We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel for the price”
Review of Crockett Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Crockett Hotel
Ranked #23 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel for the price”
Reviewed 19 January 2011

I booked this hotel on Hotwire for $51 a night. I think for everything we got a really great deal. Quick check in. The lobby smelled like an ashtray...but that's the only place. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was included. Fruit, waffles, eggs, pastries. The hotel was close to Riverwalk and literally right across the street from the Alamo. We also heard firetrucks...but that's the city. I would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank auvixen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,813 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    879
    637
    206
    49
    42
See reviews for
422
727
93
313
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (459)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2011

The hotel is right next to the Alamo, one block from the Riverwalk Mall and river. Check in was quick, room very clean, bed very uncomfortable to be a pillowtop mattress. Breakfast was good with a variety of selections, waffles, eggs, yogart, fresh fruit, cold cereal, bagels. This hotel is one block from a fire station, heard fire trucks and ambulances all night. There is a parking fee that was not advertised.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moncie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrockettGM, General Manager at Crockett Hotel, responded to this review, 19 January 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Crockett Hotel. We use our guest reviews to constantly refine our operations and for training for our staff to continually improve. Our guest satisfaction is our first priority!

We really appreciate your positive comments about our great location, cleanliness and our free breakfast that is included in all of our room rates.

We were completely renovated in 2006-07 and all beds were brand new at that time. We will look to see if there was some problem with the bed in your room which caused it to be so uncomfortable.

Available parking in downtown San Antonio is limited and virtually no free parking options exist. We own our parking lot and staff it 24/7. Being right next to the Alamo, it a very popular lot and does require a fee. Overnight parking with unlimited in/out is $20 per day.

Thank you once again for your comments. We welcome your return visit to the Crockett Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 10 January 2011

The only people who were nice and welcoming at the Hotel were the security guards, and the Bar Tender! The Morning desk clerk acted like she didn't care whether you stayed or not, and the valet crew rushed you to get you out of the way! Also no where on the information prior to me booking the hotel did it say you would be charged $20 a night to park in an open parking lot... For that amount it should be a covered parkign garage with 24hr security!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fannie08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2011

I chose this hotel for a conference at half the price of the Marriott Riverwalk. It was right next door and great value. The room was bright and pleasant with a view of the Alamo. The shutters make the rooms pleasant and bright. Breakfast was no great treat but adequate (eggs salsa fruit etc). The bar is okay for beer and football but check out the Menger next door for a real bar. If you're in San Antonio for a meeting or pleasure definitely check this out for location, value, and nice rooms in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rockriverbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Garden, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2011

The Crockett, located across the street from the Alamo and the Rivercenter Mall is an easy 10 minute walk from Riverwalk and the Tower of America. No need to rent a car and face exorbitant parking fees since everything is within easy reach by foot, bus, or trolley. Our lodging was clean and well appointed. The staff was friendly and helpful. No restaurant in house, but that's what the Riverwalk area is for. The Crockett is not one of the newer, glitzier facilities in the area, but it fully met our needs at half the cost.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank revharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fargo, North Dakota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2011

Good location and great service, not to overwhelming!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyFargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 December 2010

It's not fancy fancy, but it's lovely lovely. My husband had a conference at the hotel across the street from the Crockett, and I wish we had stayed here instead of at the convention center (which offered no breakfast, and no internet access without a hefty daily fee). After the conference we stayed in San Antonio a couple of days and loved this hotel. It was quiet, clean, and quaint. The staff is friendly and helpful, the lobby has old photographs of the city, the breakfast wasn't great, but ok - a varied selection but the plastic and paper plates felt a little cheap. The room was maybe a little rough around the edges (the faucet could be tightened - nothing major), but it was clean and comfortable. If we go back to SA we will stay here.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bloostravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Menger Hotel
#26 of 354 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,266 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#12 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crockett Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crockett Hotel

Property: Crockett Hotel
Address: 320 Bonham, San Antonio, TX 78205-2083
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#42 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#57 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Crockett Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A recommended hotel in San Antonio for families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Crockett Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crockett Hotel San Antonio, Texas
Crockett San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing