We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio Rivercenter Area
Ranked #91 of 356 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Comfy 2-nights stay”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

The hotel itself is not far from the center at all. They offer a shuttle but if you feel like walking its a brief 15 minute stroll straight to the Riverwalk area.

We got upgraded to a king suite which was quite roomy. Everything in working order and bed was HUGE. The only issue I could mention was the noisy A/C that went on and off the whole night.
Internet was a bit sketchy on the first day probably due to the number of users but no problems afterwards.

The front desk really goes out of their way to accomodate all your requests. The manager is a nice indian chap and the ongoing renovation was only noticeable in the elevator.

Breakfast is quite ok, usual HIX fare with hot items, bagels, cinnamon rolls and fruits.

We enjoyed our stay and would return if in the area!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ka0z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    86
    33
    14
    3
See reviews for
83
60
12
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McAllen, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Loved that it was so close to the Alamodome. The parking was free which I loved since most of the downtown hotels charge you for parking. Rooms were very clean with fridge,sink and microwave! The breakfast was also very good I was impressed. The best part for us was that they had a shuttle that would take us downtown and pick us up whenever we were done shopping or just walking down on the river walk. Didn't have to use our car and fighting that traffic!

Room Tip: Stay on 4th floor if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JPTEX1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liberty
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2014

I booked this hotel online for my husband and I just to get away..It had free parking,wi-fi,a very good breakfast and a shuttle to the riverwalk..All we were looking for..I know this is not peak season but we got a very good price for our two nights stay..The hotel is undergoing renovation but we were not the least bit put out by it..I talked to Mahesh Fulani,the general manager,and he was very proud of the new look..A very nice and friendly man as was the whole staff..Janie worked front desk and helped us to get checked in..LuLu and Joey are the shuttle drivers and always there when we needed them..We had really went to see the Tower of Americas and that was pretty awesome..LuLu dropped us right at the front gate..We went to the riverwalk several times w/Joey as our driver..He knows the city and gave good tips on where to go for late night snacks..lol..We really enjoyed our stay and hope to get to go back soon..

Room Tip: Next trip I would ask for a room facing E.Commerce,facing toward the Tower of Americas..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lydia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2014

The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel provides a full breakfast, not just continental, so that is a plus. The room was clean, but the shower reminded me of taking a ziplock bag, filling it with lukewarm water and poking it with a fork. The heater quit halfway through my stay, it was January, so it cooled off to 66 by the end of my 3 day stay. This is a very old building on the register of National Historic buildings, so some aspects were quite dated. The nights were quiet and restful on the 5th floor where I stayed.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boatbldr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio Rivercenter Area, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear boatbldr,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the temperature of the water for your shower prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We were glad to see the high scores for Cleanliness and Sleep Quality as well as your positive comments for the staff. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Spent 9/5 Through 09/08 at this location. All of the staff members were courteous, helpful and professional. They performed above average in our opinion. Our room was clean an comfortable. Breakfast was good -- I would say a bit above average for a comparative location. The choices for breakfast was reasonable. Also, it is one of the few places we've been where they had a healthy selection of cereals and not just the high sugar ones. The shuttle to downtown locations was convenient and helpful. The facility is undergoing renovations --- The completed renovations are very nice and practical. The areas where work was still progressing was very orderly and neat. We would definitely stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTrails789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navarre, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I stayed here the week before Halloween. My wife needed help with directions and the front desk went out of their way to help us get where we were going. The breakfast was great. This location is perfect if you are coming to the river walk! It is just a jump, skip and a hop to get where all of the action is. This hotel is an A++ in my book!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PageTravelxxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Renovations underway, but did not inconvenience guests. We were in updated suite and it was very nice, comfortable bed, etc. Breakfasts had multiple choices and were good. Service from the staff both in hotel and shuttle drivers was excellent: Everyone went out of their way to be helpful and to show they really cared. While a mile or so from the Riverwalk area, the shuttles were available from 0730 to 2230 each day and went to most of the main attractions. Their suggestions for restaurants were very good - never had a bad meal. They showed us places of interest, and if not on the shuttle route showed us where the closest pick up spot was. Never had to use a car for the downtown area. Never more than 3 - 4 blocks from any shuttle stop. Will definitely stay there again if we go back to SA. Extra razors, toothbrush ,deodorant, etc. at desk gratis, should you forget or run out. Thanks to Lulu, Chris, and Joey from the shuttle team, Rachel & David at the desk. Several other thank yous, but didn't get all the names. No negative on ANY employee we met!

Room Tip: we were on the parking lot side, so no real noise problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hugh s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Staybridge Suites Downtown San Antonio Convention Center
East Side
Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
La Hacienda Inn Alamodome/Riverwalk
East Side
Hampton Inn & Suites San Antonio-Downtown/Market Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio Rivercenter Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio Rivercenter Area

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio Rivercenter Area
Address: 1309 E Commerce St, San Antonio, TX 78205-3319
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#57 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#86 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio Rivercenter Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio Rivercenter Area. We are also the closest Holiday Inn Express hotel to The Riverwalk, Convention Center, Rivercenter Mall, Alamo Dome. This San Antonio downtown hotel is 100% smoke free!! All of the guestrooms in our hotel include microwaves & refrigerators, complimentary in room coffee, complimentary high speed Internet access, & of course, our Simply Smart Bedding Collection as well as our Stay Smart shower head. Upgrade to one of our suites for additional space & comfort. All of the hotels suites include wet bars, sofa sleepers in the living room & separate televisions in the bedroom & living room. With features like free hot breakfast, free Internet access, free shuttle service to Convention Center, River Center Mall and Market Square, free parking, why stay anywhere else? Our friendly staff & special services make us the Smart choice when staying in San Antonio. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rivercenter Area & leave everything to us. Again, welcome to San Antonio!! We look forward to having you!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio Rivercenter Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites San Antonio Rivercenter Area
Holiday Inn Express Rivercenter
Holiday Inn San Antonio
San Antonio Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio Rivercenter Area Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing