We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Ranked #2 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Amazing Property”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We booked two rooms for a couple of nights this last January, and we found it to be the best hotel on the riverwalk. (We have stayed at many places on the riverwalk.) The rooms were fabulous with wonderful beds, linens, great turn down service and attention to detail. We greatly enjoyed using the spa which was terrific and reasonably priced. We especially enjoyed the steam rooms and sauna. We ate at the restaurant which was fine...I would definitely say it was the weakest part of the hotel. Another downside was the lack of a hotel bar. You have to go to the restaurant which is mobbed in the evening by all the conventioneers and can be difficult to get service for just a drink to take up to your room, but other than this we absolutely enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BellsTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,225
    188
    48
    24
    18
See reviews for
205
792
46
274
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This hotel & Spa provide on of the best travel experiences we have had. Great spa treatments and availability along with a quaint decor. We have stayed at some very expensive resorts and none of them top the Mokara. Along with the local flavor and romance of the river there is nothing better.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
3 Thank Brad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Probably the nicest hotel in SA. All was fine except the 15 minute wait for the car each time it was retrieved from the valet parking. $35 a night fee. Location is on the river and the fitness facility was very nice. The staff were very friendly. The room rate of about $525 with taxes was too high.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank chevydallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The Mokara Hotel and Spa provided a very memorable experience for my wife and I. The staff was incredibly friendly and focused on providing outstanding service. The spa services were excellent and rejuvenating.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

What a great property. Stayed for Memorial weekend. 7th floor room with city views. We were greeted by John at the valet when we arrived. He was our bellman and offered lots of information about the city and locations of nearby landmarks. We had a wonderful stay with fantastic breakfasts. Richard has the Ostra dining room under control. All of the waiters were fantastic. They understand "teamwork" and are sure to check on your every dining need. Totally diversified breakfast buffet. Something for everyone. Delicious lunch with the BEST EVER Tuna tacos appetizer. Check out the rooftop pool with panoramic views of the city. How often can you brag about your housekeeping? We send a special thanks to Sylvia. She was so nice and efficient, as were the other women working with her. The Hotel also has a beautiful spa. It's close to Commerce St. where larger hotels have conventions/events. Easy walk to riverfront entrances a block in either direction. Lots of Dining opportunities and shops on the water. interesting visit to the Alamo. Overall SanAntonio is a fun safe city. The perfect sendoff- as luck would have it, John was there to say goodbye when our taxi arrived at 6:00 a.m. and wish us a safe trip home. Thanks to all the staff for their genuine kindness.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gabbystarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendswood, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Upon every visit the entire staff goes out of their way to be professional, courteous, and personable. It's the people behind the Mokara and their attention to detail and service that establish Mokara as our favorite San Antonio Destination!! The Riverwalk is just an added bonus!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Judith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My husband and I recently traveled to San Antonio for my birthday. My daughter had planned most of the trip and she did an amazing job of picking our hotel! We always rely on Trip Advisor and it didn't let us down! This hotel is not only beautiful but the staff makes it an amazing place to stay. We could not have asked for anything more. My daughter had been in touch with the concierge Petra several times before our arrival and we were greeted with a fabulous welcome tray of snacks upon our check in. Both Petra and Patricia were wonderful to deal with and made us numerous reservations for dinner and tours, taxis, and anything else we requested! They even made a special effort to let all the restaurants know I was celebrating a birthday and they provided us with celebration pie, rose petals, drinks, etc. Any request we had they filled and the word "no" just wasn't in their vocabulary. Petra also made us an appt at the spa in the hotel and we had a really great couples massage followed by down time in the whirlpool, steam room, and sauna. Wow! What a birthday it was!! And everyone in the hotel called us by name the entire 4 days we were there. After the first time of ordering coffee to our room the dining staff knew how we liked it served and automatically sent me extra cream and sweetner! Who does this for their guests? Well, no where else I have ever stayed has remembered little details like this and that is just one of the reasons this lovely hotel remains # 1. We had such a wonderful time and will always remember it as our Favorite Hotel!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbags39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 358 in San Antonio
3,804 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Contessa
#7 of 358 in San Antonio
3,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 358 in San Antonio
3,079 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 358 in San Antonio
3,056 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Emma
Hotel Emma
#1 of 358 in San Antonio
1,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mokara Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mokara Hotel and Spa

Property: Mokara Hotel and Spa
Address: 212 W. Crockett, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#1 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mokara Hotel and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mokara Hotel & Spa, a relaxing retreat on San Antonio’s world-famous River Walk. Just steps from all the action yet worlds away, this inviting oasis has all the best creature comforts easily at hand, including luxurious accommodations, first-class amenities, fine dining and a full-service spa. Plus, our attentive staff is always available to make your stay in San Antonio a truly memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mokara Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mokara Hotel San Antonio
Watermark Hotel San Antonio
Mokara Hotel And Spa San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing