We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful service...not so comfy beds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Ranked #2 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2013

This hotel provides wonderful 5 star service. Everyone was so accommodating and gave excellent personalized service. The daily juice in the lobby was always refreshing and tasty. The location does not get any better. It is situated right on the river and a convenient walk to everywhere you would want to go. The only downside it that the beds and pillows are too soft. Piling both pillows on top of each other, my head still sunk to the bed. I always woke up with back pain because the mattress was too soft. This could be an individual preference. Overall, wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roseguinea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,538)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,149 - 1,155 of 1,538 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2013

What a perfectly amazing stay! My husband and I stayed here for my birthday as a local getaway. The location just could not be any more perfect. Yes it is along the riverwalk, but in the center of gravity along the riverwalk. It is within a very short walk to some of the favorite restaurants (i.e. Bella on the River and The Esquire). The room was a great size and the bathroom was to die for. Although we unfortunately opted out of the spa, we ventured up to the rooftop pool and bar which was simply divine - a great urban retreat. The pool was smaller than I'd hoped, but the view and the cafe were just delightful. As a side note, they served this amazing chilled sweet vanilla milk (not sure exactly what it was) at the front desk. We will absolutely return!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelinvarwigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

A small gem in a city with a lot to select from. Everything you could want in a great River-walk location in the middle of San Antonio-top quality rooms and amenities with an outstanding staff delivering 5 star service.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We had a wonderful time at the Mokara. The whole staff made us feel welcomed and took very good care of us. The oyster bar area was wonderful and they people there were friendly and made sure we had everything we needed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Gary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Accommodations were great and hotel staff was very friendly. Location on river walk with direct access was covenient. Roof top pool and whirlpool have amazing city view to enjoy in the evening. Bathroom was huge with whirlpool and stand up shower. The ceiling fan in the room made the temperature very comfortable at the end of a hot summer day.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed here and loved the hotel just like everyone else.Easy to walk around from here.took the Alamo trolley for two days great way to see the whole town.
The restaurants the hotel recommended we're great. Loved walking back to our hotel via the river walk.Great city to visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

…and your favorite wine; your pick of spa attendants; etc. The staff is sterling! Peace and quiet. We didn’t see or hear any children (We think they are allowed, though). This is a small, 98-room boutique hotel with an addictive oyster bar, fabulous food, and employees who bend over backwards to accommodate your every whim. Gorgeous floral arrangements throughout.
The only negative was viewing the same curly hair and clothing tag on the floor of the toilet room (yes, it is a separate room) for three or four days until we left. Maybe a vacuum could be used?
The staff knew we were hoping for one of the two suites before we arrived. We were aware they were occupied and chances were slim. We tried sticking it out in the next level down (one room) but with an insomniac who leaves the TV on all night, we had to move or strangle each other.
Even after leaving, the concierge continued to help us and we frequented the spa and oyster bar for the next week. Fantastic place and employees!

Room Tip: Be aware that a view 'on the River Walk' means there is a street in front of the hotel, a si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newsanddeals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#5 of 358 in San Antonio
3,112 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 358 in San Antonio
3,918 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#6 of 358 in San Antonio
3,243 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#19 of 358 in San Antonio
3,137 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Emma
Hotel Emma
#1 of 358 in San Antonio
1,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mokara Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mokara Hotel and Spa

Address: 212 W. Crockett, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#1 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: £201 - £444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mokara Hotel and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mokara Hotel & Spa, a relaxing retreat on San Antonio’s world-famous River Walk. Just steps from all the action yet worlds away, this inviting oasis has all the best creature comforts easily at hand, including luxurious accommodations, first-class amenities, fine dining and a full-service spa. Plus, our attentive staff is always available to make your stay in San Antonio a truly memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mokara Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mokara Hotel San Antonio
Watermark Hotel San Antonio
Mokara Hotel And Spa San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing