We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels just right.”
Review of Crockett Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crockett Hotel
Ranked #23 of 356 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Feels just right.”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We have been visiting this hotel for years for my wife's birthday. She loves the charm and simple elegance of this hotel. Staff are always friendly and helpful. You can't get any closer to The Alamo without being in the complex itself. We love visiting San Antonio, and this hotel is one of the reasons why.

Room Tip: There are rooms that face outward (street view), and rooms that have views of the inner atrium in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,908 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    935
    664
    214
    51
    44
See reviews for
458
761
95
328
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Davidson, OK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I had read many reviews before staying here. The location was great, everything was in walking distance. Our room was small and the bathroom very small, however my sister had a room with 2 beds and it was much larger, as was her bathroom. The bed was comfortable, and the breakfast was very good, a lot of variety.

Room Tip: Request a room with 2 beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Recently our family spent a night at the Crockett while we visited the Alamo and the RiverWalk. A great place to stay and directly across from the Alamo. The Continental Breakfast was ok. Just a lot of people all at once.

Room Tip: Rooms are a little on the small side but that's ok. Have everything you want in them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrockettGM, General Manager at Crockett Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Crockett Hotel.

We are thrilled to know you enjoyed our unique and historic hotel. We use our customer feedback to improve our operations and to train our dedicate team of employees.

Thanks for your comments. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I booked this hotel in hopes of a different experience than the regular chain hotels. I told the staff that it was our 40th anniversary and the rest is "history". They upgraded our room, comped our valet service and took care of us! Our room overlooked the Alamo and was a short walk to the River. Everyone that we had contact with went our of the way to take care of us. It is an old, historic building. If you are looking for modern upgrades, this might not be the place for you. If you are looking to enjoy the historic experience of San Antonio this is an amazing place!

Room Tip: If you want quiet, ask for quiet, if you want ground floor, ask.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tkcscc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killeen, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This was our second time to stay, and we brought along our son on this trip as a graduation gift. We love this hotel. The rooms are comfortable, the people are friendly and helpful. Close to the Alamo and the River Walk. I love their breakfast! I can make a Texas shaped waffle. We love staying at historic, older hotels. Would stay again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrockettGM, General Manager at Crockett Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for your return visit to the Crockett Hotel and taking the time to write a review of your stay.

We strive everyday to exceed our guests expectations and share our customers feedback with the staff as part of our efforts.

We appreciate your kind words and look forward to the next stay when your travels bring you back to the Alamo City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We recently held our family reunion at the Crockett Hotel. This property has a fascinating history and many claim that it is haunted. The rooms while small - were nicely furnished. The meeting room is where we spent most of our time - and that was a spacious area. The property is between the Alamo and the River Center Mall - so - lots of stuff to do with just a short walk. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. My only complaint - parking is at a premium downtown. So - for $23 bucks a night - the parking was pretty expensive - but then - we found a $4 parking lot within walking distance on 4th and Bonham. That was quite the savings. And just a short walk. This hotel does have a small pool and outdoor lounge area, all very tropical and relaxing.

Room Tip: If you get a room overlooking the Alamo - you can see the lighted carriages passing by at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blueigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Reasonably good place to stay in San Antonio. . The exterior of the hotel and the central courtyard reception area ( has a central skylight) are welcoming. The building is a national landmark. We paid $20 for valet parking, the same cost even if we were to park on our own within the Hotel perimeter. Free Wi-Fi available. Took a long time to check in with only two people at the reception desk However friendly staff. The rooms were clean, though obviously had their era mark. The pool is small, detached and across the hotel. We did not use it.
Breakfast was okay and was as in many other chain restaurants…. with juice, fruits, waffles, cereals, eggs and sausage. My daughter liked the Texas shaped waffle that she was able to make. The hotel has easy access to the river walk through the back door and across the mall. The Alamo is in close proximity to the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OscarWilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Menger Hotel
#26 of 356 in San Antonio
2,393 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#13 of 356 in San Antonio
1,110 reviews
East Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#19 of 356 in San Antonio
3,007 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#7 of 356 in San Antonio
3,175 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crockett Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crockett Hotel

Property: Crockett Hotel
Address: 320 Bonham, San Antonio, TX 78205-2083
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Best Value Hotel in San Antonio
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#42 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#57 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Crockett Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A recommended hotel in San Antonio for families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TravelClick, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Crockett Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crockett Hotel San Antonio, Texas
Crockett San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing