We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was good but took forever to make waiter would leave forever.”
Review of Rio Rio

Rio Rio
Reserve with OpenTable
Rio Rio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #656 of 4,645 Restaurants in San Antonio
Price range: US$7 - US$16
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Description: This is where the San Antonio River Walk turns up the heat on Mexican food. Whether it's breakfast, lunch, dinner or late-night tacos, Rio Rio Cantina will indulge your cravings with a fiesta of flavors. Our fresh Tex-Mex recipes with ingredients from farm-to-table and our homemade flour tortillas bring the taste of Mexico across the border to you. Happy Hour daily 3 - 6 p.M. And 9 p.M. - 11 P.M.
Royse City, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Food was good but took forever to make waiter would leave forever.”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Food was decent, but it took froever to get to us. It was a table of about 15 of us and some of us got our food others didn't. 30 minutes for some to get their food. The waiter would leave for the longest and by the time he came back with our drinks to order, he left yet again. The service horrible, view nice, food good. The margarita has way too much sugar and hardly any alcohol. All this bad service and it was not busy, it was only 4pm when we got there. That is not the dinner rush. Nope do not recommend will never go again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank babyruthi2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah C, Manager at Rio Rio, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
We view honest and constructive reviews as an opportunity to improve our services. The situation you’ve described is not on par with the excellent service and satisfaction we strive to provide. We are disheartened to hear that you do not plan on returning. We would like for you to return again to try some of our other menu items. To rectify this incident and to further discuss this review, please take the time to reach out to John at cantinariorio@gmail.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    161
    193
    172
    150
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio Vista, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“No flavor”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The waitress was wonderful it's not her fault the food has no flavor. Right on the river walk. The beans tasted like they were from a can, the chips tasted like crackers and I sent back the food and left the restaurant. The other issue, the ducks and pigeons and crows. The table next to us kept feeding the animals and they would fly onto our table and grab our chips and try to grab at your food. Disgusting!! They would leave excrement and fly away! The ducks would nip at your legs and squawk at you until you fed them. I will never return to this place.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah C, Manager at Rio Rio, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Alisa,
We are disheartened to hear that your dining experience with us was ruined by birds. We do not condone our guests to feed the birds and this is an issue we wish you would've brought to our attention. The city of San Antonio has an ordinance to forbid guests from feeding the animals. We are located on a natural river where there are fish, birds and ducks so their presence is out of our control. We would've moved you to one of our three upstairs dining patios if we knew you were uncomfortable. Also, our beans are not from a can and they are served fresh daily. We would like for you to return again in the future to try some of our other menu items. If you would like to further discuss this review please take the time to reach out to John at cantinariorio@gmail.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
395 reviews
301 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“It was ok but could be better!”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

I read the reviews and thought we would check it out our selfs. The drinks were good, serve was the best part of it. It was a holiday weekend but than they are on the river walk and should be ready. We only had apps...they were just ok. There are so many places to eat on the river walk and not many have 3-4 stars...makes you think they are just turning tables and maybe food taste and quality is not the main the focus. Might be time to rethink it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah C, Manager at Rio Rio, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Joe,
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your beverages and received great service. We would like for you to return again to try out some of our other menu items. Please ask our wait staff what their recommendations would be from our menu if you need any insight on our entrees. We appreciate your honesty and your observations. Please stop by again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugar Land, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellant Food and Top Notch Service!”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The food was amazing and they served you so much we had enough left for a midnight snack! We tried several different cocktails and It must be said the Fruit Swirl Margarita was very refreshing!! Our waiter was super attentive and had a great sense of humor!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank SJOlive711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah C, Manager at Rio Rio, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with positive feedback. We will make sure that our chef reads the compliments you’ve provided and that our staff also hears about the great service they provided. Please stop by again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumont, TX
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not very good”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Ordered enchiladas, middle was not warm. Tortilla Chips were stale and limited to two baskets per table. Service was ok. Will not return.

Helpful?
1 Thank txcyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rio Rio also viewed

 

Been to Rio Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing