We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the Walk” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Antonio Market Square

San Antonio Market Square
Book In Advance
More Info
US$74.68*
and up
San Antonio Grand Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #35 of 262 things to do in San Antonio
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Sumner, Washington
Level Contributor
371 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Worth the Walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We walked from The Menger hotel under a Mile walk had a nice early lunch. Did some shopping had lunch. Enjoyed the walk back through the river walk

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JALFAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    453
    455
    308
    82
    30
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Park, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Very clean, great people working in every shop. They were very helpful and polite. Great products, crafts, etc. at good prices.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zaltbommel, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
277 reviews
178 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Fun vibrant place to stroll, enjoy and eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

The marketplace is a half an hour walk from the riverwalk in the city center. Its a fun, vibrant place to do some shopping, strolling and enjoy the street artists. I also recommend to eat at the Mexican Restaurant there Mi Tierra, its something different.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dutchkathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Touristy, but worth visiting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Designed to have the feel of a little piece of Mexico, the market is a unique part of San Antonio. Many souvenir shops line the market, so if you are wanting to go to one place to do your touristy shopping, this would probably be the place.

However, you cannot escape the touristy feel even though I know locals will come here. There are a number of places to dine, most notably, Mi Tierra Cafe.

Easily walkable from the Riverwalk area of downtown if you don't have a car, but a car is recommended if you go late in the evening.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
126 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

I don't know if the atmosphere is different at the weekends, but when we went mid-week, it was fairly quiet. We were disappointed with the shops, having hoped to buy some arts and crafts gifts. The items for sale in the shops looked quite tacky and none of us were tempted to buy anything. There were quite a few signs up requesting visitors not to take any photos of themselves trying on goods etc, which were understandable, but a little off putting. I wish we had read the TA reviews first and realised it was more of a flea market than street market, then we would have been better prepared for what we found.

Would not recommend I'm afraid.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank jytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed San Antonio Market Square also viewed

 

Been to San Antonio Market Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing