We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch
Ranked #9 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Ft Worth, TX
Level Contributor
95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great place for families”
Reviewed 7 January 2011

Better late than never. We stayed here last summer with two teens and two younger children (5,3) and had a great time. Plenty to do for everyone on the property. Nice fitness center. Small store. Good restaurant. Fantastic pool and a great lazy river with beach. They serve food and drinks at the main pool and there is a bar by the beach/lazy river (you can also have food brought to you there). They had movie night on the beach when we were there- they set up chairs and a big screen to watch a children's movie. They also have a number of fire pits where you can make smores; even though it was hot, they built us a fire and the kids loved it. It's very close to Sea World (5 minutes) and approximately 30 minutes to the Riverwalk. There are plenty of nearby restaurants or grocery stores if you want to eat in. We got a 2 bdr condo through Travelocity that was reasonably priced, and it fit all 6 of us. We skipped the time share talk. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cng8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    170
    40
    18
    18
See reviews for
454
117
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
las vegas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2010

Chose this location because of its location. It’s about 30 minutes from Downtown San Antonio, just far enough away that my daughter and her family felt that they had actually gone away for a long weekend, when it was really a stay-cation of sorts for them. Access to the major highways (loop 1604, loop 410 and hwy 151)was quick and easy. The property is laid out very nicely, the buildings aren’t right on top of each other. Check in was very efficient. We were assigned a unit in the Persimmon Bldg. on the top floor. The view was beautiful. We had a 1bedroom unit. Lots of space for the 4 of us. The Bathroom, what can I say, I’d love to have that bathroom in my own home!! There are dual vanities and a large jetted tub. The tub is book-ended by frosted ripple glass enclosures…one is the toilet, and the other is the large shower. We had a difficult time getting my grandson out of the tub, he thought it was his private swimming pool.
The kitchen is fully stocked with service for six, including pots’n pans, bakeware, blender, microwave, toaster, the oven is a convection over, and they even remembered a pizza cutter. We brought in take out from Rudy’s B-B-Que, and Papa Murphy’s take n bake pizza, but it was very nice to be able to use real dinnerware instead of paper plates.
The pool area is wonderful. Heated to a comfortable temp. My Grandson had a Blast. His words were, " I didn't know a pool could have it's own house, can we live here?" We can’t wait to come back in the warmer months to be able to use the outdoor portion, and the slides.
All in all we were very pleased with the property. We were not hounded to do the timeshare schpeil, as some have mentioned.
Would we come back?? You betcha!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tutuwahinelv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
109 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2010

We stayed here for 5 nights in the middle of November and absolutely loved it. We stayed in a 2 bedroom condo. We arrived very late at night and were had to phone the security to obtain keys but this was very easy and the chap was helpful. The condo was brilliant for us, 2 bathrooms and 2 bedrooms large kitchen and living room. We also loved the washing machine and dryer which came in handy with two young kids. The place was also spotless which is always nice to see. The only down side was that the resort was quiet and the lazy river was cold but thats not the fault of the resort. Its a stones throw from seaworld 5 to 10 min by car. The shop was expensive for food so be sure to bring all the essentials with you. The best bit was definately the heated pool and slides. We went there every day. Shops and restaurants are a short drive away, we didn't eat at the resort it was a bit expensive.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dundeetripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2010

This hotel was not what I expected when it was booked by my co-worker. We attended Wild Days at Sea World and stayed for a couple of nights. This hotel was quiet and cozy. I already love Hyatt Restaurants and absolutely loved Springhouse that is across the street at their other property. The shop, restaurants and amenities within the timeshare portion of the property close pretty early, but they do let you travel to the sister Hyatt down the street and enjoy dinner there. The front desk staff were a bit unfriendly.....Overall experience was great...I'd sign up to hear a timeshare presentation just to go here again....

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slbutler81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2010

Great property for anyone traveling with children. Hotel has everything you need to enjoy a stay with kids. There is an indoor pool and waterslide, outdoor pool and waterslide, lazy river, volleyball court, soccer goals, shuffleboard and "backyard" games. There is also a game room with pool table and video games, and a golf course. The actual rooms are very nice and updated, with nice furniture, full kitchen with cooking utensils and granite countertops. Not to mention, it is just across the street from SeaWorld.

The on-site restaurant had very good food that kids and adults both enjoyed. There is an on-site store with groceries. It is very overpriced and not necessary as HEB is just a few miles away. Staff was helpful and friendly. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsmOklahomaCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2010

We visited the Wild Oak Ranch in April 2010 for 2 night. We were visiting Sea World so we liked that it was close and my 9 year old loved the water slides. We were impressed with the hotel BUT the front desk called twice trying to convince us to watch the time share speech. They said we would get a $75 voucher. We decided to go ahead and listen after checking out because we had considered buying into the time share plan after seeing some listed online. We had no intention in buying from them. With that said, we were berated, degraded and called names. They were kind enough to take our kids to the "play room" while all that went down. When we finally walked out they gave us the vouchers that were only good for 3 months knowing we weren't planning to come back down until October 2010. We will NEVER, EVER stay at this chain or hotel again. Thanks Brian...calling people names will not sell your timeshares. I'm just surprised that your "bosses" that were watching over you, pretending to not be seen, didn't stop you.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HeatherB75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2010

I've stayed all over the riverwalk and at other properties near the amusement parks and none of them even remotely compare and most of them cost almost or more than this one! If you go here, plan on just staying and enjoying the property all day. I would definitely not stay here and then spend all day at Sea World or Fiesta, Texas. This place is a destination in and of itself!

I would say the property is more geared towards families with kids...but I can see how two adults travelling together could enjoy it also. There were several places on the grounds we didn't get a chance to enjoy because we were enjoying hanging out at the pool with the kids. The landscaping is amazing and lush with lots of seating in little nooks and crannies to sit and relax in throughout.

All of the pools have zero entry areas; the lazy river has a beach front entry with a cabana serving both adult and kid beverages (margaritas, slushes, etc.) that you can bill to your room. We went out early in the morning and placed our towels, etc. in a cabana so we could have a hammock cabana but honestly the place seemed so uncrowded (despite a parking lot full of cars ???) that I don't think it would've been a problem to get a cabana at peak times. A short walk from the lazy river are two pools..indoor and outdoor that connect and have two water slides ("really fast slides" according to the kids. Fresh, warm towels are available at the towel hut along with another drink cabana. The restaurant is a little spendy but it's almost worth it for at least one night not to have to leave the property.

We brought our own stuff for s'mores and our fire was lit promptly when we requested it at the front desk. Movie are also available for rental free of charge at the front desk.

We will definitely be back when we need a quick break or a mini-vacation.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jrt55857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Far West Side
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 355 in San Antonio
2,995 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 355 in San Antonio
3,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Emma
Hotel Emma
#1 of 355 in San Antonio
1,575 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch

Property: Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch
Address: 9700 W Military Dr, San Antonio, TX 78251-1754
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Far West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#12 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch Hotel San Antonio
Hyatt Wild Oak Hotel
Wild Oak Ranch Hyatt
Hyatt San Antonio
San Antonio Hyatt
Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing