We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Mexican Style Seafood!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Bucanero

El Bucanero
Ranked #109 of 4,589 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Seafood, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
241 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Style Seafood!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Great seafood here. The Molca Campechana dish is excellent. The seafood is so fresh. My wife gets this every time we eat there, and sometimes we get it to go. The tostadas are made fresh daily. Their fried seafood is perfect. Beer is cold. Great atmosphere...we love this place. El Bucanero is like Mexico beach seafood in San Antonio. Check them out!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    38
    9
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
106 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Take-out is the key”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

I solved my El Bucanero problem by calling ahead and ordering my ceviche to-go. It's the best ceviche by far and you can eat it in the quiet of your own home. (Put on some mariachi music if you must, for authenticity.) The only issue you might have is if you order any time around the dinner hour (or breakfast or lunch, for that matter), you might have to walk a half block or so from the back of the parking lot. This place is ALWAYS busy. But I love their ceviche -- so fresh and tangy -- and there's not much better than sitting on my patio with a glass of crisp white wine and dining on the best ceviche in the area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lots of spirit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Fun place for families and large groups. Lots of character and lots of noise. Not exactly the best comida, but fun comida.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Phlasch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Thought I was in Mexico”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Molded after top Mexican Seafood restaurants with a large menu and outstanding prices. The Tiliapia ceviche is excellent. Also had the Mariscada de la Reyna a huge dish with, ceviche, breaded and fried fillet, shrimp, chile relleno, rice, mussel, etc. it fed four of us. The oysters on the half shell were fresh. The chips and salsa were very tasty. The beer was cold. The service was top notch. If you like seafood you absolutely have to try this place. You can pay more, but you can't eat better.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ceviche Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Attending an exhibition at La Cantera and a buddy from Houston recommended this restaurant.
Went by the next day for lunches to go and was rewarded with excellent ceviche, both fish and
shrimp, and a great shrimp cocktail. The hostess was a great help, and the servings were large
enough for a meal. This is authentic food which I have not tasted since the beach in Mexico.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Bucanero also viewed

 

Been to El Bucanero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing