We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location. Super hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Contessa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Contessa
Ranked #11 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location. Super hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

We went on a recommendation and are very glad we did. The location on the Riverwalk was ideal. Our suite was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. On a cold winter's day the pool at 84 degrees together with the jacuzzi was a great place to relax after a visit to the Alamo which was a short walk away. We were well looked after by the very attentive staff when we went for our buffet breakfast with a good choice of food. Given the opportunity to be in San Antonio again we would love to make a return visit. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had a suite overlooking the Riverwalk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BEECUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,042 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,033
    633
    189
    103
    84
See reviews for
784
1,003
68
668
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (851)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013 via mobile

I stayed there for a week and was pleased each day with the hotel. A little secret is the heated pool at the top of the hotel with great ambiance, overlooking the skyline. Do yourself a favor and take in a sunset up there. Fantastic.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tluther22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai Region, China
Level Contributor
143 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

Just stayed for one day with my family, but it was enough to see that is well located in the middle of the action in downtown.
Rooms are nice, big (separate living room from the beds) this is a really cool feature if you have kids so they have enough room to run around, free wifi.
Only downside that I can see is that the parking is $30 USD/day, but you can easily park your car across the street on an open parking space operated by Central were you'll pay $15 USD/day.
Almost everything is walking distance for sighseeing.
Hotel Restaurant named Las Ramblas is rated as one of the best around, even when I didn't have the chance to try it due to lack of time, I did go through their menu and location and looks really nice.
Staff is friendly, the even supported my request of having a nice located room were we can enjoy the view so they ended up giving me a top floor room (12th) that really had a nice view of the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor if available to enjoy the view of the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank okumare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

We have stayed at the Hotel Contessa numerous times and we will not stay any where else. The hotel is impeccably clean. You can guarantee a restful night whether you are on vacation or business. The entire staff is polite and accommodating and will make your stay extremely comfortable. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bernice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

What it comes down to is that I would definitely stay here again. I stayed here in December 2012 and what really surprised by the style and comfort of this hotel. I booked this hotel because of the price (under $150/night), location and because it was different. My husband and I were was not disappointed in any real way. I had a "Cityview King Suite" and my room looked just like the pictures on their website. Another reviewer commented on the lower/street level floors, so I requested an upper floor and received an 8th floor room. We arrived early (around 2 pm) and our room was not available, so they offered to call us when the room was ready, which ended up being less than one hour. We opted for the valet parking because of an event going on downtown and did not want to mess with a parking garage, however there are a couple public garages very nearby if you want to save a few bucks. Very clean room. Very comfortable bed and pillows. Staff extremely efficient and kind. The only criticism would be the furniture in the living area of the guest room - the sofa and chair cushions were very hard. Other than that - happy wife, happy life!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lullow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

We really enjoyed this hotel and the location was perfect overall. However, we found it too cold to sit in the bar area and were disappointed by the breakfast particularly as on our journey through Texas we had stayed at 2 and 3 star hotels and they offered a better choice particularly in the bread area.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 10th Floor and this was fine and lifts very very quick
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Valena18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

We'd never been to San Antonio before, however we were very pleasantly surprised with how great this hotel was! We initially arrived at 10am after an early flight, and didn't think we would be able to check in yet, however we were given a room on the spot!

Our room was great, very spacious and clean with a decadent bathroom! Breakfast in the restaurant was delicious and very well priced, with the one exception being the questionable looking (and smelling) smoked salmon from the breakfast buffet.

Staff were very helpful, and willing to do anything to make the stay more comfortable- a special shout out to the girl at the front desk who helped us out a couple of times (can't remember her name, but she had only been there a week, and we were asking some pretty difficult questions!)

All in all, I would definitely come back here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the common areas, as there is an atrium style lobby which means the hotel i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rangatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,471 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Contessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Contessa

Property: Hotel Contessa
Address: 306 W Market St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2953
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#13 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Contessa 4*
Number of rooms: 265
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Contessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Contessa Hotel San Antonio
Contessa San Antonio
Hotel Contessa San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing