We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not my favorite deli”

Schilo's Delicatessen
Ranked #31 of 4,629 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: Delicatessen, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Toledo Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not my favorite deli”
Reviewed 17 July 2012 via mobile

We were a bit tired of Tex mex so decided to try a deli for a Reuben sandwich. It was average at best. Disappointing after reading good reviews. The prices are very reasonable and the service was excellent however.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kacohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    665
    496
    196
    50
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
121 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Old school, still tasty!”
Reviewed 17 July 2012

It had been 20 years (no exaggeration) since I last at here. They still make great sausage dishes and the homemade rootbeer was a hit with my family. Easy access from the River Walk, just take the stairs to street level and it's around the corner.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank P B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Breakfast & Dinner”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

On a weeklong trip to San Antonio, had two meals here. Breakfast was the better of the two food wise, dinner was the better in terms of service. Food was pretty good and the prices are from a time long since passed!

Despite getting there around 10:00am on a weekday - the place was jammed. They had people waiting along the deli counter for tables - practically on top of the people eating. Once seated - the service was pretty bad. Slow! The food was pretty god though - no complaints from any of the picky eaters in our group either.

A few days later we needed a quick bite to eat for dinner and wanted to steer clear of the crowded Riverwalk that late afternoon. Time was a factor and Schilo's was right up the road from our hotel. They have a "dinner specials" menu on their website, but didn't have the same at the restaurant for some reason. We all ordered sandwiches, etc. anyway. This time the place was practically empty and the service was attentive. Food was average at best. Root beer and cheesecake were our faves!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HarryDVC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hackberry, la
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cool Eats!”
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Lots of history & a great breakfast. Walking distance to Alamo. Loved this place!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank kathy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not a favorite”
Reviewed 12 July 2012

My husband and I found this deli when the restaurant we wanted to visit wasn't open yet. It had a great tripadvisor rating, so we gave it a shot. Unfortunately, this was the most disappointing meal of the trip. I guess if you are looking for an inexpensive meal at a mediocre restaurant, this would fit the bill. But we were not impressed. My husband ordered a deli sandwich - good but not great. I ordered one of their speciality dishes - potato pancakes. They had a bitter aftertaste and I didn't finish my meal. Service was average. The only redeeming value was the atmosphere- loved the deli counter and the tin ceilings - an old time German feel but not enough to draw us back to visit, especially when there are so many other wonderful restaurants to sample.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CCCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Schilo's Delicatessen also viewed

 

Been to Schilo's Delicatessen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing