We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Guenther House

The Guenther House
Ranked #15 of 4,589 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$12
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Arsenal
Boscawen, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
82 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Pretty place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Great ambiance A historical house with beautiful decorations the residents found around the world. Food was very good but nothing you couldn't find most places. Baked goods were the best. Got a pecan sticky bun that was delicious and huge for $3.50.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank BeachRock77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    606
    279
    108
    24
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Like being back in time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

This place is an old house made into a restaurant next to a flour mill. The food was amazing and the service was good.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
78 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good food, long wait, noisy inside, no 2nd visit for me...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

We called ahead to hear the wait time, & a man told us 25 minutes. We got there & waited about an hour. We asked during our wait, how much longer? I think they forgot about us, because we were seated next (& were pretty much the only ones left). It was very, very noisy. Our waitress could have been more friendly. The food was delicious though. I was surprised that the menu selection was small. The applewood smoked bacon was crispy, thick-cut, & delicious. The waffles were sweet & delicious. If you don't mind waiting...the food is worth it. The store inside had pretty good deals & shipped my whole order for only $5.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KimSpringer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Amazing breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We walked to this restaurant twice during our 5 day stay. The website tells you all about it. The biscuits and gravy are heavenly, the pancakes are the best I've ever had. We absolutely loved it here.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawnwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful location, Yummy food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

We loved visiting the Guenther House! We had to wait about 45 minutes on a Thursday mid-morning, but the time was easily passed exploring the lovely house and museum, looking in the fun and quirky store, and lounging on the outdoor couches with complimentary water and coffee. We sat down inside - it was cool because it was an original part of the house, but the other indoor space had more natural light. The service was good, she brought us a second serving of bread because we DEVOURED the first serving (seriously - the bread was amazing). My husband had a breakfast special plate and I had a veggie sandwich, both meals were very very good and our total bill was just over $20. We regretted not taking an amazing looking pastry to go. Highly recommended!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank runjennrun83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Guenther House also viewed

 

Been to The Guenther House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing