We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't wait to go back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Ranked #2 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Corpus Christi, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The service at Mokara was top notch in every way. The staff was attentive to detail and the spa was world class. We were celebrating our anniversary and I don't think we could have picked a better place. In room dining was exceptional. Everything about this hotel was first class. We can't wait to go back! Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,109
    176
    46
    23
    15
See reviews for
186
715
42
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Mokara is a lovely hotel in a great spot on the river walk. All of the staff are friendly and helpful, and check in was quick and easy (great as we arrived at midnight).

The rooms are huge with separate bath and shower rooms and lots of toiletries.

So overall very comfortable except ... Our room (676) had some issue with the heating or water system (possibly triggered by the room above) - at 2am on the first night we were awoken but VERY loud clunking (like sheet metal being bashed) which lasted 30 minutes. A very helpful maintenance man came by and offered is a free brekkie and I'm sure we could have changed room. The noise continued intermittently over the next few days.

The only other problem we had was the overly attentive cleaning and turn down sevice. There seemed to be constantly someone in our room and they ignore the do not disturb sign! I guess it's better than no service...

So basically avoid 676.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AJB1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fair Lawn, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The Mokara is a beautiful hotel with wonderful staff in a great location. Not a single complaint. We have stayed in many hotels all over the world and this was one of the nicest. The staff could not do enough for us. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville
Level Contributor
96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

Located on the Riverwalk, Mokara was in a great spot to travel all along it, as well as conveniently close to the Alamo. The room was very comfortable and roomy. We did face a parking garage, so no view, and the street was a little noisy on the 3rd fl. However, the service was amazing and the offer of help was given so freely. Every time we left the hotel we received directions on which way to go. It was cold when we were there, so the offer of coffee (or hot chocolate) when we came down was warming. Housekeeping was prompt and fast, so when we got tired and needed a rest we always returned to a clean room. If I ever return to SA again, this is where I will stay.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelGirlNashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope Island, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

I can't rate this hotel higher enough. The doorman and reception greeted us like no other hotel I've stayed in. They went out of there way to make our stay pleasant.
The rooms were magnificent. Larger than most including bathrooms.
The restaurant is located on the river walk and also exceptional. The duty manager was excellent (Ninette)
Hotel is located right on the river walk at perfect location.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank RockyD1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I wrote about this hotel when it was relatively new and called The Watermark. I have since stayed here maybe 4-5 times. The rooms are wonderful, very spacious, relaxing, and bright. One of the best hotel beds around. The bed is the best part of the room, honestly. Huge bathroom (I am puzzled by the bath butler service though...cannot imagine...) Room service is from Ostra and the food is terrific. The staff are nice, courteous, but a bit obsequious. The hotel gym is OK, a bit cramped, and not easy if you are looking to do weights/strength although fine for cardio. I had a tough time trying to schedule a (any) spa service, they had basically no availability even with 1-2 days advance notice, which was a bit of a disappointment (I wonder if they should save slots for hotel guests). The toiletries could be improved, they do not seem on par with the rest of the room's amenities. An expensive hotel, but very comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank palladium35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicken, Alaska, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I’m not sure why we decided to spend Christmas week at the River Walk in San Antonio this year. Thought it would be something different. We chose the Mokara after reading the reviews here. We were not disappointed. Mokara is a very nice hotel with an incredibly courteous and helpful staff. The room was clean and well appointed, wifi worked well, bathroom spacious with Jacuzzi tub and good strong shower.
We were pleasantly surprised at how good the room service breakfast is. Not cheap, but really good. We ended up having breakfast in the room every morning.
The River Walk was very busy for obvious reasons but noise in the room was nonexistent (4th floor, facing the riverwalk).
The Mokara is a dog friendly hotel and our dog, Bart, enjoyed his trip as well. Early morning walks above/outside the River Walk can be “interesting”.

Room Tip: Get a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#21 of 354 in San Antonio
3,458 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 354 in San Antonio
3,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Emma
Hotel Emma
#1 of 354 in San Antonio
1,360 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 354 in San Antonio
2,877 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mokara Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mokara Hotel and Spa

Property: Mokara Hotel and Spa
Address: 212 W. Crockett, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mokara Hotel and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mokara Hotel & Spa, a relaxing retreat on San Antonio’s world-famous River Walk. Just steps from all the action yet worlds away, this inviting oasis has all the best creature comforts easily at hand, including luxurious accommodations, first-class amenities, fine dining and a full-service spa. Plus, our attentive staff is always available to make your stay in San Antonio a truly memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mokara Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mokara Hotel San Antonio
Watermark Hotel San Antonio
Mokara Hotel And Spa San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing