We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average, N 20 Mins Far From Downtown.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stay Express Inn Near Ft. Sam Houston
Ranked #316 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average, N 20 Mins Far From Downtown.”
Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

So I started off with my thursday here at this hotel. It looked really run down, and old bathrooms are a lil small, and we had our bedroom with two beds , so on out sheets were stained and some had burns,N the floor is old and sqeeky and dirty needs replacement , no bugs thank god. Lol, well over all I was here for about aweek in this hotel room service was nice she cleaned out room basicly took care of what we needed, and over all you get what you pay for it was worth it but the distsnce from downtown was far for us. We still made our weekend worth the wild life.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ansa25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    0
    1
    2
    7
See reviews for
3
2
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

When I first checked in I smelled a heavy stench of old smoke, the Carpets and all the furniture were stain ridden. I didn't dare to take off my shoes. As I retired for the NIght I kept waking up with sting like itches all over my body. I turned on the lights numerous times during the Night, but could not find anything. As I woke up the next morning, I rolled over and I saw a bed bug crawling on my Pillow. I immediately jumped up (already covered in at least 50 bites) and ran downstairs to inform the Hotel Manager. I explained to him what was going on, but since this Indian speaking man apparewntly really didn't understand what I was saying I got no reply from him not even a "sorry" he just gave me a key to another Room. I moved into the new Room just to find dead cockroaches on the carpet and the sheets were filthy. As the day passed I was very cautios and kept checking the bed. I couldn't find anything, but as soon as Night fell here we go!! And this time it must have been 12-15 bed bugs!!!! I could not stay in that room and slept in my Car that Night!!!!! Needles to say, avoid this nasty, filthy bed bug and cockroach ridden hotel at all cost!!!!! And oh yes, I don't know what they consider "Continental Breakfast" a honeybun and a coffee?????

Room Tip: do not ever stay at this nasty hotel!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lilmam32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

I've stayed in many hotels and motels over the years, and this is in the bottom two. I stayed here for four nights while visiting my husband who is stationed at Fort Sam.

Pros: the woman who checked me in was initially very friendly, and the bed was comfortable. Unfortunately, that's about it. The room was noisy (it's off of a main road), it's not in a very good part of town, the fridge REEKED of something and desperately needed to be cleaned, the sheets were not washed and had stains on them, the maids ignored the "Do Not Disturb" sign I put on the door handle, and the bathroom was horrible. It was small, dirty, and the water went through the fabric shower curtain...so much so that it leaked into the room below us, and the woman from the front desk came up and complained to us. WHAT?!?!? Are you kidding me? She tried to barge in to clean it up (there was water on the floor, but that's because the water goes through the shower curtain! She accused me of not knowing how to close a shower curtain...and suggested that I didn't have it inside of the tub.), but my husband was in the shower. It was incredibly awkward. Lastly, unless all you eat/drink for breakfast is coffee, there's nothing for you at the continental breakfast. At all. Seriously, splurge a little bit more and stayed near the Riverwalk area. It's worth EVERY penny. Do some price comparison, and you'll find that for around one hundred more you can stay at a much nicer hotel. Stay away from this place!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank makehistory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2008

Where should I start?! When I walked into my NON SMOKING room the first thing I noticed was the heavy stench of old tobacco. The first thing I saw; multiple cigarette burns on the floral comforter. Not only did the comforter have obvious cigarette burns, the sheets had NOT been changed! The pillow coverings still had old mascara marks, tears, and pink lipstick marks on the sheets and pillows. The bathroom looked like a scene from a horror flick. The fixtures did not work properly. The door frame in the bathroom was splintered and the tile chipped. Luckily the towels were clean. There was an amazing selection of TV channels, too bad most did not work. The carpet was so dirty the bottoms of my feet turned dark brown. The hotel advertises "Free Internet"..HA! There wasn't a real internet connection until I went to the hotel next door. The complimentary continental breakfast was stale and made me sick the first morning. Trying to get some type of hospitality from the managers is like pulling teeth. It took 4 hours to have my sheets changed and bathtub cleaned. Rodeway Inn is an over priced dump not worth the effort! I do NOT recommend this hotel, even if you're desperate.

  • Liked — Easy Check In
  • Disliked — Everything!
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank simplystephanie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Uptown Broadway
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport
#153 of 358 in San Antonio
95 reviews
BEST WESTERN Plus Downtown North
#111 of 358 in San Antonio
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
WoodSpring Suites San Antonio Fo...
#199 of 358 in San Antonio
51 reviews
Northeast San Antonio
Hilton Garden Inn San Antonio Airport South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay Express Inn Near Ft. Sam Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay Express Inn Near Ft. Sam Houston

Property: Stay Express Inn Near Ft. Sam Houston
Address: 1129 Austin Hwy, San Antonio, TX 78209-4843 (Formerly Rodeway Inn near Ft. Sam Houston)
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Uptown Broadway
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #316 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Stay Express Inn Near Ft. Sam Houston 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Stay Express Inn Near Ft. Sam Houston is a great place for the whole family to stay for fun, relaxation and exploration near Fort Sam Houston and Riverwalk in San Antonio, TX. This economy motel is located only 4 miles away from U.S. Army Post Fort Sam Houston. And it is also only 7 miles from the famous Riverwalk of San Antonio, TX. Enjoy Free W-Fi in the budget friendly rooms of our Stay Express Inn Near Ft. Sam Houston. Our rooms are equipped with microwaves, coffee makers, and mini-fridges for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Stay Express Inn Near Ft. Sam Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Antonio Rodeway Inn
Stay Express Inn Near Ft. Sam Houston San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing