We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too many birds, helpful service”
Review of Cafe Ole

Cafe Ole
Ranked #1,602 of 4,645 Restaurants in San Antonio
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Description: Located at the heart of the San Antonio Riverwalk, this is the place to come to satisfy your cravings for delicious Mexican cuisine. We are the home of the Ultimate Fajita and the 60 oz Margarita. We boast a perfect festive atmosphere! Come Enjoy our quaint indoor area or our adjoining patio overlooking one of San Antonio's jewels, our beautiful river.
Long Branch
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Too many birds, helpful service”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The food at Cafe Ole was good. Not the best, but good. The waiter we had was ridiculously slow with everything. The margerita's were okay. The chips and salsa was good, the chips were some of the best on the Riverwalk. We ate outside but there were so MANY birds. It was a bit unsettling. The waitstaff helped shoe away many of the birds which i appreciated. One waiter even gave me the squirt bottle with water to help keep them away.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    112
    166
    114
    109
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carthage, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Don't try this one”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

First visit to Riverwalk. Just chose this one. It was not good at all. Waiter was out of sight and did not care at all. It was not a busy time at all. No fans, it was humid with a rain shower going on. Food was nothing special and prices high for the quaility of food. Marachi band was good thing!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glenna58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutto, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Too hot and crowded.”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

The people doing the Taste of the Riverwalk had to stand outside in a long line in the sun and heat. We also had to eat outside - provided a table could be found. The fried mushrooms were good but the fajitas were so-so. Cafe Ole and Lone Star Restaurant were sharing the space so I'm not sure which food came from which restaurant. Even though we kept saying we did not want anything to drink, they kept asking over and over.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temple, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Better places to eat on river walk than here”
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

Our hostess attempted to seat us in the sun and we asked to move to be out of the sun and she acted very put out and moved us to another place in the sun so we ended up moving ourselves again to be in the shade. Our server was very pleasant, our food was timely but not the greatest taste or value. We witnessed employees killing bees with unused utensils and napkins, then left the utensils on the table for the next party to use. We will not be dining there again

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shauna m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angleton, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Avoid this place”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We only went here because some friends of ours wanted to meet here for lunch. Sat outside, which of course was sweltering in August (not their fault), but fans didnt even help us outside. Very crowded tables too close to each other. Food tasted horrible, one of our kids got chicken tenders and they were served with chips? That was strange alone....for two kids plates, two adults, and one margarita (Average size), it was $73.00, very overpriced!!! Also rude employees, tried to go in one of their doors to the restroom closest to our table and the waitress was coming out with a tray full of food, she said "mam you need to go to the other door", I was trying to hold the door for her and she proceeded to yell "mam you need to go to the other door." I finally said "Fine, but I was going to let you get by first." And she said nothing but kept walking...long walk to the other side to the restaurant....just an overall horrible place!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mxlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Ole also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Ole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing