We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would definitely stay here if I'm ever in San Antonio again”
Review of Crockett Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crockett Hotel
Ranked #19 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2011

close to everything - truly right next to the Alamo, short walk to Riverwalk and other tourist attractions, easy highway access for anything. Breakfast was good with fresh fruit, brand name cereal, waffle iron, juices and coffee. But it was crowded! And not eeryone cleaned up after themselves ... Pool was very attractive, with ample towels, just really small.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelingMAkron_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,005)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,764 - 1,770 of 2,005 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2011

The Crockett Hotel has a great location just steps from the Alamo, the price was good as well for being located near the Riverwalk. My only complaint would be I ordered a wake up call for Sunday morning at 8:30 and never received it. Upon checking out with Crystal at the front desk and making her aware of this she made no apology or tried to find out what happened. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brooke79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrockettGM, General Manager at Crockett Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2011

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback after your recent stay at the Crockett Hotel.

We appreciate your compliments on our historic hotel and ideal location, etc.

We certainly want to apologize for the failure to provide the wake up call that you requested. We will go back and see what caused this oversight, so that we may prevent such an occurrence in the future. Maybe more importantly, we will review with our staff that when things go wrong and there is a problem brought to our attention, a sincere apology is the very first thing we are expected to offer.

Reviewing our customers' feedback helps us to refocus and retrain our staff, so that we can improve our standards of service for all future customers. We hope to have you as a return guest soon. Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We got an online special $70 per night for a double room, which was fantastic. I have seen other reviewers state the rooms were small, but ours was very average and didn't seem small at all, as is often the case with older hotels. You are steps from Alamo, Alamo Plaza, Rivercenter Mall, tons of restaurants, shopping, Riverwalk, etc. Pool is out front, but it has lush landscaping and is gorgeous and extremely well-kept with plenty of seating. Staff was friendly and helpful. We didn't take part in the continental breakfast, so I am not sure about that. We happened upon a great deal, but more than $70 per night would probably still have been a deal for the location. I am happy to say the only negatives were no fridge/micro, but that seemed to be a small problem with all the other positives.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank advisor2396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Stayed at the Crockett Hotel 3 nights room was great (except no little fridge). Complimentary breakfast was good with Texas shaped waffles, yogurt, Fruit, Toast, Bagels, Eggs and cereal. Would recommend this hotel due to its location and price. Just a few steps from the Alamo and riverwalk. Small inconvinience when the door key stopped working due to something wrong with door lock, but was given a new room in a suite.

Room Tip: save your money i liked the basic room more then the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tatytat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

The room was clean, no view. The elevator is tiny, but works. Staff was helpful. Breakfast was limited ( plan on a Belgium waffle shaped as Texas. Pool is in a strange location, not a leisurely experience. Don't book for the pool.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buldan85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrockettGM, General Manager at Crockett Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the historic Crocket Hotel.

We are pleased that you as many of our guests found the hotel clean and comfortable. With our 102 year history, our 'heart of the city' location remains a special aspect of the Crockett Hotel.

Our free breakfast is often highlighted with the Texas shaped waffle. We also include scrambled eggs, breads, bagels and pastries, fresh fruit, yogurts and fruit juices.

The elevator size is a factor given the limitation and size of the original elevator shafts. We modernized the cabs and lifting equipments 100% in 2007. Also, the pool and patio were added to the property for the 1968 Worlds Fair in San Antonio. The private landscaped pool and patio are just across our front drive from the hotel entrance.

Thank you again. We look forward to your future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the Crockett Hotel. Loved the location. Walk out your back door and you are at the Alamo. Walk a few blocks and you are on the riverwalk. My 9y.o. loved the pool. The pool was never busy and there were plenty of chairs and lots of shade. The bar located in the hotel also allowed you to take drinks out to the pool. They are a little understaffed. The vallet backed up when i first got there and I could barely fit my car in the drive in. Other than that they were great at retreiving our car when we needed it. Our room was on the 6th floor and It had a strange smell that never went away. It smelled like it had been on fire. Not sure where this smell came from but it was very strong. Nothing you could do about it. The hallway and the hotel did not smell this way. Just our room. Very strange. Great view out the windows. They need a better system for the breakfast. Upon check in you receive cards that tell you to turn them in to the attendant when you go to breakfast. There was no attendant. Had there been an attendant... you not be fighting for a table and have someone steal your chair while you were gone checking on your child while they were waiting in line to make a waffel. This happened to us twice. There really need more staff to make things run smoothly. Especially at breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bohemian911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Sorry, but thats about it after reading reviews I was expecting something a bit more special. Rooms are VERY small and our room was right over the lobby so there was plenty of noise. Phone did not work properly. Location is the best thing here.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Menger Hotel
#23 of 358 in San Antonio
2,524 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#5 of 358 in San Antonio
3,113 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#11 of 358 in San Antonio
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 358 in San Antonio
3,141 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#6 of 358 in San Antonio
3,246 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crockett Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crockett Hotel

Address: 320 Bonham, San Antonio, TX 78205-2083
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#42 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#57 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: £92 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Crockett Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A recommended hotel in San Antonio for families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crockett Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crockett Hotel San Antonio, Texas
Crockett San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing