We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel -- great location, okay rooms, nothing special”
Review of Crockett Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crockett Hotel
Ranked #18 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 December 2010

This was an okay hotel. No real complaints, actually, but nothing really stood out in a positive sense either. Professional and friendly staff. The room was okay for size, fairly clean (though could be better), and had basic amenities. Breakfast was not very inspiring: plastic cutlery and cardboard plates, not a great selection of food. All in all, I'd (just) recommend it, as it's fairly good value at these rates.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R_Vosters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,975)
There are newer reviews for Crockett Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,789 - 1,795 of 1,975 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2010

The hotel itself was pretty average. I was paying over 200 dollars per night and expected more. It is right in the center of everything so it was great in that respect. Some of my friends stayed for much less at other places (less than 100 dollars) and other than the location, no much was different.

Breakfast buffet was very nice, much better than a bargain hotel. The parking situation is decent, at a cost. You can park right in front of the hotel for something like 18 dollars per night. You can get the car whenever you want, as many times, for no additional cost.

Room was average - no refrigerator or microwave, no couch. Just two beds, bathroom, and a desk.

Staff was very friendly.

For over 500 dollars for really two nights (tax, parking, hotel fees), I expected more. I stayed at the Drury last time for much less and this was the same almost other than the location.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkram727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2010

Theservice was excellent. Friendly and helpful staff. Room was larger than expected and very comfortable. We were facing Alamo. Very quiet. Hotel ambience was very pleasing. The breakfast was tasty and plentiful for our tastes. We were very close to all attractions. Trolly stops a block away. We got the $4/day hop on hop off pass at the visitor center anode trolleys for sights farther out. The only issue we had was parking for $18.50/day. Thought that was a bit expensive.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mb58g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2010

Older hotel - refurbished. Rooms small but clean and comfortable. Hotel staff courteous/efficient. Adjacent to the Alamo and roughly 5 minutes walk from the center of the Riverwalk (closest access through the Hyatt). Only real complaint we had was a noisy air conditioning unit in the room.

Good choice if you're looking or value lodging near the Riverwalk.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trvlx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2010

We stayed at this hotel for Labor Day weekend. At first I was nervous about some of the reviews, but we found this hotel to be outstanding in every way. The location is absolutely perfect!! Our room literally looked over the Alamo wall. The hotel does offer valet parking, but the RiverCenter self park garage is right across the street if you prefer that. Because of their relationship with the Emily Morgan hotel, we were able to use their pool and fitness center as well. The hotel is very beautiful, the rooms were large and spacious, the decor was elegant, and the bathroom was a nice size for 2 people. The hotel is in walking distance to the Alamo, Mercado, River Center, Alamodome, and Riverwalk. In addition, the hotel is right off the freeway if you are traveling to Fiesta or Sea World. I would DEFINITELY stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank candymr_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

My husband and I reallly enjoyed our stay at the Crockett. This was our 3rd trip to San Antonio and our first stay at the Crockett. We were there for our anniversary. Eduardo at the front desk really took care of us. He upgraded our room to a suite and personally brought a bottle of champaign to our room. The room was awesome. Very spacious with great bay windows. We were just a 2 minute walk from the Riverwalk. Also, they only charge approximately $19 to park, which is about $10 cheaper than other places we've stayed. They offer complimentary wireless connection too. Also, my husband had forgotten his toothbrush, so we had to ask where to get one and they gave us one complimentary....these might be small things to some people but we really appreciated not having to pay for every little thing, like some hotels have you do. Overall, this was a pretty hotel in a great location with wonderful staff....(and affordable prices)... Can't beat that.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelThib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

We stayed in this hotel for a recent meeting. We had to move 3 times from the rooms due to the noise level. The first room was right in front of the elevator and the beeping noise was problematic. The second room was right in front of a loud ice making machine and we got moved right away to another room. The staff was able to move us around no problem. The staff was nice and accommodating. The breakfast is very basic. The eggs (scrambled) were lukewarm to cold, waffles, fruit, yogurt, coffee, salsa for the eggs. Plastic ware and plastic dishes . The room was clean, coffee provided. The rooms have a problem with the showers draining well--The water backs up and does not drain well. I have seen this comment in other reviews. We did not mention this to the staff but it was a problem in the first and last room we stayed. The location of this hotel is good right in front of the Alamo and the River Center.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petvetcookies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Menger Hotel
#24 of 358 in San Antonio
2,482 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 358 in San Antonio
3,094 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#11 of 358 in San Antonio
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 358 in San Antonio
3,106 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#8 of 358 in San Antonio
3,217 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crockett Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crockett Hotel

Address: 320 Bonham, San Antonio, TX 78205-2083
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#42 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#57 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: £87 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Crockett Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A recommended hotel in San Antonio for families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Crockett Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crockett Hotel San Antonio, Texas
Crockett San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing