We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big pizza big taste!”
Review of Big Lou's Pizza

Big Lou's Pizza
Ranked #52 of 4,625 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Big pizza big taste!”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Be prepared to wait! But the wait is well worth it. We ordered the 42" pizza knowing we wouldn't make a dent in it. We ordered our food the was seated and then waited 2 hours for the food. There are signs so we expected the wait, even on a Monday evening. The pizza was amazing! Hint of garlic and sweetness, just right. It's a very busy place and I was surprised how well the staff did. Great job! Big Lous is a destination must!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    150
    47
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Food Okay Service”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I've been here a few times and I'm always blown away by portion size. Take your European friends here it will overwhelm them emotionally. The menu is great especially garlic bread, salads, but obviously the pizza. We usually get the 37 inch pizza, but went crazy and ordered the 42 incher and had 2 to-go boxes afterwards with 4 adults and 4 kids. It's amazing how good it is, size does not sacrifice quality.

You have to plan ahead with them and have full party be there. Arrive at late lunch or early dinner to beat crowds. Actually service can be a bit snarky so know the rules or you'll be passed by for other customers.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Y4LYFE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome food!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

What a great place to grab some grub! The pizza was really good but so was the wings!! Yummy! Customer service was top knotch.

Helpful?
Thank April B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nederland, Texas
Level Contributor
152 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Oh My Goodness!!!”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We had heard about Big Lou's for some time but never had the chance to eat here. Well, we made special arrangements on our latest trip to San Antonio to make a stop at Big Lou's... and OH MY.... are we glad we did! There were six of us... and as much as we wanted the Biggest pizza we ordered the 20" instead. Oh mouths dropped when they came out with the pizza we had ordered!! It was HUGE and the taste was FABULOUS!!! Everyone was so nice and helpful and we ended up having to stuff ourselves with pizza since we didn't have a way to take leftovers!! When we left, we kept commented how cheap the total bill was... we basically ate for a little over $5 each!!! My suggestion for a lot of fun... would be to get a huge group together and go and order the 64" pizza.. it's 5'4" tall!!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JamPack1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hurst, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Everything's bigger in Texas!”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This was a place that we had seen on the food network and decided that we had to try it out. We (family of 4) decided to go ahead and get the 32' pizza......waaayyy too much pizza. But it was fantastic! I had wondered if they could make such a huge pizza tasty and man did they deliver. The crust was nice and thin, New York style, the sauce fantastic! All around great pizza. The only down side was that it was packed! But the workers were all very polite and we got our food fairly quickly.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahNicci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Big Lou's Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Big Lou's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing