We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and atmosphere”
Review of Antlers Lodge

Antlers Lodge
Reserve with OpenTable
Antlers Lodge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #230 of 4,671 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$50 - US$75
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: Far West Side
Cross street: Rogers Road
Description: Crowned by its namesake, an impressive chandelier created from 500 sets of naturally shed antlers, Antlers Lodge offers a menu filled with innovative twists on traditional Texas fare. From farm to table, locally harvested ingredients and regional specialties complement each dish. Whether you prefer prime cuts, fish, or Texas wild game, you’ll discover a fresh and savory culinary selection.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent food and atmosphere”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

If staying at the Hyatt Hill Country, try this restaurant. Great service and inventive food choices. We were there during Octoberfest menu and enjoyed their 4 course dinner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hugsforall3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    37
    15
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jupiter, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

If you are staying at the Hyatt Hill Country this is the place to have dinner. I found the food and service to be very good. Definitely order one of the steaks either beef or game.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karkaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Rushed, dark, and small”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

First...the restaurant is beautiful with multiple antler lamps and chandeliers, including a very large one in the center of the room. That was the best part - walking in, but restaurant was dark.

Service was rushed even though our party was seated early in the evening. Two other tables seated in the restaurant.

Went like this - here is your wine list and menu; want to order now? Can we have a few minutes? Ok, but how about your wine now? No, come back in a few minutes. One minute later - ready to order your wine? We did. Now you want to order your meals? How about after we get our wine. Wine delivered quickly - want to order meals now? Do you mind - we will call you over when we are ready, which was only 5-6 minutes later.

Menu and wine list - very small thin fonts on brown paper. Difficult for all of us to read by the single candle on the table. Had to ask for a flashlight, which was provided.

Blackened red fish - barely blackened; small piece of fish on large plate that appeared sprinkled with spices; not blackened.

Sides of vegetables - nothing exciting with regards to taste or presentation. Thin asparagus; thin wet string beans, small potato casserole.

Bison was tough and too gamey.

We skipped desert as did not want to go through the hassle of getting the flashlight again to re-read the menu.

$75pp prior to tip - too expensive for quality/quantity/dark atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lou B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cypress, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

My family really enjoyed our experience at Antlers Lodge. The food was cooked to perfection, and the service was really quite good. I'd probably give it a higher rating if the guests dining next to us weren't passed out on their table from having imbibed too much at the pool throughout the day. Of course, this is no fault of the restaurant's, but it did leave a sour note on our evening and overall experience, especially considering how much we paid to dine there.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank luv2travel4evermore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockwall, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely experience”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We ate here twice. Once was a banquet-like setting (approx.40 people). The other was with a group of around 20. The food was great both times and the waitstaff was both accommodating (our group number changed from 13 to 16 to 20 while we were there) and friendly.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank D'Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Antlers Lodge also viewed

 

Been to Antlers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing