We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow. Everything is great about this hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Ranked #2 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wow. Everything is great about this hotel.”
Reviewed 8 September 2012

We recently held a business meeting for about 25 clients at the Mokara. The rooms are fantastic. The service is wondeful. They helped us pull off a great two-0day meeting and were very accommodating in the planning and during the event. The entire staff, from the point of check-in to check-out was very helpful and attentive. I can't say enough about them.

The facility is great. The rooms are large and comfortable for any standard, much less a downtown hotel. The bathrooms are very appointed. It is located in a great spot on the Riverwalk and very convenient to all the local sights. We could walk to the Alamo, several art stores and several great restaurants. I didn't get the chance to get up on the roof to the pool and cafe, but several of our colleagues did and raved about it as well.

I was a little skeptical when the concierge suggested their own restaurant, Ostra, as having the best seafood in the area. Well, after trying it I will take their word for it. That is in a separate review, but almost a must-do if you like seafood.

Room Tip: If you can get a room with a baclony on the Riverwalk, it is a great spot to people watch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteFarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,143
    181
    47
    23
    15
See reviews for
189
742
44
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Tx
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

My Husband and I spent our 10th Anniversary weekend at the Mokara and it just set the mood for the amazing weekend we had. We chose it because it was listed as the #1 hotel in San Antonio and we really trust trip advisor and it's traveler reviews. It is beyond #1. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, we were treated like and made to feel like VIP's. The doormen, the concierge, the front desk, everyone was just so incredibly polite and accommodating and they just do whatever it takes to make your requests happen. The bed was amazing, the pillows were just perfect, the room was a great size and the bathroom was nice and spacious. But the Spa was the icing on the cake. I'm almost at a loss for words for how beautiful the spa was. My husband booked for me a 1hr massage as a gift and it was the most thoughtful gift he could have given me. You are pampered from the moment you walk in and the Spa grounds it self is simply incredible. There's a seperate men's and womens area, in which each area has it's own sauna, showers and hot water pool. The lounge area where you wait for you technician is so beautiful and relaxing...I must've spent 3 hours in the spa using all the facilities...it's all free! (besides the massage of course). The only small thing that I would complain about is that the fire alarm went off Saturday morning at at 7am!! We had to grab our robes and run down the stairs and the wine from the night before didn't help any either! (it was a false alarm) But the staff apologized up and down for the inconvenience and it was all good. The Ostra is wonderful and the sunday breakfast buffett is well worth the price. The evening drinks on their riverwalk patio is the best for people watching. We would stay there again and it is our only choice for San Antonio now. Just amazing!

Room Tip: They're all beautiful...we had just the standard room and it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zulema9807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012 via mobile

My husband and I spent a night there and had the best service we have ever had! We were treated like royalty! I wish we had spent our anniversary there instead of the JW Marriott. Maybe the Omni and Mokara staff should offer them lessons on how to treat their guest and run a luxury hotel and spa!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Schandler77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
unlisted
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We stumbled upon this small boutique hotel by accident. Chilled bottled water at your fingertips upon arriving at the hotel, and any time you come and go... so appreciated by us because of the TX heat. Beautiful basket of apples in the lobby for guests and complimentary explorer bags for the little ones, full of things to keep them busy. The entire hotel was decorated in style, modern yet has a very established feel to it. A beautiful plate of dates awaited us in our room, and turn down service included milk and cookies for the kids. The bathroom was amazing with a huge jacuzzi tub, bath salts, and a personal bath attendant to draw your bath if you desire. After you bathe, enjoy the use of slippers, a robe and eye mask for a full nights rest. We enjoyed the hotel restaurant as well, the food was great and they were VERY accommodating to special requests. The staff had great recommendations for us and were just genuinely nice. I hear the spa is one of the finest; can't wait to visit here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erinoerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

My family just returned from a stay at Mokara Hotel and Spa. Everything was outstanding there. We were most impressed when my daughter scraped her toe when she was coming in from the balcony and it split her toenail. She was in a lot of pain and crying. They immediately sent ice to our room, medical supplies to wrap the toe, and followed up with two phone calls to make sure she was OK. They went above and beyond to be sensitive to our needs. That's really great service that I know would be uncommon at most large hotels.

We ate breakfast in their restaurant and it was very good. We also used the gym and it was really well equipped. Our only complaint was the gym was too warm, but we were using it in the afternoon when the sun was pouring in the huge windows. I think if they had staff close the draperies when the sun is pouring in, it would help keep the room cool. Other than that, we loved using the facility.

We didn't get to use the pool but it looked very nice.

The room was nicely decorated and it had a ceiling fan. We enjoyed the balcony, even though it was a bit small for 3 people to use. We stayed over on a Saturday and the "partying" was loud until very late on the riverwalk below, but the room was well-insulated from the noise so we could all sleep.

We will be back!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelNut67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We absolutely LOVED Mokara. Would go back in a heartbeat. Perfect location on the riverwalk and a fantastic spa. Philip the concierge is over the top! Our room was on the spa floor with a balcony overlooking the riverwalk that we really enjoyed. My husband works for a 4 diamond hotel in the Metro NY area, so we're picky and we notice everything. Mokara exceeded expectations in every way. I couldn't recommend highly enough!!

Room Tip: Definitely request a room with a balcony over the riverwalk - well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft Laud
Level Contributor
166 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012 via mobile

This is probably downtown's most well appointed and upscale hotel. Located on the Riverwalk and very elegant. The staff is first class (shows the excellent training they have received). I have allergy needs with my linens/towels and they could not have been more accomodating. Other first rate hotels can take lessons from the folks here at Mokara. Very good and reasonably priced breakfasts at Ostra. The rooms were beautiful and well maintained. This is your place to stay while in San Antonio.

Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank HowFtLaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#20 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,557 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Emma
Hotel Emma
#1 of 354 in San Antonio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,481 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,957 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mokara Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mokara Hotel and Spa

Property: Mokara Hotel and Spa
Address: 212 W. Crockett, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mokara Hotel and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mokara Hotel & Spa, a relaxing retreat on San Antonio’s world-famous River Walk. Just steps from all the action yet worlds away, this inviting oasis has all the best creature comforts easily at hand, including luxurious accommodations, first-class amenities, fine dining and a full-service spa. Plus, our attentive staff is always available to make your stay in San Antonio a truly memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Mokara Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mokara Hotel San Antonio
Watermark Hotel San Antonio
Mokara Hotel And Spa San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing