We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”
Review of Crockett Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crockett Hotel
Ranked #22 of 356 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
Reviewed 6 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with a group of senior citizen. The staff was very nice. Allowed us to check in early. The hotel is in a fantastic location. Very clean. Beds very comfortable. The ac was a little noisy. But all in all it was a good stay

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pcstamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrockettGM, General Manager at Crockett Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide visitors to Trip Advisor with a review of your recent stay at the Crockett.

We strive every day to provide a unique hotel experience that is clean, comfortable and convenient for our guests.

As a 104 year old facility, in the shadow of the historic Alamo, and in the heart of San Antonio's downtown...we have been blessed with an unbeatable location for more than a century. Our staff focuses now to provide the service and experience for our guests everyday.

As an independent, boutique hotel, we rely very much on word of mouth referrals and online exposure for others to learn about the Crockett. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,906 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    934
    663
    214
    51
    44
See reviews for
456
761
95
328
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

My wife and I traveled to San Antonio to see a couple of old friends and booked a room at the Crockett right across the street from the back of the Alamo grounds. It was a very clean and spacious room and the bed and pillows were very comfortable as well. The hotel itself is historic having been built in 1909 on grounds where the battle was actually fought. It was enlarged some years back and the large lobby shows the former exterior walls which now enclose interior rooms, an interesting sight. We enjoyed the continental breakfast for two mornings. Always nice to eat a waffle shaped like Texas (and not Rhode Island!). There was plenty of other breakfast fare as well, fruit, etc. Overall, a nice stay in an interesting city.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the west side overlooking the Alamo and a view of downtown San Antonio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

This hotel can't decide if it's an up-scale or a cheap-and-clean hotel. Does neither well. Nice lobby great location but free breakfast worse than most road side motels. No bowls for cereal in the morning. I asked the waitress and she said I was supposed to eat the cereal by pouring milk in the little box it came in. Let's see grand piano in the Lobby, guests eating out of paper cereal boxes in the morning??? No real bacon or ham, just some mixed in with scrambled eggs. If there is no restaurant in the hotel why not at least have the usual little bar fridge in the room to store some soda and fruit?? Darkest hotel room I've ever been in. I know "energy saving" but give me a break, we've discovered electricity, lets not go back to one candle level lighting. Stay at "Historic Hotels of America" when possible, this is the least best of them I've hit. But to its credit, the rooms were clean, and the staff were as help full as possible.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farmer_Don_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royse City, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

My wife and I went to San Antonio for our anniversary on February 8th through 11th. The hotel was alright. It was clean, room was good, and the location was excellent. The only drawbacks we found was the guy at the front desk was rude checking us in and acted as if we were bothering him. The breakfast was not good. They had eggs and tortillas that I ate one morning but didn't eat breakfast there again. If you are looking for a hotel with a great location I would recommend this one.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caacm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas,
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Nice hotel, very friendly staff, nice barkeep. The room was very clean and nice. Location is great for sightseeing, right behind the Alamo and very close to the Riverwalk access. Breakfast bar was good. All in all this was a very nice weekend get away hotel for the wife and I during out stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobourg, On
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Stayed here for a visit to San Antonio rodeo and a bit of sight seeing. Comfortable, clean and convenient location. Breakfast was great and service was good. Will definitely stay here next time in San Antonio.

Room Tip: Some rooms are small, just ask for a larger one, our friends did and it was no problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimandJoan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

I had reservations this hotel for the end of Feb 2013. In January, my credit card was charged even though this was not supposed to be pre-charged. When I called to correct the error, the reservations person would just not help. She kept telling me that since I made the reservation through expedia, I had to call them. I did not make the reservation through expedia and the charge on my credit card clearly showed The Crockett Hotel. I asked to speak to a manager and was told that no one was there. Based on my experience with the reservations person, I would not ever stay here. I have no idea what the hotel looks like in person, however, I don't feel that it's important since there is obviously no service or help provided with anything at all.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrockettGM, General Manager at Crockett Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Thank you for your feedback with regards to your experience with one of our reservation agents. We value any feedback we receive and use it with our staff members so that we can re-train and reinforce how important EACH intereaction with a guest is to their perception of the entire hotel. There is never an excuse for a rude or unhelpful interaction, and especially when an error had occured in the reservation/payment process.

We will review with all of our reservations staff about the importance of accuracy in this regard. We certainly never wish an error to occur in the processing of charges to our guests.

Additionally, We apologize that when you called in, our reservation staff was not more able to assist you or provide with contact to our accounting department or other management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Menger Hotel
#25 of 356 in San Antonio
2,392 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#13 of 356 in San Antonio
1,110 reviews
East Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#19 of 356 in San Antonio
3,007 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#8 of 356 in San Antonio
3,173 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crockett Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crockett Hotel

Property: Crockett Hotel
Address: 320 Bonham, San Antonio, TX 78205-2083
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in San Antonio
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#42 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#57 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Crockett Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A recommended hotel in San Antonio for families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelClick, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Crockett Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crockett Hotel San Antonio, Texas
Crockett San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing