We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scenic”

Rio San Antonio Cruises
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Step aboard a River Cruising Barge for an exciting and entertaining narrative of the rich history of the San Antonio River! Cruises are about 35 minutes long and cover one and a half miles of the beautiful San Antonio River Walk. We also offer Dining Charters, River Taxi shuttle and Private Charters.
Tampa Bay, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Scenic”
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

A good place to start your visit to downtown San Antonio. We cruised during the day but an evening cruise would be even better! Very scenic and "captains" provide a good overview of points of interest along the way.

Helpful?
Thank cindersmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,771 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,696
    769
    205
    41
    60
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Smyrna, Tennessee
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Begin your San Antonio trip here!”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

The Rio Taxi is the way to begin your visit to San Antonio. The drivers are knowledgeable about the area and can answer any question. The Taxi goes around the Riverwalk and up the river to its source including through the locks. Along the way the driver points out many attractions. You can leave the taxi and pick it up again with a 24 hour ticket. It is a great way to see the San Antonio River and a great place to start and decide what you want to see in the city.
For extra history, take the River Cruise which just goes around the Riverwalk. The guide was well informed and gave a great synopsis of San Antonio history. It was an enjoyable and relaxing way to see the sights.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank lost_in_itasca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thompsons Station, TN
Level Contributor
204 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“OK - but a must do while you are here.”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I kind of have to go against most of the reviews of this attraction. I felt it was a little light weight on the value scale. We had a guide that obviously has been here a while but was more of a comedian than tour guide. Having said that there isn't much outstanding to point out on the river walk. It's mostly restaurants and hotels so I guess he was trying to make it interesting. The cruise lasts about 30 minuets and it is reasonably priced which is why I say it's a must do to see the river walk from a different prospective. If you go with the right expectation you'll not regret the few buck it costs.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellsworth, Maine
Level Contributor
111 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Fun!”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

A friend and I took a minute from our busy day to enjoy the cruise and I am happy that we did! Our boatman was awesome, so funny. I could have gone twice it was such fun but didn't. Please spend the $8.25 (or less) and enjoy a good 35-40 minutes!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JaneK473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
165 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“So delightful, we went twice!”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The guides are very well informed and make your 35 minute roundtrip tour of the Riverwalk quite interesting. We learned something different from each of the two times we went on the cruise, so not every guide provides the same information. The boats are comfortable and fun to ride. No trip to the Riverwalk is complete without a river cruise.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jbltex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rio San Antonio Cruises also viewed

 

Been to Rio San Antonio Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing