We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Large portions but average fare” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Island Shrimp House

Sea Island Shrimp House
Ranked #1,438 of 4,549 Restaurants in San Antonio
Price range: US$0 - US$12
Cuisines: Seafood, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Sea Island Shrimp House specializes in wild-caught Texas Gulf shrimp. Guest favorites include Lemon Pepper Fish and Shrimp, Charbroiled Shrimp, Shrimp Salad, Stuffed Shrimp, Shrimp Linguine, and more. We also serve Grilled Salmon, Rainbow Trout, Gulf Oysters on the Half Shell, Catfish, and Flounder, when available. Not a seafood fan? Enjoy our juicy Steaks, Burgers, Beef Kabobs and Grilled Chicken. Soups, salads and a variety of appetizers, including Shrimp Cocktail, Mexican Shrimp Cocktail, Calamari, Ceviche and more keep our guests coming back time after time!
Kingsville, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Large portions but average fare”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

The motif is old time roadhouse dining. Wooden picnic tables and open seating. Unfortunately the food which is mostly fried holds little flavor for all this frying and is anything but fresh. A single plate will serve all but the hardiest of appetites.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank RV9412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meghan V, Manager at Sea Island Shrimp House, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
We are glad you enjoy the atmosphere and portion sizes! We hope that you will visit again and give our food a second chance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    6
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always consistent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

Always good - Value= B Lunch, tasty, filling, hushpuppies alre always good.
The Lemon Pepper is always done just right, accompanied by a grilled skewer of shrimp --- Yummy Good!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meghan V, Manager at Sea Island Shrimp House, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Rey- thank you for this wonderful feedback! We do strive to provide consistent service while always looking for ways to improve. We appreciate your time and recommendation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best Seafood in Texas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

This is the the best seafood in Texas, especially for the price. The apppetizers were all fantastic, my favorite is the Mexican style Shrimp Cocktail, and of course the raw oysters rival the best places in Louisana for freshness and taste. The Lemon flavored plate with the grilled Shrimp are unbeatable anywhere. The only problems are the long lines to order, but well worth the wait., which moves fast. My suggestion is go early, or late for Lunch or Dinner.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sanquilmasdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great value--totally worth the trip!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2010

Wife and I are in San Antonio staying downtown near Market Square. We were in the mood for seafood, but everything in or near downtown just seemed ridiculously overpriced to us. We googled "seafood in San Antonio" and came up with Sea Island Shrimp House. We were a bit hesitant about driving out of our way to get somewhere, but considering this branch was just about 5 min away, we figured we'd give it a shot. Let me tell you--well worth it! This place is nothing fancy...you order and pick up at a counter, you get your own condiments at a station, and you refill your own drinks. But man of man, the food is GREAT and all in all, what an awesome value!!! We got a dozen oysters on the half shell (for $9!!!) as an appetizer and they brought us a tray of about 15. They were fresh, clean, and silky smooth...we were thrilled! Wife had coconut shrimp and clam chowder for dinner while I had the fish tacos. Both dishes were quite tasty...

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jpbloom55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Better than several of the northside locations.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2009

Better than several of the northside locations.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Sea Island Shrimp House also viewed

 

Been to Sea Island Shrimp House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing