We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice!”
Review of Crockett Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Crockett Hotel
Ranked #23 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice!”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

I stayed in this hotel while I was in San Antonio attending a conference. I really liked the character of the hotel and very much enjoyed my stay. My room looked over the Alamo and was convenient for many of the attractions in the area. I was there for six days and never needed a car to get anywhere. The rooms were not luxurious, but the bed was comfortable and I slept great! The only down side to this trip was the massage that I received across the street at the Menger Hotel. However, I ate a couple of meals at the Menger and the food was very good.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,860 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    905
    652
    211
    50
    42
See reviews for
434
750
93
321
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

I have as well stayed at the Menger hotel and nowThe Crockett. And by far the Crockett hotel was a better experience. Larger Rooms, cleaner, and better service, and eventhough we were next to the service elevator the noise was minimal. And yes they do charge extra for parking but so does every other hotel in this area. And it is disclosed on aaall websites that I visited. I wish people would stop blaming other for their inability to read disclosures.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sage100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2013

First of all, I am easy to please and usually can stay in any hotel/motel and not complain. However, when booking and paying for the hotel online, NO WHERE did it say parking was $20 PER CAR whether you valet or self park. We drove from Dallas and bought another car in San Antonio and decided to stay the night to rest before driving back. So there was another $40 expense we had no idea about. When I asked the manager how they could be so misleading when I am booking online and unaware of mandatory parking fees, he rudely interrupted me many times and was the WORST manager I have ever spoken to. The customer service of this hotel is worse than any ghetto motel I've stayed at before. However, the location is absolutely perfect and could walk anywhere from the hotel and the rooms were almost spotless, however only slightly small (but quite cozy). If you're aware of the parking fees ahead of time, and hopefully don't have to deal with the jerk manager at the front, this hotel is cute and has some nice history to it. I might stay again if they fire the manager I dealt with.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrockettGM, General Manager at Crockett Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2013
Thank you for providing a review of your recent stay.

We are certainly sorry for any confusion about the parking availability at the hotel. In all our on-line sites including the hotel's web site and on Booking.com we list the availability of parking and the current price $20 per day. We also have the price posted at the entrances of the hotel and the parking lot.

While we understand this was not what you expected, the hotel does not include the price of parking in our room rates as over 1/2 of our guests arrive without a vehicle. We regularly survey the price for parking in downtown San Antonio, and we try to maintain our price below the average overnight price for our area.

We apologize that you did not feel our manager was helpful in this matter, even though he did provide to park your second car overnight for free. We will review your comments with the team here, and use them as we constantly strive to improve our service to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

This was a great stay. The historic beauty of this building is amazing. Really well preserved and functional. Continental breakfast was good. Location is perfect. Easy walking distance to the Riverwalk, (almost endless options for food) the Alamo, and the Rivercenter Mall. Everything you need right near by. Taxi from airport $27.00, no need to rent a car.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2013

This is one of the worst customer service places visited. The front desk really needs to work on items such as "hello" and other greetings. Staring and waiting for some form of interaction to begin as if being interrupted in the day was a suprise. This went on with at least three other employees from our company. One asked where the convention center was located. Was handed a slip of paper with no comment. He asked about a landark name printed on it still trying to get a bearing. The clerk just nodded and stared. The clerk standing next to her stated "is there something you do not understand" on the slip (sic)? WoW. This went on for three days with a complete rotation of staff - something is up. Location is nice. Rooms are small walls and doors are thin and generally loud. Bar is a challenge with the tender - seems a little put out. This sounds like lumping issues here, but the attitude appears to be flowing throughout the staff. WiFi does not seem to work - on my cell card now. Breakfast is low end. They have some general items, nothing to write home about. I see some good reviews and wonder if being too hard. Then I walk downstairs and see it happen to the next guest lol.

Room Tip: Stay away from elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrockettGM, General Manager at Crockett Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent stay.

We are very sorry for the experience that your had when you were our guest. We strive every day to provide a clean, comfortable and convenient hotel, along with personal, friendly service from all of our staff.

We obviously failed to deliver the level of service that you should expect from the team at the Crockett Hotel.

We have shared your review with our staff so that they may raise their level of personalized service and provide friendly, helpful assistance at all times. This is our goal and will be our focus.

Thank you again. Constructive feedback is sometimes hard to hear, but we understand in the end it is beneficial to our efforts for continued improvement in serving our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013 via mobile

My family & I enjoy staying at the Crockett hotel whenever we are in downtown San Antonio. The hotel is situated between the Alamo & the mall. It's very convenient to the river walk & all the major hotspots. Most of all, the staff makes you feel like you're visiting your relatives. For special occasions or none at all, we always go back to what makes us feel at home.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank georginadsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrockettGM, General Manager at Crockett Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Thank you very much for being our recent guest at the Crockett Hotel.

We strive everyday to make the experience at the hotel truly feel like home away from home for our guests. We know we are a unique hotel in a prime location in the heart of San Antonio.

Much of what people know about us is through word of mouth, and our online presence. Thanks for helping to spread the word.

We hope to serve you again soon at the Crockett Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Great location and friendly staff. The rooms are average/clean. If you are looking for a good place to sleep, a great location close to the Riverwalk then look no further. Also of note, they have a nice bar built into the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YouAreHere_X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Menger Hotel
#27 of 355 in San Antonio
2,325 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#12 of 355 in San Antonio
1,099 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#11 of 355 in San Antonio
3,003 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#10 of 355 in San Antonio
3,132 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#21 of 355 in San Antonio
2,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crockett Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crockett Hotel

Property: Crockett Hotel
Address: 320 Bonham, San Antonio, TX 78205-2083
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in San Antonio
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#42 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#57 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Crockett Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A recommended hotel in San Antonio for families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TravelClick, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crockett Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crockett Hotel San Antonio, Texas
Crockett San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing