We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Crockett Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crockett Hotel
Ranked #22 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio
Level Contributor
128 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great hotel with great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Very nice hotel. Stayed in a suite and ceilings were vaulted. If not staying in a sweet there are no refrigerators. No rooms have microwaves. You have to go to the first floor dining room to use a microwave. Great views depending on room. Customs service was great, pool too.

Room Tip: Morning breakfast was Ok but free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank I_Like_Cats_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrockettGM, General Manager at Crockett Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your review of the Crockett Hotel.

You feedback is very valuable to us and the team here. We have shared it with all departments.
Our 105 year old hotel is quite unique in this market, and it is great to hear that our service to you also was a highlight of your stay.

We appreciate you taking the time post a recap of your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,772 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    864
    619
    201
    48
    40
See reviews for
414
713
91
299
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
50 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Look, if you want to be near the Alamo and the Riverwalk, there is probably no better hotel than this one. You can literally see the Alamo out the hotel windows and the Riverwalk is an easy walk through an air conditioned mall. It has a kitsch that matches the touristy vibe of this area of San Antonio.

The hotel is old but well-maintained--I could tell the carpet had been replaced recently and the bathroom fixtures seemed up to date. The room is classic, old-school-hotel style, complete with the channel listing in pop-up plastic stand. I found the room to be clean and well kept. The front desk folks were accommodating, though I could have done without the tour sales pitch. Breakfast was typical cereal, pastries, and the always entertaining Texas-shaped waffles.

My biggest issue was the noise in the rooms that faced the lobby. Because of the lobby design, all noise echoes into the rooms. So, say, if someone decides at 1 a.m. to let their child explore the marvelous echo that happens when you repeatedly scream in the lobby, you're gonna hear it. I slept with the noisy air conditioning on all night to drown out the noise, and would have moved rooms if I hadn't been there for just a night. Ask for rooms that ring the outside of the complex.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the outside of the property and not the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RamblingRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I have stayed at the Crockett Hotel more than once when I have visited San Antonio on business. It is a easy walk to reach the convention center; which was very convenient for me. It is literally right across the street from the Alamo and just down the street from many other tourist attractions. I have stayed in a room that overlooked the Alamo and loved hearing the horses go by at night as they pull carriages of tourists around the sights. The sound of horses really adds to the feel of the old west. Last time my room looked over the atrium. I am a deep sleeper and did not mind any noise that other guests made at night. Also when a strong thunder storm blew through one night - I never heard it at all with the Atrium view room. The breakfasts are good and come with the room reservation. I love the waffles in the shape of the state of Texas. There is no restaurant in the hotel, but there are many good restaurants within easy walking distance. I would definitely return to the Crockett - and hope to when I return to San Antonio.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean Springs, Mississippi
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a great place to stay while in San Antonio, Tx. We arrived on Tues. afternoon and the valet met us at the door and did everything he could to make us welcome and unloaded everything and got it up in the room.
Check in was real quick and simple and the rooms were really great.
The included breakfast was of hot foods, sausage, eggs, and the usual cold type continental rolls, bisquets, beagles etc
The location couldn't be better for this city The Alamo was across one street and the River walk was across the side street.
We stayed there 3 nights and didn't have to take our car from the parking lot one time because everything was so close to the hotel.
Did bus tours of the city and boat tours of the river walk waterways.
Parking space around this area is at a premium so there was a charge for the hotel parking space.
A real pleasant trip and a beautiful city to visit. Will probably plan on going back in the future.

Room Tip: With the great central location of this Hotel I would think all of the rooms would be great. The Ic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hacksaw39532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffird
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is an excellent hotel. Next to the Alamo, convient shopping. Near the riverwalk. You can't go wrong here. Will stay here over and over. Price is very reasonable and you will love the service. Great breakfast every morning. You must meet the staff.

Room Tip: Near a window, outside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed at the Crockett hotel for one night. The hotel is right behind the Alamo and within walking distance from the riverwalk. If you're looking for a quiet place away from the hustle bustle of the riverwalk, I'd definitely recommend Crockett. We booked using a deal on groupon and the process was seamless.

We got a room with an inside facing view and hence the view from the room was not all that great. The windows faced directly into the lobby. Although, that was not of much concern to us.

The pool was good. Its small in size and not too deep. Surprisingly, there was no crowd on a summer evening and so we had a relaxing dip.

The room was just nice and convenient for the 2 of us. The staff were friendly. They also have easy checkout which was great for us since we left early in the morning. They emailed the receipt if you choose this option.

Overall it was a great stay. Wish we could have stayed longer but I'd definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swaroopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrace, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

We were very pleased with everything at the Crockett. Location was perfect for visiting the Alamo, Riverwalk, shopping and sights. Room was nice size, very clean with all amenities. Full breakfast. Staff were exceptional in helping us find good restaurants and getting us tickets to a Spurs game. Very good price.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Menger Hotel
#30 of 354 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,199 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#12 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crockett Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crockett Hotel

Property: Crockett Hotel
Address: 320 Bonham, San Antonio, TX 78205-2083
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#42 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#57 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Crockett Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A recommended hotel in San Antonio for families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crockett Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crockett Hotel San Antonio, Texas
Crockett San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing