We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistent Quality”
Review of Cappy's Restaurant

Cappy's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Cappy's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 4,633 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Alamo Heights
Cross street: Mary D
Transit: VIA bus stop one block away at Broadway/Patterson. Broadway runs north-south from downtown to Loop 4l0.
Description: This casual, upscale restaurant offers innovative American cuisine including the freshest seafood from the Gulf of Mexico, Atlantic and Pacific, great steaks from Allen Brothers in Chicago, and regional and seasonal specialties. Daily lunch and dinner specials feature local ingredients whenever possible. The Kobe beef burger can be paired with hand cut French fries, crispy thin onion rings, homemade lemon-pepper potato chip or potato salad. There is an outdoor patio under a canopy of oak trees that's shady and extremely popular with locals and visitors to San Antonio. The brunch offered on Sundays features a menu of classic egg dishes, fire-roasted prime rib, Texas pot roast, jumbo lump crab cake, and top entree salads, chicken and seafood dishes. Cappy's has an ever-changing, dynamic and well-priced wine list, with great choices by the glass or bottle. Full bar.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Consistent Quality”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

My wife and I recently had lunch at Cappy's, a restaurant we have enjoyed many times in the past. Service is always excellent and food quality remains consistently outstanding. Menu selections are varied and the atmosphere is always pleasant. Cappy's is one of San Antonio's top dining experiences.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    296
    113
    28
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairview, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Food”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We went for Brunch and we loved it. Food and service were great. We will be going back for dinner soon!!! Would recommend making reservations as this place is small. Also it is hard to see from the road so ask for directions when you call for your reservations.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shelley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This was our first visit to Cappy's. The food was outstanding. Our server (Michael) was excellent at providing recommendations for appetizers and main entrees. The food was incredibly fresh and flavors blended well. An exceptional experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fillyhsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
346 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“Very good upscale place to dine”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I was taken to dinner at Cappy's by hosts during a business trip to San Antonio. The restaurant has a terrace and two floors for dining, and is elegantly appointed. Service was excellent. I started with an endive salad with apple, pecans, and Gorgonzola which was nicely prepared and very tasty. For my main course I had special of paella which was not the best I've had but certainly decent. The wines, chosen by my host, were very good and there's an extensive list. Glad I wasn't paying. Good place for business meals, friendly and efficient service, nice upscale but relaxed ambiance.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DoctorCompRhet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winchester, Kentucky
Level Contributor
176 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Wonderful ambiance and an outstanding dinner”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Located about 15 minutes from downtown San Antonio, Cappys is well worth the cab fare. I in San Antonio on business and (based on trip advisor reviews) a group of us decided on Cappys. It was unanimous that this was one of the best meals any of us had ever had. Equal to the food was a wonderful wine list. I had tenderloin, two other guests had the ribeye and our fourth had the salmon. All just perfectly prepared and delicious.

If dining in San Antonio, I recommend Cappys.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fantifan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cappy's Restaurant also viewed

San Antonio, TX
San Antonio, TX
 

Been to Cappy's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing