We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Sea World
Ranked #122 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not recommended”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

The stay was a disappointment. We like to stay at Holiday Inns but this didn't compare to the others. We stayed 4 nights. Positive side was the breakfast. The negative was that the room looked dirty from the get go. The walls all had scuff marks, the carpets didn't look vacuumed, the bed sheets were stained, and the additional room didn't have its own bathroom. Our sheets were never changed. The last day our room was not even cleaned. The excuse was that we left personal items on bed. But that did not give reason to not leave any towels, to not vacuum, or to not leave toilet paper.
We liked the proximity to Sea World and the tv was really clear. The front desk and breakfast employees were nice, but the rooms and housekeeping disappointed.
We will not come back to this one next time we come to San Antonio.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcarelisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canderson1, Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Sea World, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We take all feedback seriously and sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations. I would like to personally let you know that corrections have been made to ensure that these incidents will not occur again. We appreciate your business and hope you continue to use Holiday Inn Express in your future travel needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    80
    36
    15
    24
See reviews for
154
20
4
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pendleton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

Well let me start by saying I have stayed here before and man how a place can change. Two years ago we stayed here for my sons Air Force graduation and wow, this place has gone down hill. It looks like they have new owners and they went the other direction with cleanness. When we walked up the garbage in front of the hotel was overflowing. The room was somewhat clean but the garbage area in the bathroom was dirty from drinks splashing on the wall. The staff was nice the price was right and its 10 min from Lackland AFB. Here's the thing some of the other places are really really dumpy so not to many options. So theirs my two cents.

Room Tip: Ask for the Lackland graduation discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alex m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Sea World, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Dear Mugen456,

Thank you so much for your candid review of our hotel. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay and for the cleanliness of the hotel that did not meet your expectations. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnson City, Tennessee
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

I am staying in this hotel now. The Internet in the lobby is FAST. The Internet in the room is almost nonexistent. No Internet is not frustrating. A promised Internet that doesn't work is frustrating beyond expression. It is literally impossible to work from the room via the Internet.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReggieWe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Sea World, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Dear ReggieWe

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry about the internet connection. We will look into this point.We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to ensure complete guest satisfaction. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

We stayed at this hotel before and after an event at the hotel in early Feb 2013. The hotel looks great, but our experience was one of the worst in recent memory.

Although the front desk people were really friendly, there was something about the hotel's procedure that made them clueless. It had to be the hotel's fault; there were just to many incidences and too many people involved for it not to be. The biggest snafu was with the group (of only two) room assignment. There's too much to chronicle here, but I've never seen something that should have been so simple go so wrong.

There are no room safes. That is such an oversight for a hotel this new. Usually we can get our laptop, iPads, pocketbook, wallets, watches and jewelry all in a skinny wall safe. There is the requisite sign in the room to not leave valuables in your room or car. Go to the (clueless) front desk for access to a safety deposit box. The boxes are long and skinny. Apparently meant to hold jewelry, not the $1000s of electronic equipment people are likely to carry around with them these days. I resorted to locking it all up in my trunk during the party. I guess someone could break in, but they can in the room too and at least I'm the only one with a key to the car. They charged what they said was a $25 key deposit and then thought I was crazy when I wanted a receipt proving that I returned it (I put a bunch o cash in one for my sister). Later when I checked my credit card bill, the authorize was for $75. Geez.

My sister's a/c didn't work at first. They eventually fixed it while we were out, but they had to get ready being uncomfortable. They kept coming over to our room to stand over the a/c. Her door also wouldn't close unless you slammed it really hard. If you just let it close, it sounded like it locked, but it didn't. Good thing she checked the first time. And then later all her keys were wiped. And they gave me 4 new ones and only 1 one those worked. Back and forth to the far away room 3x in a formal dress and heels. Fun.

Sum it up:

Room assignments messed up
No place to keep valuables safe
A/C didn't work
Door didn't lock intermittently
Keys didn't work

That's a lot to go wrong at one stay at a hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Sea World, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear barbja,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
208 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

We were there over spring break, so prices were high. Room was big, but for some reason they booked us in a handicapped accessible room without a bath, and the guy at the desk didn't offer to look for anything else. We look for indoor pools, and though they had one, the room was so hot that it wasn't comfortable to stay there for long. My kids liked the breakfast - good muffins and pancakes and cinnamon rolls. Location is good - easy to get anywhere in SA from this spot, but nothing special nearby in terms of restaurants, etc.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasMargs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Sea World, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear TexasMargs,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate that you find our location to be convenient and for the nice comment regarding breakfast.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding customer service and the room air conditioning. we will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

The room was very clean, frontdesk very nice. We received a welcome package (bag with some goodies) as Priority Club members.

I would enjoy better breakfast, but still good value for the price. It is standard HI Express selection.

Wight next to the hotel is famous Roadhouse Texas bar/restaurant, but it was so crowded with more people waiting outside than actually being inside.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HasimirF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canderson1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Sea World, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you for your review and we hope to see you in your future travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013 via mobile

Only thing we had problems with is the elevator didn't work the day we arrived but was fixed a few hour later. The breakfast isnt served early enough for people that have graduation plans so we didn't get in on that

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kshuskeroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ttribby, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Sea World, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We have every desire to address your needs and provide the best solution available to resolve your issue as soon as possible. Our company aims to consistently deliver a professional service to our customers. Again, we highly appreciate your feedback as it will assist us in becoming better at what we do. As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied customer. It’s our goal to retain you as a satisfied customer and hope to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Northwest Side
Comfort Suites Near Seaworld
Comfort Suites Near Seaworld
#160 of 354 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Northwest Side
Courtyard San Antonio SeaWorld/Lackland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Far West Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio NW - Seaworld Area
Northwest Side
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio NW Near Seaworld
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#201 of 354 in San Antonio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Sea World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Sea World

Property: Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Sea World
Address: 2861 Cinema Ridge, San Antonio, TX 78238
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northwest Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Sea World 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Sea World reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Seaworld Hotel San Antonio
Holiday Inn San Antonio
Holiday Inn Sea World
San Antonio Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Sea World Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing