We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pricey, good service, bad dessert” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Antlers Lodge

Antlers Lodge
Reserve with OpenTable
Antlers Lodge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #247 of 4,589 Restaurants in San Antonio
Price range: US$50 - US$75
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: Far West Side
Cross street: Rogers Road
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Pricey, good service, bad dessert”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and I ate here right after the Xmas holidays. I ordered the 10 oz. filet cooked medium rare. It arrived overdone and dry and looked much smaller than 10 oz. the waitress agreed and brought another one after my husband had finished his meal. However, this cut of meat was very generous and cooked to perfection. We were very disappointed in the $7 or $9 dessert; supposedly made by their bakery. It was a pistachio tart, not flavorful at all and the pastry seemed dry. Our meal was pricey, almost $100 each with 2 glasses of wine.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jdgtex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    35
    14
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
78 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

If staying at the Hyatt Hill Country, try this restaurant. Great service and inventive food choices. We were there during Octoberfest menu and enjoyed their 4 course dinner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hugsforall3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

If you are staying at the Hyatt Hill Country this is the place to have dinner. I found the food and service to be very good. Definitely order one of the steaks either beef or game.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karkaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Rushed, dark, and small”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

First...the restaurant is beautiful with multiple antler lamps and chandeliers, including a very large one in the center of the room. That was the best part - walking in, but restaurant was dark.

Service was rushed even though our party was seated early in the evening. Two other tables seated in the restaurant.

Went like this - here is your wine list and menu; want to order now? Can we have a few minutes? Ok, but how about your wine now? No, come back in a few minutes. One minute later - ready to order your wine? We did. Now you want to order your meals? How about after we get our wine. Wine delivered quickly - want to order meals now? Do you mind - we will call you over when we are ready, which was only 5-6 minutes later.

Menu and wine list - very small thin fonts on brown paper. Difficult for all of us to read by the single candle on the table. Had to ask for a flashlight, which was provided.

Blackened red fish - barely blackened; small piece of fish on large plate that appeared sprinkled with spices; not blackened.

Sides of vegetables - nothing exciting with regards to taste or presentation. Thin asparagus; thin wet string beans, small potato casserole.

Bison was tough and too gamey.

We skipped desert as did not want to go through the hassle of getting the flashlight again to re-read the menu.

$75pp prior to tip - too expensive for quality/quantity/dark atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lou B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

My family really enjoyed our experience at Antlers Lodge. The food was cooked to perfection, and the service was really quite good. I'd probably give it a higher rating if the guests dining next to us weren't passed out on their table from having imbibed too much at the pool throughout the day. Of course, this is no fault of the restaurant's, but it did leave a sour note on our evening and overall experience, especially considering how much we paid to dine there.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank luv2travel4evermore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Antlers Lodge also viewed

 

Been to Antlers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing