfying enough. The room itself was stylish and cosy. The bed and linens were comfortable and the bathroom accommodations seemed small but acceptable.
What really made the difference was the Service! If you plan on staying here look into their VVIP membership! Absolutely worth checking out. I needed special accommodations and the hotel went above and beyond the call of duty! Welcoming us to our room with music playing and ice cold beer (my favorite one) waiting. Being my Birthday, they also received me with a cute card sign by the staff, a bottle of wine, and a box of designer chocolates.
The only low point of the stay was the Food we order via Room Service. The salad was not impressive and the Citrus Burger i ordered was dry and a bit cold. For an expensive gourmet burger it really left a lot to be desired.
On out departure we had the pleasure to be assisted by Mourad. He really made our day! Super friendly, helpful and over-all a nice last impression of Hotel Valencia!
Will definitely come back!

Pros: Great accommodations. Luxurious boutique feeling. Friendly Staff. VVIP service. Key protected elevator access. Nice location. Beautiful balcony-area overlooking the Riverwalk. Ample room. Charming Open-air courtyard. Gay friendly.

Cons: Loud ambiance and echoey hallways. Expect Low-light environment. Underwhelming room service. Best suited for adult guests.

Extra: If you stay here, skip the Starbucks and make sure you visit the little coffee shop in the corner (SIP - Corner of E.Houston and St. Mary's)!! Best Juices and Breakfast sandwiches i've had in a while!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iamLizzieLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I recently stayed at Hotel Valencia with a couple of my colleagues and fell in love from the very beginning. Excellent staff and beautiful interior designs! The valet guys Bobby, Anthony and Zach were very courteous and quick to assist us. The front desk Erika, Veronica and Bianca were amazing. They were all so welcoming when we arrived and departed. They were also very helpful with restaurant and bar recommendations. I will definitely be returning to this hotel and recommend it to many of my friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

We visited Hotel Valencia for a family vacation. Since we loved out first stay there we decided to take the kids this time. We loved our entire visit. From the moment we arrived we were greeted by friendly valet guys. The girls at the front desk were very helpful and informative throughout our stay, they were glad to answer any questions we had. Brianna (Breanna?) was awesome during checkin, always had a smile on her face. When we got to our room we had our VVIP amenity waiting for us with a welcome back note from Nicole Phillips and Chad Taylor. We love the perks of the VVIP program, it was one of the reasons we decided to stay at Valencia during our first visit to San Antonio. When we were walking in the lobby we were greeted by a gentleman named Omar who was very helpful in pointing us in the right direction to visit the Riverwalk. We took the kids to seaworld one day and fiesta Texas another, the valet guys helped with directions to and from both parks and this was good because we are from out of state. The rooms were very spacious and clean during both of our stays. Even with the kids with us, we had plenty of room to relax with two beds in the room. We definitely found our home away from home in San Antonio! Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamber84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed at the hotel for one night with 2 kids, 8 and 1yr old. We like the look of the hotel room and we had a view facing the courtyard, which was ok. I believe this hotel is best suited for travelers, business, friends, romance, anything but kids. Having said that, I sill like the hotel. It is chic and fun with lots of low lighting and aroma therapy, the hotel has a pleasant scent. You can pass the hotel outside and get a whiff of a very nice soothing scent, very pleasant. It is situated right off the river walk and right in between Market Square and the Alamo down town. You could walk to either one but it would be several block stoll in either direction, take the trolley, but you could cross the block from the hotel and be a Starbucks!

The staff is excellent, the valets were helpful and just fabulous. Our room was not ready, we were a bit early, so we prechecked in, went to lunch, and when we came back, voila.... they had everything waiting and ready for us. Thanks front desk! The bellman who brought our bags in, even set up our luggage on the rack for us.

Now, this is not a kid friendly hotel, no pool, and sharp corners and edges. I thought my daughter the 8 yr old would bloody her schin on the corner of the bed, luckily she survived. :). The hotel is very quiet and they give you plenty of towels. The bed is comfy, down pillows I believe and the comforter is covered how I prefer, which is a top sheet (this had the hotel monogram), the comforter, a bottom sheet, then the fitted sheet. That way they change the sheets surrounding the comforter every time they have new guests. You are not sitting on the traditional hotel comforter that goes for who knows how long before it is cleaned.

Check out was pleasant, it was emailed to me and we would come back, without the little ones this time. :)

Room Tip: We stayed in rm 604 which over looked the courtyard. Boring. Ask for another view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvadealmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2014

From beginning to end, our experience at Citrus and Hotel Valenia was nothing short of excellent! Sherry was wonderful and extremely welcoming, ensuring that our night was perfect. Logan was a great server and described the menu in a way that made us want to try everything. Chef Robbie Nowlin is great at what he does and I highly recommend Citrus to anyone looking for great food with excellent service.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewisville, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Truly enjoyed my stay! The hotel was elegant and modern in decor. The rooms were clean and everything was in working order. The price was great and the location was convenient to the concert I was attending at The Majestic. The bottle of wine on our arrival was a nice VVIP touch. Would stay again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#21 of 354 in San Antonio
3,458 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 354 in San Antonio
3,032 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 354 in San Antonio
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valencia Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Property: Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
Address: 150 East Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-2223
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valencia Riverwalk 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the San Antonio River Walk, within walking distance of the Alamo, Hotel Valencia Riverwalk is a boutique hotel in the heart of downtown San Antonio. Hotel Valencia is ideal for a romantic or weekend getaway, a business trip or a group or convention. Our hotel is a short walk from the San Antonio Convention Center, downtown attractions and only a short drive to The Pearl, theme parks and various golf courses. Enjoy signature cocktails in Naranja bar and dine in Dorregos Restaurant. Amenities include signature beds with Egyptian cotton linens, complimentary continental breakfast and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Valencia Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valencia Riverwalk Hotel
Valencia Riverwalk San Antonio
Hotel Valencia San Antonio
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing