We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms, not a lot to do”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch
Ranked #16 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Calling this place a resort is a bit of a streth. We had a two bedroom, two bath unit which was great. It was updated, spacious and accomodated my family of four perfectly. Besides the room there is an indoor/outdoor pool, lazy river, one restaurant and a couple of bars. For this place to call itself a resort and only have one restaurant that closes at 9pm is a shame. At least one additional dining option is needed. There was also a schedule of activities each day that was somewhat limited. We were there over St. Patricks Day and there was not a single St. Patrick's Day activity planned for the kids. Are you kidding me!! How easy and obvious was that one! The pool and lazy river are wonderful and fun, and the staff are also excellent. The place just has a ways to go to get to resort status. If the room is the most important thing to you then you'll be happy here. Just don't come looking for many activities or dining options.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WebBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (705)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

316 - 322 of 705 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014

This was the best resort/hotel we've stayed at in many years of traveling. The atmosphere is relaxing, luxurious, inviting, and warm. The place as many amenities for families including great pool, waterpark, horseshoes, putting green, volleyball, basketball, lazy river swimming with sand beach, and a great restaurant. This place is a gem in the West-Texas Hill Country. We're glad we found it. The staff was excellent. Our family of four, with restless pre-teens, found we could stay busy all day and never had to leave to find something else to keep everyone entertained.

Room Tip: We had a "suite" with a king bed and sleeper sofa. Was spacious and had a great balcony. T...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a couple nights with our infant daughter and five year old son. We were welcomed by very inviting staff that were quick to point us in the direction of hot spots, restaurants etc... in and around San Antonio. They even provided a small welcoming packet to ensure we had the details of all that the area had to offer, not just the Hyatt property. The property is fully loaded for families and adults. The indoor/outdoor pool has multiple hot tubs, pool side bar, up to date gym and game room for the kids. The game room has the old school quarter games with dollar changers inside. Blast from the past.....

It's a very diverse group that visits this property. Some groups were senior couples enjoying wine in the evening at JB's, while the next may be large families with young kids enjoying the pool until late evening.

My son and I used the "family express" golf course on the day of our arrival and were treated just as if they were accommodating two adult players, although I was with my son. The pro shop team was very professional and accommodating for us which was helpful because it was my sons first time on a real course. I went ahead and rented clubs and was pleasantly surprised with the quality of their clubs, Titleist.

The condo we stayed in with full kitchen, 2 beds (fold out couch), and bathroom with jacuzzi tub were above our expectations and were very clean and polished. There are two LED TV's, one in the living room and one in the bedroom separate from each other with local channels. While HD, they are fed by coax cables so that is an opportunity. The internet was blazing fast however, running at 40mb down and up which was awesome for helping when I needed to upload some photos to free up some space mid vacation.

The drive to Sea World (which we did not visit) is literally across the street and the drive to the River Walk takes about 15 minutes, which is not bad at all to enjoy a quality golf course and quiet night once the kids crash.

Room Tip: Higher floors get you better view of the golf course
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cliffobiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This was our third stay here and it was still fantastic. We had a two bedroom two bathroom condo unit which offered enough space for our big family. The children enjoyed the heated pools and amazing lazy river. The adults loved the relaxing atmosphere and the attention given by the staff who wanted to make our stay comfortable and pleasurable. A shout out to Perry who greeted us daily with a smile and always asked what else Hyatt could do for us. The younger kids and teen viewed recent releases of their favorite movies nightly. The Ranch is centrally located close to restaurants and shopping. It is an easy on and off to major highways and also close to Sea World. We plan on returning again due to the area, staff, and lazy river.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mocatlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The Concierge staff at the Hyatt Wild Oak ( Elsa, Meagan, Rudy and Trisha) and Tiffany at the desk were very pleasant and most helpful during our recent visit to San Antonio, the Gulf and Texas Hill Country. Their knowledge of the local area was exceptional, recommending restaurants, convenient parking, local shopping and golf on site. They gave us maps and directions, as well as coupons to local attractions.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nanac4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

We just returned from this resort and had an amazing time. We had a one bedroom condo which was more than enough room for us with a nice balcony. The lazy river was fun to hang out at but the water was cold. The other pools were heated so that was a plus. JB's has the best burgers ever and John makes the best Southern Draw cocktail. Overall we had a blast and we'll definitely return to this resort.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank annece2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

This was our first time at this property. We own several other hyatt properties and this is a lovely resort. It offers a lot of amenities for children and great pools/lazy river. Very family friendly too. The staff and Perry are some of the best!

Stayed: March 2014
3  Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Far West Side
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 358 in San Antonio
3,106 reviews
Northwest Side
Eilan Hotel & Spa, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 358 in San Antonio
3,094 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Midtown
Hotel Emma
Hotel Emma
#1 of 358 in San Antonio
1,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch

Address: 9700 W Military Dr, San Antonio, TX 78251-1754
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Far West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#12 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: £121 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch Hotel San Antonio
Hyatt Wild Oak Hotel
Wild Oak Ranch Hyatt
Hyatt San Antonio
San Antonio Hyatt
Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing