We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok not great”

The Original Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #611 of 4,648 Restaurants in San Antonio
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Ok not great”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Decent food in an older building, but still on riverwalk in good location. Staff was friendly but jacked up order by completely forgetting one person's order. Roving band adds to atmosphere but $10.00 per song. Will try another Mexican restaurant next time.

Helpful?
Thank poopfartman
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    165
    140
    93
    99
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Twentynine Palms, California
1 review
“Disgusting!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I don't normal write a review but this was some of the worse food I have ever had!!! You get better tacos at Taco Bell! The food was straight from the box. Salsa poured out of a jar and taco shells from a box. Stay away! With so many other choices on the River Walk any other one would be better.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deannne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angleton, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not Bad For Riverwalk Tex-Mex”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

On a busy Saturday we were seated quickly. Prices were very reasonable for the Riverwalk. The food was average. All of the entres ordered were very large. We could have all shared meals. Would like to return and one day try the El Cholo Loco Burrito Challenge!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank char06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Winner of our service ribbon this time!”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

GREAT!!!! Restaurant........On a Saturday night at 7:30PM.....walked up.....was immediately seated, within 1 minute was greeted by our server (VERY NICE) young lady Maria M. she seemed fairly new but was very attentive. She made us feel like she cared about all customers at her station......So keep it up girl and your tips will flow!!!!
Food within 10 minutes.. Total in/out..about and hour....... I have to say..........Working in the service industry all my life (30 yrs) I would have to rank this restaurant up there in my top 10....
Food was good.........need to have your chef check your seasoning on your meats that come out of the kitchen.....my tacos were bland .....but the salsa and veggies (lettuce and Tomatoes) were some of the freshest I have seen in about a month......Therefore "I'm a fan"!!!! I and the family will be back and will recommend this restaurant to everyone!!!!!.......oh yeah.............BTW check your pineapple juice behind the bar my Shark Bite drink was nasty!!!!........LOL.....should have stuck with the frozen Margarita which was SPOT ON!!!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TTLCinLV4now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Walk On”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Not a fan of this place. The food was edible but reminded me of Taco Bell. There are much better places to eat Mexican food on the Riverwalk. The service as great and very accommodating but that about it. The restrooms were GROSS! One toilet didn't even have a seat on it (it was on the floor!)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AggieGalinNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Original Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 
San Antonio, TX
 

Been to The Original Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing