We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Ole

Cafe Ole
Ranked #2,179 of 4,549 Restaurants in San Antonio
Cuisines: Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Description: Located at the heart of the San Antonio Riverwalk, this is the place to come to satisfy your cravings for delicious Mexican cuisine. We are the home of the Ultimate Fajita and the 60 oz Margarita. We boast a perfect festive atmosphere! Come Enjoy our quaint indoor area or our adjoining patio overlooking one of San Antonio's jewels, our beautiful river.
Nashville
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We had the fajitas for two which was quite alot of food. It was very good. I had a strawberry margarita which was also good. The best part of the meal was our table. We were seated by the river but it was up a few stairs so you didn't have people walking by with their face in your food or ruining your meal with cigarette smoke. The service was also excellent and very fast.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TNroadtripper88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    101
    147
    100
    100
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, LA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of many”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Food is average, service is average. There is better Mexican to be had in SA along the river. But if this is where you happen to stop (perhaps because the have an available table outside) then it will be just that, average.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank brtravelmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

The kitchen made the wrong dish, but it was great and I ate it anyway. When I let the server know (just so we weren't overcharged) he not only corrected the order but took off my drink to help compensate.

Atmosphere is nice and staff is friendly!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mrsbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not on my top 10 list”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

I found the hostess to be rude, not seem to be caring about her job, and the same can be said about the waitress we had. Food was not the greatest, however it was edible. Lots of birds, annoying birds. I would definately not return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sunshinecity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Branch
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Too many birds, helpful service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

The food at Cafe Ole was good. Not the best, but good. The waiter we had was ridiculously slow with everything. The margerita's were okay. The chips and salsa was good, the chips were some of the best on the Riverwalk. We ate outside but there were so MANY birds. It was a bit unsettling. The waitstaff helped shoe away many of the birds which i appreciated. One waiter even gave me the squirt bottle with water to help keep them away.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Ole also viewed

 
San Antonio, TX
San Antonio, TX
 

Been to Cafe Ole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing