We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice, but overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Ranked #2 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Fancy Gap, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very nice, but overpriced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

This boutique hotel on the Riverwalk, was everything you could want in a hotel. neat, clean, nice location, frendly staff, upscale dining and close to most downtown attractions. However, the rooms are very small and the balcony is tiny. Not the type balcony that you feel comfortable standing on, especially on an upper floor. Have stayed at other hotels that were just as nice for a lot less money.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kntdds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,110
    176
    46
    23
    15
See reviews for
186
715
42
251
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

My friend and I spent a weekend at the hotel and spa in November. We booked three treatments each and had a nice time. My facial and massage were good and my friend said her massage was one of the best she'd ever had. However, I had a truly dismal pedicure. However, that is not what made me rate the facility poorly. After my pedicure polish practically disappeared the day after I had it, I went to the salon seeking a fix. I was told I could repair the polish myself, which was fine, I hadn't made an appointment for a redo. However, no apologies were made and I was told it was essentially my fault-how it would be, I'm not sure, I didn't put on shoes and walk around with wet toes etc. Again, not a big deal, but disappointing. What was a bid deal and makes me not want to ever go back was the fact I wrote a note explaining this and didn't even get a response from the spa manager. After spending $1000, you would think such a letter would warrant a response. Hotel was nice and ideally situated.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jcgstir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDeBottis, Manager at Mokara Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear jcg2725,

Thank you for your review and my true apologies for the issue you encountered with your nail polish on your pedicure. We take these lapses very seriously and always take great pride in providing great service toward our guests. I have followed up with the Spa Director and would love the opportunity to speak with you directly regarding your experience. Again, thank you for your review and your positive comments regarding the hotel portion of your stay, I look forward to speaking with you soon.

All the best,

Josh DeBottis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

Believe everything you read about Mokara. I've stayed at many highly rated hotels in San Antonio, and Mokara is unquestionably at the top of my list. It starts with superior service - over the top attention to detail. We were walked to the elevator during check-in by a member of the desk staff, and later - accompanied by a doorman down to the riverwalk level of the hotel as he provided us with food and drink suggestions. It wasn't pushy or uncomfortable service - just enough to make you feel welcome. Our room was spectacular - really well appointed and luxurious (with the exception of the clearly dated telephones, which oddly stuck out in an otherwise sensational room). It's not cheap to stay at Mokara, but in this case - you most definitely get what you pay for.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rdooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

I got a suite for my wife's birthday celebration and 3 couples got rooms as well. we all agreed it was a delight, and we will be coming back annually. the rooms were clean and elegant, the staff could not be more cheerful and helpful. we had dinner at las canarias (at the Omni sister hotel across the river) and breakfast at the hotel restaurant. both were excellant. Almost forgot, the spa was spectacular and even the hotel exercise room was a cut above the usual.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Darbut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chandler, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

This has to be the best hotel on the river walk. it is a bit pricey, but if you want the best its worth it. The food was excellent and the service was prompt. Parking was pricey (35.00 a day) but all the hotels charge.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun Lakes Arizona, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Excellent hotel!! The staff are very friendly and helpful especially Petra,the concierge, who is very knowledgeable about restaurants and sights to see.A room on the riverwalk is a must,as the view is spectacular. To our surprise there was a bottle of champagne, as well as chocolate covered strawberries,raspberries, blueberries in our room as it was my wife's 70th birthday. We enjoyed a wonderful dinner at the Ostra(Mokara restaurant) on the patio of the riverwalk. Each night a bottle of water was provided on our bedside table along with the bed being turned down.What a nice touch. We would definitely stay at the Mokara on future trips to San Antonio.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Wow! We have stayed in hotels around the world and Mokara is a great boutique hotel in everyday. Elizabeth our housekeeper was very professional, kind and keep our room 673 very clean. Very clean. The front staff so so wonderful. Thank you micheal for the recommending
Madhatters Cafe for brunch. He was a wonderful source of information and front door man.
Our upgrade to view the river walk was GREAT. Thank you and we will be back.

Room Tip: 673 was a wonderful room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ollieruerue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#21 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,459 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Emma
Hotel Emma
#1 of 354 in San Antonio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,880 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mokara Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mokara Hotel and Spa

Property: Mokara Hotel and Spa
Address: 212 W. Crockett, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#1 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mokara Hotel and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mokara Hotel & Spa, a relaxing retreat on San Antonio’s world-famous River Walk. Just steps from all the action yet worlds away, this inviting oasis has all the best creature comforts easily at hand, including luxurious accommodations, first-class amenities, fine dining and a full-service spa. Plus, our attentive staff is always available to make your stay in San Antonio a truly memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mokara Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mokara Hotel San Antonio
Watermark Hotel San Antonio
Mokara Hotel And Spa San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing