We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, excellent location”
Review of Crockett Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crockett Hotel
Ranked #16 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2013

With a daily rate less than $70, staying in this historic building was ideal. The room was clean and updated but smaller than modern counterparts. The breakfast buffet included hot choices, pastries/breads, fruit, coffee, tea, juices, and make-your-own waffles in the shape of Texas (clever!). Since the hotel's location is across the street from The Alamo, I monitored the crowds (to avoid busloads of tourists) and thoroughly engrossed myself in all the historical information. Walking to/from the Riverwalk was safe'n easy, with alternate routes so I could enjoy sites along city streets.

Room Tip: Our interior room had minimal natural light because there was only a very small window that was bloc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asis76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,707 - 1,713 of 2,124 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2013

This hotel has a split personality. If you're looking for a limited service hotel with clean rooms with a free breakfast close to the Alamo, then it's a great choice. If you're looking for a boutique hotel with some nice amenities and unique touches, then it falls flat.

The entire experience is mixed. The lobby is impressive, with comfortable seating, location appropriate decor, and generally friendly staff. Once in the hallways you notice the worn paint, dated dingy carpet, and get the feeling the hotel is needs a little TLC.

Rooms are clean and, contrary to another review I read, I thought well lit. Again it's the little touches that give away the age and budget thinking. Old school polyester bedspreads last cleaned who knows when. Two flat worn out pillows on a king bed. A plastic laminated "Order Inn" food delivery menu.

The fitness room is in the Menger Hotel across the street. Not far to go, but the room is a couple treadmills and a stationary bike in a dark dingy room. No weights, mats, or any thing else.

Breakfast is free, but barely worth it. Pre-mix batter waffles, cereal in pre-packaged bowls, canned fruit, steam tray eggs, plastic utensils, Styrofoam coffee cups.

Bottom line, a Hampton Inn / Holiday Inn Express type experience in a historic building with great location. All the staff, including front desk and housekeeping, was friendly and helpful. You could do a lot worse, but don't expect top end hotel luxury or amenities.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AaronDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

I'll admit I didn't comparison shop for this hotel. I wanted something historic and close to the Alamo, and I stayed both at the Crockett and the Menger. I hated the Menger and loved the Crockett. Strange, as they are both owned by the same company. Anyway, we reserved a suite, and it was great. The hide-a-bed was in a little alcove and my family of 4 was able to fit very comfortably in the room. It was a corner suite with a neat curved wall of windows overlooking the Alamo. It was very nicely updated and everyone loved it. Breakfast was pretty good, but (full disclosure) I did see a cockroach in the food area. Didn't bother me, but I'm sure it would bother some. I notice other reviewers mentioned the sound of the elevator bell and I too could hear it in my room at night. It might be a nuisance if one were staying in a room right by the elevator. Anyway, I thought they did a great job updating the hotel and overall we really enjoyed our stay and I also thought the staff did a great job. The hotel is very convenient to many downtown activities.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrBoingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

This hotel is close to everything: the Alamo, the riverwalk, the convention center, plus lots of shops and restaurants.

The rooms are clean and comfortable with friendly and professional staff. The hotel has a commendable recycling and sustainability policy which goes beyond most standard hotels.

There's a good reliable internet connection - whether using wifi in your room, the lobby or the bar.

The complimentary breakfast (waffles, eggs, cold cereals, fruit, yogurts and bread etc.) was great value, with staff replenishing food and cleaning tables frequently.

My advice for future travelers is to try and get a room that does not face the inside of the hotel and overlooks the lobby area. I found that noise from the lobby travels upwards and you could often heard the sounds of other guests when trying to sleep. I am not sure if it made a difference as to what floor you're on (I was on the 4th floor) as noise seemed to echo from downstairs.

There is a small open air pool, with sun beds, near the front entrance but I didn't use this. The bar in the hotel had a great happy hour from 4pm.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the outside so the noise from the lobby area doesn't wake you (as it might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013 via mobile

The Crockett hotel is super close to the riverwalk. The walk to and from is safe. It's also extremely close to the Alamo. The hotel itself is quite a picture opportunity. We didnt stay long but when we come back we will definitely be returning to the Crockett. The breakfast was good. The rooms are on the smaller to average size but they're nice all the same. Everyone we came across seemed nice and more than happy to help. We highly recommend this hotel :)

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JC5BNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

The Crockett Hotel is in a great location for everything you want to walk to in San Antonio. The Alamo is across the street and the Riverwalk is just down the street. The hotel was clean, the rooms where big, and the breakfast was really nice to have every morning. If you are looking for somewhere to stay that is close to everything you can't go wrong with this place.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dyan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with a group of senior citizen. The staff was very nice. Allowed us to check in early. The hotel is in a fantastic location. Very clean. Beds very comfortable. The ac was a little noisy. But all in all it was a good stay

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pcstamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrockettGM, General Manager at Crockett Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide visitors to Trip Advisor with a review of your recent stay at the Crockett.

We strive every day to provide a unique hotel experience that is clean, comfortable and convenient for our guests.

As a 104 year old facility, in the shadow of the historic Alamo, and in the heart of San Antonio's downtown...we have been blessed with an unbeatable location for more than a century. Our staff focuses now to provide the service and experience for our guests everyday.

As an independent, boutique hotel, we rely very much on word of mouth referrals and online exposure for others to learn about the Crockett. Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Menger Hotel
#20 of 358 in San Antonio
2,722 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#24 of 358 in San Antonio
4,131 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#8 of 358 in San Antonio
3,216 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#6 of 358 in San Antonio
3,351 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#21 of 358 in San Antonio
3,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crockett Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crockett Hotel

Address: 320 Bonham, San Antonio, TX 78205-2083
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#38 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#57 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: £97 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Crockett Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A recommended hotel in San Antonio for families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Crockett Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crockett Hotel San Antonio, Texas
Crockett San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing