We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great surprise!”
Review of Hotel Contessa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Contessa
Ranked #5 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Fantastic staty! Beautiful boutique hotel, large rooms with plenty of counter space, comfy couch, and view. Rooftop pool wasn't huge, but it didn't need to be. You wouldn't think this hotel is child and pet friendly by appearance, but it is. Happy hour was delightful! The only thing that seemed out of character was out room service breakfast. Poor presentation, and incorrect description in the menu. Does not meet what contessa standard seem to be. Park across the street for $15/ day. Lastly, talk to Rosie the concierge! She's great!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buldan85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCGM, General Manager at Hotel Contessa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2011

I are glad you enjoyed our facilities and happy hour. I appreciate all that you wrote and appreciate your comments about your dissatisfaction with the breakfast from IRD. Rest assured that these have been shared with the Food & Beverage management. I have shared your reivew with Rosie, Concierge and are happy she assisted you during your stay.

We look forward to your return visit


Sincerely,
Wende Blumberg-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,825 - 2,831 of 3,296 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2011

We stayed at this hotel for one day. Hotel was clean and pleasant. Didnot like the outdoor pool, it was on rooftop and too small, not inviting. Service was very good, staff kind and polite. Rooms clean, large outstanding, beds were very comfortable and clean. All in all it was ok, its located on Riverwalk, nice location. Paid parking nearby, quite convenient, $15 daily. hotel walk away from alamo, museum of wax and restaurants. has an expensive spa also. Good AC.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dalsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCGM, General Manager at Hotel Contessa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2011

We are glad you enjoyed your short visit at Hotel Contessa and we hope the next time you are in the area you will get to enjoy more of of the hotel facilities. We look forward to your future stay

Sincerely,
Wende Blumberg-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

I would like to tell everyone that everything about this hotel is amazing. We stay here every year for our ann. This year we r unable to due to major medical and financial problems. But if it weren't for that wed b there, this hotel should be visited by everyone atleast once. We will never stay anywhere else again. Every time we have gone we have been remembered by name and that means a lot. Amazing.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelhard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCGM, General Manager at Hotel Contessa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2011

Thank you for recommending us to others and for your continured patronage. We look forward to having you as a guest again soon.

Sincerely,
Wende Blumberg-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

My husband & I have stayed here several times. Love the room layout with separate living area. Had to make a quick solo trip & brought a friend with me. She usually stays at a major chain on the river and could not believe what she has been missing...she will be at the Contessa in the future!

Room Tip: My trip was last-minute--got best rate via phone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HouTexCindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCGM, General Manager at Hotel Contessa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2011

We appreciate and thank you for taking the time to write all about your quick last minute trip. We are happy to hear that you and your friend enjoyed your visit to Hotel Contessa and look forward to futrue visits.

Sincerely,
Wende Blumberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

The hotel was nice and so was the staff. But I will never return due to their valet service. They damaged my car, and have refused to pay for the repairs. I cannot get a hold of anyone except the location manager, who is nice, but only says that I have to talk to the claims department, who won't answer, or return, phone calls.
The internet service is available, but spotty at best.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annasimms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCGM, General Manager at Hotel Contessa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2011

I thank you for the constructive thoughts you have shared on your review. I apologize for your mishaps with valet. Everyone in our hospitality industry desires to provide their guests with a quality product and outstanding service, and reading through your comments I can see why you would be less than happy with your stay.

Without your feedback, we cannot continue to make improvements.

Sincerely,
Wende Blumberg-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

We just returned from a long weekend in San Antonio and stayed at the Contessa. The property is located on the Riverwalk and is very clean and well maintained. I was disappointed in the service, however and experienced the following:
-when we checked in I asked for extra hangers. We waited around and no on ever came so we went to dinner. When we returned we still didn't have hangers so another phone call and another wait before we got them.
-the next afternoon when we returned from a city tour, our keys did not work. We went downstairs and the clerk recharged them with no explanation, no apology. We later found out from an employee that the system had gone down and had to be worked on. He'd noticed about 8 other people coming down to get their keys redone.
-we never received a paper even though we were promised a USA Today.

Are these major problems? No - but it's the little foxes that spoil the grapes and I expect more from a Four Diamond hotel.

Special thanks to Joseph, the Concierge and Steve the Bellman for making our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mamanem2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCGM, General Manager at Hotel Contessa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2011

In reading your review, while I appreciate your comments about the cleanliness of the hotel facilities, I was disappointed to hear about your experience with the lack of service you recieved upon requesting additional hangers as well as the issue with your room keys. We strive to accomodate our guest needs and I can see that we did not meet your expectations. We hope you will give us a second chance in the near future. Thank you for your feedback.


Sincerely,
Wende Blumberg-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

This hotel was amazing. Beautiful public areas and beautiful rooms. The location on the Riverwalk was perfect. We have stayed many places in San Antonio, but we will definitely be back at the Hotel Contessa! The rooftop pool is the best, and don't miss the amazing, unique drinks at the bar.

Room Tip: We loved the King Suite. It was 800 square feet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kararoberson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCGM, General Manager at Hotel Contessa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2011

I am happy you had a wonderful time while visiting Hotel Contessa and we appreciate you choosing us for your stay. Thank you for writing in your review about about the amazing drinks at the bar. We look forward to your return visit.


Sincerely,
Wende Blumberg-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#7 of 357 in San Antonio
3,161 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#24 of 357 in San Antonio
4,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#17 of 357 in San Antonio
3,237 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 357 in San Antonio
1,572 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Contessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Contessa

Address: 306 W Market St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2953
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#2 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#12 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: £127 - £315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Contessa 4*
Number of rooms: 265
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Contessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Contessa Hotel San Antonio
Contessa San Antonio
Hotel Contessa San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing