We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better Mexican food than the Riverwalk” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tomatillo's Cafe y Cantina

Tomatillo's Cafe y Cantina
Ranked #182 of 4,589 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Uptown Broadway
houston, tx
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Better Mexican food than the Riverwalk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Yummy Mexican food ....delish margaritas. After eating at a few places on the Riverwalk, we tried a friend's favorite. Service was fast and food was good quality Tex Mex.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ricemilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    51
    17
    4
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
208 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Decent mexican food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Nothing to write home about but a lot of other people seem to like it! I think there are other places with better mexican food.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ammille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Big restaurant, OK food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

Went for lunch with some friends. A large restaurant and bar, with plenty of parking, so we were seated quickly. I honestly can’t remember what I ordered, some combo meal, enchiladas with rice and beans. It was OK. But like some other negative reviews I thought the food was only warm at best. One of those situations where we were limited on time, not wanting to send it back to be reheated. Our server was reasonably attentive and friendly. Overall, no one was complaining but no one was openly pleased with their meal. Lots of good Mexican restaurants in San Antonio. This was always considered among the best. Ownership changed in 2011, so maybe they aren’t quite up to previous standards of food and service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Grant H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
192 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Not awful, just not stellar”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

We dined here with friends on Friday night. Had originally planned to dine at another Tex-Mex restaurant nearby, which was unexpectedly closed for emergency repairs, so someone in our party suggested we go to Tomatillo's as a back-up. Let me start with the good: (1) Restaurant was large with several parking lots and despite what appeared to be a huge number of cars outside, we (party of 8) were shown to a table and seated immediately at 6:30 on a Friday night. The interior is very spacious with several rooms, albeit a bit noisy. (2) They offer a 20% military discount (3) portions were ample. (4) Charro beans had a nice kick. The not-so-good or could-be-better: (1) My chicken enchiladas were very salty. There was a lot of shredded, white meat chicken within the enchilidas, which was a nice surprise, but something was very salty. Tomatillo sauce was very bland and tasted almost out of a can or jar. Definitely not one of the better in town. Rice was very average. (2) Service was altogether good, but there were about 3 people it seemed looking after our table -- they guy who took the initial order disappeared and food was brought by a woman. We were checked on by another individual. Then the original man came with the check. A little confusing not having one central person (and no, it did not appear that one of them was a bus boy/girl). So, in conclusion, I was really hoping to be wowed, but wasn't. I *might* return, but would not go out of my way to do so.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MuffetB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“'Tex-Mex' is the Way -To-Go!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Yummy, Yummy, Yummy! It's been years, since we've eaten here, surprisingly, the food still has that great 'Kick' (taste). We joined our friends/family who were visiting from Oklahoma, for 'after-church-dinner' and we were very pleased with the food. Several in our party, had lots of good compliments, regarding, the taste of the food. I had the combination plate, Beef (Ground Beef) Enchiladas & Beef (GB) Taco, Rice and Beans. The Barracho Beans tasted like they were cooked with Beer, so I really did not like the taste, however, the Refried Beans were jamming; small portions for the sides, so you have to fill up on the wonderful 'Chips & Salsa". Polite & friendly Staff; clean bathroom(s); warm and friendly atmosphere; not too stuffy/warm; not too crowded. A bit pricey, though! Yes, I'm ready to go back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dimplesangelface7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tomatillo's Cafe y Cantina also viewed

 

Been to Tomatillo's Cafe y Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing