We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Wok Chinese Restaurant

Golden Wok Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #299 of 4,589 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Northwest Side
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

This is our favorite place to eat our own stir fry!! Due to the size, this is a great opportunity for sharing!
The best dessert: Chocolate Cheesecake!!! The piece of it is for 3 people at least!

Helpful?
Thank Karendela
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    42
    12
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helotes, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Horrible Service & Mediocre Food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We have been coming to this restaurant for a few years and the quality of food and service have both decreased significantly. My favorite meal was the vegetable fried rice, which has now become greasy. The sesame chicken is usually what I order and although it is good, I have had better. If it weren't for the TERRIBLE service, I might actually continue to eat here.

We usually hate to eat at the restaurant because the staff is rude, and not worth tipping. The carpeted floors also tend to be sticky (you can feel your shoes sticking to floor as you walk) which is absolutely disgusting.

When we do eat here, we order to-go and pick up. We ordered about food about a week ago while my sister in law was having a baby nearby in the medical center. We had a large order and when we got back to the hospital, we realized an order of food was missing. We immediately called to see if they would deliver it to us and they refused. Instead, they offered a refund to the debit card used. We agreed and waited a few days and saw no refund. We finally called and after speaking to 3 different people and being put on hold for 13 minutes, spoke to a "manager" who was extremely rude and offered no result. He said sorry he did not see any order for that date and no one wrote anything down. My husband tried explaining that he did ask to speak to a manager and that was told he would receive a refund, and the man hung up. We called again and spoke to "Lina" who said she argued she couldn't do anything. I explained we have been ordering from them for years and the incompetence of her staff was not my fault. She offered to research and call us back the same night. Never received any refund or any call back from management... I will never return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MegAlvarado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Station, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Too good to be true”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

This is the most authentic Cantonese Dim Sum restaurant I have ever had in the United States, even better than many similar restaurants in Houston. Shrimp dumplings were chewy and juicy. My favorite food is the steamed chicken feet which is my must-ordered item on the menu every time. Can be very crowded on Fri and Sat evenings, so plan ahead. Has a nice small pond in the front. Recommend for people who are interested in authentic Cantonese Dim Sum in SA!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BestOrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
107 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nothing Great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

Sesame chicken is different from the regular stuff. Appetizers were really good. Had the cream cheese puffs and spring rolls. Had it been just appetizers, the review would be better.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellaire, Texas
Level Contributor
440 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“pleased”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

The food and service were good and the prices reasonable. They have a large parking lot. The restaurant's atmosphere is pleasant. There is a large selection on the menu and the four of us had a good time and enjoyed our food.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TomFromBellaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Golden Wok Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 
San Antonio, TX
San Antonio, TX
 

Been to Golden Wok Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing