We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch
Ranked #8 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Family Vacation”
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Excellent resort!!! We stayed for a week with family and it was perfect! The kids loved the pool and I loved to jog on the grounds! We are from Michigan and we even had professional family pictures on the grounds which turned out beautiful! Great Trip!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Shoppe77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    436
    164
    39
    18
    18
See reviews for
443
113
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vernon Hills, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch while my son was in San Antonio for a college golf tournament. Due to that darn polar vortex, the weather changed from almost 80 degrees and sunny to 40 degress, cloudy, windy and rain. It's still a little early in the season to expect consistently warm weather but I can imagine during the warmer season this place will be great for families with children. The accomodations are beautiful and there is so much to do at this resort as well as their sister resort, The Hyatt Hill Counrty Resort and Spa. We enjoyed the beautiful pools, water slides, lazy river, sand volley ball, fire pits, grills to BBQ, Spa, golf restaurants, beautiful lobbys, and three guest relation specialists at the concierge desk that I need to acknowledge (Meaghan, Rico and Perry). All three went out of their way to help us before and during our stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kathe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palm springs
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Two gals on vacation - hubby at home. We have a two bdrm suite with a large balcony and lovely view. The rooms are spacious, fabulous bath rub in the master bdrm and a kitchen well stocked. Our kudo's go to the cleaning staff who are all gracious, very willing to help and go the extra mile for individual needs. The concierge staff are knowledgeable, organized and happy to help you plan your outings. The facilities are first rate with a great pool, easy access restaurants and most of all, we are able to access not just facilities at this site but at the next door Hyatt resort as well. Double the fun!

Room Tip: Rooms in the Persimmon Building are very private and quiet, yet close to the facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travel10PalmSprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wauconda, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Our stay at the Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch has been terrific. It is out of town in a secluded property and yet 2 minutes from a superhighway. This makes it very convenient. We've been able to enjoy the Riverwalk, the Alamo, and Fredericksburg in the Hill Country. Great staff! The concierge, Tricia was extremely helpful. Thanks.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara3673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

My family of six stayed at the Hyatt Wild Oak in February 2014 and we had a fantastic trip. We exchanged another timeshare for a two bedroom unit for one week. The rooms were very nice and well equipped. We slept well in the beds, although the mattress on the couch bed would be inadequate for anyone other than a young child.

The highlights for my family were the pool and the Camp Armadillo kids center. The pool was heated to the mid 80s, and given that most schools were in session, we had the pool almost entirely to ourselves. The indoor waterslide was a blast. Unfortunately, the outdoor waterslide and the lazy river were undergoing repairs, but the weather was in the 30s and 40s for most of our trip (Darn you polar vortex!), so we probably wouldn't have used them anyway. When they weren't swimming, my children spent a lot of time making crafts and playing games at Camp Armadillo. The staff was excellent, and we can't say enough nice things about Patricia.

Other nice features of the property included the firepits (ask for a s'mores kit at reception), the playgrounds and the nature trail.

Rudy's BBQ is close to the property, and we ate there multiple times. The kids also loved the Children's Museum in downtown San Antonio.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed here in February 2014 when the polar vortex brought sub 30 degree Fahrenheit temperatures to the San Antonio area. We were worried our trip would be ruined by the cold temperatures because our kids didn't want to be outside. But with the indoor/outdoor pool with two water slides (one inside) and the children's activity center Camp Armadillo, we were able to have a great time. The staff at Camp Armadillo was amazing, in particular Patricia, who spent a lot of time with our family.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
2 Thank BrChase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bossier City, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed here in late January and thought the property was amazing. JBs was excellent (had a special every lunch and dinner in addition to their regular menu and happy hour from 3-6), the Icehouse had the best chicken sandwich ever (quite a compliment coming from my family), and there were plenty of activities (pool, running trail, playground, putting green were our most frequently visited locations).

The rooms were very comfortable, having all the amenities of home. We particularly appreciated the in room laundry (very helpful for our 5 day stay) and spacious accommodations. The staff were always friendly and helpful, getting us anything we needed (special thanks to Dale for making sure we had everything we needed for our JBs takeout order). When you get the chance to come out, make sure to give yourself time to wander around the property and enjoy the details that make Wild Oak Ranch a treat!

Room Tip: Try to get a room close to the pool and JBs, (especially with kids), because you will probably be sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Far West Side
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#21 of 354 in San Antonio
3,458 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 354 in San Antonio
3,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Emma
Hotel Emma
#1 of 354 in San Antonio
1,360 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 354 in San Antonio
2,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch

Property: Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch
Address: 9700 West Military Drive, San Antonio, TX 78251
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Far West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#12 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch Hotel San Antonio
Hyatt Wild Oak Hotel
Wild Oak Ranch Hyatt
Hyatt San Antonio
San Antonio Hyatt
Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing