We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made our 4yr-olds day dressing up and riding on a real fire engine!”

San Antonio Fire Museum
Ranked #41 of 266 things to do in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Useful Information: Baby buggy parking, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Made our 4yr-olds day dressing up and riding on a real fire engine!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Very nice retired firefighters showed us around. We went in around 3:15 and they close at 4. He could have spent another hour just sitting in the fire trucks and putting together the fire engine puzzles. He got to "drive", run the old siren, and dress up in gear. Great place Right behind the Alamo so if you have part of your crew that wants to spend more time reading or taking the Alamo guided tour this would be great as an alternative for the kiddos.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Coacheli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    32
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Fire House museum”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The history of the fire fighting in Texas was greatly shown in the equipment. The museum was very interesting. The people were very friendly

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Connie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
196 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Realistic experience ”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Great people who all volunteer after a life of service! A really neat place to learn about San Antonio and it's history.
My granddaughter really loved ringing the bell and dressing up in the equipment.
Kudos to the women and men that keep this museum going.

Helpful?
2 Thank Sthomson77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"A Unique Display of Firefighting Memorabilia" 😊”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The museum had on display a variety of vintage firefighting equipment from different specialties within the fire service. We met Randy a retired Firefighter from San Antonio who gave my husband and I a great tour of the museum and was very informative. We recommend this museum as a great place to visit while in San Antonio.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“river walk”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

very pretty. the boat rides are pretty cool. my favorite time is at Christmas time. the boat ride at night is breath taking. there is also so much history there.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank cerakanini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed San Antonio Fire Museum also viewed

 

Been to San Antonio Fire Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing