We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crockett Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$163
US$146
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Antonio Airport(San Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Gibbs Downtown San Antonio Riverwalk(San Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$145
US$130
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Omni San Antonio Hotel(San Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$177
US$162
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$196
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Best Western Alamo Suites(San Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$117
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mokara Hotel and Spa(San Antonio)
US$290
US$256
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Omni La Mansion del Rio(San Antonio)
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,171)
Filter reviews
2,170 results
Traveller rating
1,097
742
231
54
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,097
742
231
54
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsernie's bargreat locationplantation shuttersthe river walkwafflesalamo groundstortillasrivercenter mallwithin walking distancerooms are smallfresh fruitconvention centershort walkvalet parkingcomplimentary breakfasthistoric buildingan older hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,536 - 1,541 of 2,170 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We arrived after calling to alert to a late check-in and were assured we were set for a midnight arrival. So, exhausted, it was irritating to hear that the full reservation could not be found...took a bit. When found, the staff did their best to make up. Room location was great - overlooking The Alamo and the hotel history was charming, as some are saying. Unfortunately, the beds were bad - Room 503 had the hardest beds I do believe I've ever experienced. The first night I muddled through but the last two nights my husband and I got little sleep. We should have asked for a room change but we were too tired to think of it. The breakfasts were good - our little boy loved the Texas shaped waffles! Shower drained very slow so that we were standing in water each morning - we did report this one and we had to ask for soap each day. Were also a little surprised when the maid wouldn't let us get ready - we had to step to the side while she cleaned when we returned from breakfast. All first world angst, but if you are going to wish to stay at a nicer hotel, you'd like to not have to consider some of these things. Speaking of nicer hotels, it was interesting to hear folks checking in at rates significantly lower than ours...$50, $40 per night...we'll have to check coupon sites next time. Hmmm. Great to hear that the pool at The Menger is part of staying here - we were never told - my son would have loved to have known! Our 11 year old loved the hotel - the location simply can't be beat. But neither can several others. Be forewarned if you need to do some business, the free Wifi is VERY slow at night - apparently there wasn't enough juice to accommodate all guests. You'll have to return to the room in the afternoon to do business. Have to say, Emily at the front desk was exceptional! Hope she is recognized for being so.

Room Tip: Check bed quality.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank C A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrockettGM, General Manager at Crockett Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

We thank you for being our recent guest and reviewing your stay at the Crockett Hotel.

We learn a great deal from our customer reviews and use them to improve our level of product and service. We are encouraged that even though this stay had some imperfections, it is good to know that still some nice compliments to the hotel and staff were still possible.

We will work to address the issues your mentioned including the slow late-night arrival, the bed and tub situations with your room and the cause for slow WiFi during your stay. We will also speak with the housekeeping staff about allowing a returning guest some options for the timing of providing cleaning service. These conditions should all be correctable and we appreciate you letting us know about them in your review.

Thanks for your compliments to Emily, we will be sure to pass them along to her.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed here over the 4th of July weekend. Our room wasn't ready and they stored our luggage for us. Hotel is old and charming. Stayed in a double room which was quite large. There are shutters on the windows which do not do a good job blocking out the street lights and early sunlight. Our room faced the Alamo and noise was not an issue. Just the light. Elevators are small ( it is an old hotel) The buffet breakfast was good. Made my own Texas shaped waffle which was quite tasty. Hotel is in close proximity to everything. There's a mall right across the street. Valet service was quick when we checked out at 0900.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrockettGM, General Manager at Crockett Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

We appreciate you being our guest during the recent July 4th holiday.

You had a number of great comments that we will share with our staff. We use our customer
feedback to stimulate discussion amoungst our staff and to improve our product and service levels.

We are very happy that your stay a pleasant one. We agree that being in the heart of this great city, our guests are close to everything to see and do. We were glad to be your home away from home during the USA Independence Day celebrations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My second visit to the Crockett Hotel - the first being 20 years ago in my teen's. The hotel was exactly as I remember with the beautiful vaulted atrium in the entry. This time I travelled with my family and we requested a larger room with two beds since the kids (ages 7 and 4) would love the extra space to play. We arrived at 2:30 (check in was 3:00) and our room was ready - LOVED room 404. Not only did we have an excellent view of the backside of the Alamo and grounds but the room was huge! (Room 404) It was almost as if a wall was removed with the extra space we had. Four large windows with plantation shutters gave us an excellent view of the city.

The hotel pool is very lagoon-like and quite small (only 6 feet in the deep end) but with the lush greenery it is amazing to realize you are only 30 yards from the Alamo. There are privileges with the Crockett's sister hotel next door (The Menger) to use their pool which is a large 30x40 rectangular pool with depths of 9 1/2 feet, no trees or shrubs here, though, so bring the sunscreen.

A great tip - there is a back entrance into the Alamo grounds right across the street from the Crockett Hotel lobby

The Crockett has an excellent breakfast buffet each morning including eggs, sausage, refried beans and tortillas, make your own Texas waffles and a variety of fruits and breads. Service was great every morning except our last - a conference had started and the attendees had hit the buffet early leaving little for the other guests :)

The hotel has a nice bar with excellent drink prices in comparison to those on the Riverwalk. You must go next door and have at least one drink in the historic Menger Bar, too.

I must give a huge thanks to hotel staff for their amazing service - from the moment we arrived we were treated amazingly. The hotel front desk staff remembered our names and would ask us how our day was going each time they saw us!

If you are looking for a great hotel within walking distance to everything from the Alamo, RiverCenter Mall, Trolley Cars, and RiverWalk - then the Crockett Hotel is the best!

Room Tip: If booking a double room request one with more space - ours was room 404 and it included a wall of windows overlooking the backside of the Alamo and grounds.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kcpinklady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrockettGM, General Manager at Crockett Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

We would like to thank you for being our recent guest and for providing such a detailed and thorough review of your stay.

We strive every day to provide our guests with a home away from home experience. Here in the heart of our great city, we are a comfortable and convenient spot for visitors to choose.

We will share your comments with the entire team at the hotel. Thank you again for having stayed at the historic Crockett Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We just returned from our 1st "Texas" family reunion and had a wonderful time staying at The Crockett Hotel. We had many people from out of state and this location was perfect for them to see many of the historic sites around the City - especially the Alamo which was right across the street! The Hotel is historic also. There are many attractions, restaurants & shopping within walking distance. It was very easy to access the Riverwalk from this hotel. Maya in the Sales Dept was wonderful to coordinate our group block and the ENTIRE staff was so helpful for all 5 days that we were there. The breakfast was very good with lots of options. If we decide to have another reunion in San Antonio - we will definitely be contacting The Crockett Hotel first. :-)

Room Tip: You can ask for a room that overlooks the Alamo.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrockettGM, General Manager at Crockett Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for being our recent guest and for taking the time to write a review of the hotel.

We use our guest feedback to continually adjust and improve our product and services. We share with our staff in our ongoing training efforts. And by posting your review, it is shared with our future guests who are considering a visit to the Alamo City and the heart of downtown at the Crockett Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

The location is great. The look of the hotel is amazing, but we were disappointed with the room. It was so small, and the double beds were a tight squeeze. The shower kept us guessing. It kept switching from hot to cold. The breakfast was nice; waffles, eggs, fruit, and pastries. I would stay again but not in the double room. We need something bigger.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank lovelymtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrockettGM, General Manager at Crockett Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank for being our guest recently at the Crockett Hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to provide some feedback on your stay.

As a 105 year old historic, boutique hotel, we do have a variety of room types and sizes. We are sorry that the room for your stay was smaller than you would have liked. While not always possible, perhaps a room of a larger size could have been available for a room move. The staff works very hard to make accomodations for our guests if and whenever possible.

We certainly appreciate your other positive comments about the hotel and your willingness to come again when your travels bring you back to the Alamo City. We will share your comments with our staff, as well. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews