We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great for families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch
Ranked #15 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 December 2010

We stayed here for 5 nights in the middle of November and absolutely loved it. We stayed in a 2 bedroom condo. We arrived very late at night and were had to phone the security to obtain keys but this was very easy and the chap was helpful. The condo was brilliant for us, 2 bathrooms and 2 bedrooms large kitchen and living room. We also loved the washing machine and dryer which came in handy with two young kids. The place was also spotless which is always nice to see. The only down side was that the resort was quiet and the lazy river was cold but thats not the fault of the resort. Its a stones throw from seaworld 5 to 10 min by car. The shop was expensive for food so be sure to bring all the essentials with you. The best bit was definately the heated pool and slides. We went there every day. Shops and restaurants are a short drive away, we didn't eat at the resort it was a bit expensive.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dundeetripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (710)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

599 - 605 of 710 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2010

This hotel was not what I expected when it was booked by my co-worker. We attended Wild Days at Sea World and stayed for a couple of nights. This hotel was quiet and cozy. I already love Hyatt Restaurants and absolutely loved Springhouse that is across the street at their other property. The shop, restaurants and amenities within the timeshare portion of the property close pretty early, but they do let you travel to the sister Hyatt down the street and enjoy dinner there. The front desk staff were a bit unfriendly.....Overall experience was great...I'd sign up to hear a timeshare presentation just to go here again....

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slbutler81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2010

Great property for anyone traveling with children. Hotel has everything you need to enjoy a stay with kids. There is an indoor pool and waterslide, outdoor pool and waterslide, lazy river, volleyball court, soccer goals, shuffleboard and "backyard" games. There is also a game room with pool table and video games, and a golf course. The actual rooms are very nice and updated, with nice furniture, full kitchen with cooking utensils and granite countertops. Not to mention, it is just across the street from SeaWorld.

The on-site restaurant had very good food that kids and adults both enjoyed. There is an on-site store with groceries. It is very overpriced and not necessary as HEB is just a few miles away. Staff was helpful and friendly. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jsmOklahomaCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2010

We visited the Wild Oak Ranch in April 2010 for 2 night. We were visiting Sea World so we liked that it was close and my 9 year old loved the water slides. We were impressed with the hotel BUT the front desk called twice trying to convince us to watch the time share speech. They said we would get a $75 voucher. We decided to go ahead and listen after checking out because we had considered buying into the time share plan after seeing some listed online. We had no intention in buying from them. With that said, we were berated, degraded and called names. They were kind enough to take our kids to the "play room" while all that went down. When we finally walked out they gave us the vouchers that were only good for 3 months knowing we weren't planning to come back down until October 2010. We will NEVER, EVER stay at this chain or hotel again. Thanks Brian...calling people names will not sell your timeshares. I'm just surprised that your "bosses" that were watching over you, pretending to not be seen, didn't stop you.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HeatherB75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2010

I've stayed all over the riverwalk and at other properties near the amusement parks and none of them even remotely compare and most of them cost almost or more than this one! If you go here, plan on just staying and enjoying the property all day. I would definitely not stay here and then spend all day at Sea World or Fiesta, Texas. This place is a destination in and of itself!

I would say the property is more geared towards families with kids...but I can see how two adults travelling together could enjoy it also. There were several places on the grounds we didn't get a chance to enjoy because we were enjoying hanging out at the pool with the kids. The landscaping is amazing and lush with lots of seating in little nooks and crannies to sit and relax in throughout.

All of the pools have zero entry areas; the lazy river has a beach front entry with a cabana serving both adult and kid beverages (margaritas, slushes, etc.) that you can bill to your room. We went out early in the morning and placed our towels, etc. in a cabana so we could have a hammock cabana but honestly the place seemed so uncrowded (despite a parking lot full of cars ???) that I don't think it would've been a problem to get a cabana at peak times. A short walk from the lazy river are two pools..indoor and outdoor that connect and have two water slides ("really fast slides" according to the kids. Fresh, warm towels are available at the towel hut along with another drink cabana. The restaurant is a little spendy but it's almost worth it for at least one night not to have to leave the property.

We brought our own stuff for s'mores and our fire was lit promptly when we requested it at the front desk. Movie are also available for rental free of charge at the front desk.

We will definitely be back when we need a quick break or a mini-vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jrt55857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay while visiting our airman at Lackland AFB. Relaxing, rejuvinating, and loved the lazy river! Oh yeah, our airman had a good break also.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flagdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2010

This place is just what we needed for a vacation with our kids. Slow paced, a few activities and a camp for kids if you want it.
The main thing to do at the hotel is just hang out at the pool all day or float on the river/play at the beach. I think the beach was the kids' favorite part. There's also a small playground. I think every single family i've seen here has kids with them, so this is not really the relaxing place for couples only!

It's not fancy, but clean and very comfortable. Beds were comfy too.

One thing I wanted to say is the studio works great for a baby, b/c just inside the front door is a little nook that fits a pack and play (which the hotel has too if you need one). That spot is DARK too - i closed the curtains, still had on a lamp and b/c it's around the corner it's a great napping spot. bring a noisemaker though b/c there is lots of noise in the hallway. Just thought I'd mention this since a regular hotel room is tough with an infant sometimes.

Definitely bring drinks, food, snacks b/c the restaurant and store are expensive. There is an HEB grocery store about a mile away (and liquor store too!) You can save a lot of money doing this. Games for the kids to play in the room came in handy.
Oh - and since I haven't seen it mentioned, if you're not from Texas do yourself a favor and have dinner at Rudy's BBQ nearby!!! It's outstanding. We live in Austin and have had tons of barbecue, and Rudy's never disappoints.

I'm a fan! we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank movableschool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Far West Side
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#19 of 358 in San Antonio
3,137 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#5 of 358 in San Antonio
3,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Side
Eilan Hotel & Spa, Autograph Collection
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Omni San Antonio Hotel
#21 of 358 in San Antonio
2,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch

Address: 9700 W Military Dr, San Antonio, TX 78251-1754
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Far West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#12 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: £119 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch Hotel San Antonio
Hyatt Wild Oak Hotel
Wild Oak Ranch Hyatt
Hyatt San Antonio
San Antonio Hyatt
Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing