We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Margaritas and Food. ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Original Mexican Restaurant

Original Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #579 of 4,591 Restaurants in San Antonio
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Margaritas and Food. ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Went and got seated quickly, and got awesome service! Hector is the best! Fajitas are great, get the 32oz margaritas. :)

Helpful?
Thank RLJ_1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    146
    127
    89
    91
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
395 reviews
324 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Fun time, average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We had a great time at this spot on the riverwalk. The servers were on top of our table and very entertaining. The food was just okay, everything came out as expected but was just typical Mexican/American style. We were hoping it would be slightly more authentic.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Va9nessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I ate here last night for our anniversary dinner. We walked along the river walk trying to figure out what we wanted and finally just decided to try this place out.
We had the bad luck of the Spurs deciding to have their parade celebration that night so everything was beyond packed, but we were able to get right in to a table. So with that being said we had to wait quite a bit for a server to come.
Adam was our server and was very polite and nice. As we watched him he was running like crazy because he had a couple tables inside and a few all the way out on the river walk. Actually felt a little bad for how hard he was working. Anytime we needed something he was always quick to get it.
Now the only negative, a couple of tables that ordered well after us got their food before ours. When our server saw this he immediately went to the kitchen to see why and the food came out shortly after. The manager gave us a discount due to the wait which was very nice.
Being a Texan you know what is good Mexican food and what isn't and let me tell you, this was good Mexican food. We just had enchiladas but those and the rice and beans were very good. My wife has a cheese allergy so with all that was going on we expected the order to be wrong, but it all came out perfect.
I truly believe the kitchen not getting our food out was totally due to the crazy night that it was and wouldn't expect that to be the norm. We would most definitely eat here again if we were in town.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Darksideemt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANTIOCH
Level Contributor
258 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“24/7”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

After a Chicago concert on a Tuesday night, not much open on the river walk as we walked to our hotel. Bars and club type places were the only thing we could find and we did not want that type of environment , until......,Bam,all my wife and I wanted was a quick little meal/ snack.This place served the purpose and had good service and great prices as well. The food was good and served quick and its open 24 hours a day, so if your hungry late night down town, check it out.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JEFFREY G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“was ok you're on the riverwalk”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

great setting right on the river. the food was good but we've had better mexican food. service was ok but not as good as you'd expect. there are numerous other choices. good eating. jk

Helpful?
Thank 9384jlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Original Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Original Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing