We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous, charming and intimate”
Review of Hotel Contessa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Contessa
Ranked #6 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 19 July 2011

My husband and I stayed one night at the Hotel Contessa to celebrate our 5th anniversary on the Riverwalk. The hotel is beautiful and charming with lots of character. The room was cozy and felt more like home than a typical hotel. We got the king suite with river view. You get a lot for your money here because the room is very spacious and upscale while the price reflects something more like a small mid-grade room at a hotel chain. The view of the river was lovely but it might have been nicer if it was off the living room rather than the bedroom because the curtains had to be closed most of the time. The room was well decorated and the exposed brick wall was such a nice touch. Everything was clean and the bed was so comfortable. We both slept perfectly all night. The location of this hotel is perfect for the Riverwalk attractions and others such as the Alamo. We had drinks in the hotel bar at Happy Hour before dinner. I recommend the sangria both red and white! All of the staff are friendly and helpful. Our room was very quiet even with all of the bustle below on the Riverwalk. The rooftop pool was really nice but very crowded. That is to be expected in July though. We didn't use the spa but it looked quite nice and the prices weren't too bad for a hotel spa. We would definitely stay here again. I don't think we'd spring for the river view again but that is just a personal preference. Pets are allowed here for a fee and they even have gourmet dog biscuits on the mini bar! The free internet was a huge plus because most hotels charge about $15 a night for that. The room service menu had a lot to choose from and the mini bar also had a lot more choices for drinks and snacks than most hotels. The toiletries were of a much higher quality than most so don't bother bringing your own soap and shampoo. This will definitely be our go-to hotel for future Riverwalk stays. We loved it!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank navy_wife7606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCGM, General Manager at Hotel Contessa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2011

We appreciate and thank you for taking the time to write all about your wonderful experience while staying at Hotel Contessa. We are very impressed with the level of detail you have provided in your review. We are very pleased that we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to having you as guest in the future.

Thank you again for your wonderful review.

Sincerely,
Wende Blumberg-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,761 - 2,767 of 3,239 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2011

What a great place to stay. Hotel Contessa is located directly on the riverwalk providing easy access to restaurants, bars and shopping. The room was immaculate and tastefully decorated, something you would expect for twice the price. Highly recommend the Riverwalk View rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nofishissafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCGM, General Manager at Hotel Contessa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2011

I can see you had a wonderful time while visiting San Antonio and we appreciate you choosing Hotel Contessa for your stay. Thank you for recommending us to others as well. We look forward to having you as a guest in the future.


Sincerely,
Wende Blumberg-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

This is our hotel when planning gatherings. This last stay was for a friend's 40th birthday party. We ate at the resturant on the river walk on the first night as people were coming in at different times. It is primarly a topas type place. I also ate their buffet for breakfast and everything was fresh.

The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. I like the sitting area each room has. This allows you to have a place to have others over without sitting on your beds. My only complaint is that the sink, toliet and shower are all in the bathroom. When you have multiple people staying in a room it is nice to have the sink on the outside of the shower. Small compliant. Valet parking was fast and easy. I never had to wait more than 5 minutes for my car. Front desk was nice and friendly for the many questions we had.

We will be staying here again. Probably not being using the pull out coach for anyone but children moving forward but that is typical.

Pool and fitness area are on the top floors and seem nice. Pool a tad small but fitness room above average for a hotel.

Thanks for a great weekend.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Me9247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCGM, General Manager at Hotel Contessa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2011

We always appreciate hearing from our guests regarding their experience while staying at the Hotel Contessa and I appreciate your comments about the friendliness of the staff and nice facilities. We look forward to having you as guest in the future.

Sincerely,
Wende Blumberg-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

we read several reveiws and chose The Contessa ... could of picked much worst ... only thing here that made it unpleasant was building construction next door that started at 6:30 am each morning even sunday and a real stupid room service who called at 1:30 am to ask if we had ordered a camera cord.. seems they misplaced correct room number.. stupid.. otherwise really nice overall , great room, view not to good (once again due to construction), coffee in Las Ramblas was awful, only reason we ate there it was hotel way of compensating for stupid roomservice phone call ... i think it is worth another chance

Room Tip: avoid ice machine noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jl-jj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCGM, General Manager at Hotel Contessa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2011

I had a chance to review the survey that you recently completed. I was concerned to hear about your experience with the call you recieved by mistake in the middle of the night. I am glad you were compensated for the issue. I have also shared your comments about the coffee in the restaurant with our Restaurant Management.

Once again, I apologize that we did not provide a better experience, we will always strive to do better, and I thank you for the constructive thoughts you shared on your review.

Sincerely,
Wende Blumberg-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Contessa for two nights. It's nice when we can find a room that sleeps a family of five for a reasonable price! Likely because it is low season (?) we paid about $135/night for our suite which overlooked the city and not the river.

Our 14 year old twins said the sofa bed wasn't that comfortable, but for two nights it was fine. The double beds in the bedroom were very comfortable. Wifi internet was available at no charge, which was nice. Hotel parking is a bit on the expensive side - we parked our rental car at the public lot across the street - noticed later that there is a lot of public parking close by with a variety of prices.

The room is lovely, very nicely decorated and the staff was friendly and helpful. My husband and I enjoyed the evening "Happy Hour" in the downstairs bar. We also ate at the hotel restaurant, Las Ramblas, one evening - the paella was delicious.

The hotel is perfectly located on a quiet part of the riverwalk, and is an easy walk from The Alamo. It was our first time in San Antonio and being right on the riverwalk in such a nice hotel really made the trip a special one for us!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dognamedrudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCGM, General Manager at Hotel Contessa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2011

I can see you had a wonderful time while visiting San Antonio and we appreciate you choosing Hotel Contessa for your stay. We appreciate you comments and look forward to having you return on your next visit.

Sincerely,
Wende Blumberg-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Hotel Contessa is a beautiful hotel in a great location. You will have access to the riverwalk and the city streets-- just a few blocks from Hard Rock Cafe', Landry's seafood, and other great restaurants. The rooms are nicely appointed and spacious and feature a living area with faux brick wall, flat screen TVs, pretty bathroom, comfortable beds and pillows. You do not need to bring your pillows/blankets from home at this place! Don't expect a true "river view" with a balcony, though. Very few of their rooms actually look directly onto the river. While we could see the river from our room, we could also see the street, and unfortunately, the bed faced a building, not the river (poor planning on their part). The room we first checked into was on the 12th floor, and the corner of the river that we could see looked like a speck below us (this was unacceptable, so we switched to the other room on the 5th floor, which was much more comfortable). The rooftop pool/spa are small, and we didn't swim; however, the city view from the roof is very nice, and we enjoyed the cool breeze up there at night. Their bell hops are pretty nice, but of course you feel obligated to tip everyone who does anything for you; drinks are expensive, and parking is $15 for self-park, $28 for valet, so bring your wallet! Overall, the hotel is comfortable and pretty, and we would recommend it and stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fleursdelis11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

This was our second visit to Hotel Contessa. A lovely refuge on the riverwalk away from the busy tourist area of San Antonio. The hotel is modern and attractive. The staff is professional and friendly, even on a typical crazy busy weekend in June. The rooms are big and comfortable. Usually the rooms (and the hotel) are spotless clean, but we had an issue in the bathroom, I don't think this was typical. I would stay here again and recommend it. We don't use valet parking at $30 a day, there is a city garage across the street.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daetime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCGM, General Manager at Hotel Contessa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2011

I appreciate your comments about the friendliness of the staff and nice facilities. We appreciate your continued patronage and look forward to having you return on your next visit to San Antonio.


Sincerely,
Wende Blumberg-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#5 of 358 in San Antonio
3,112 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#21 of 358 in San Antonio
3,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#18 of 358 in San Antonio
3,133 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 358 in San Antonio
1,536 reviews
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#13 of 358 in San Antonio
2,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Contessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Contessa

Address: 306 W Market St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2953
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#13 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: £145 - £299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Contessa 4*
Number of rooms: 265
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Contessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Contessa Hotel San Antonio
Contessa San Antonio
Hotel Contessa San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing