We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful!!!”
Review of Hotel Contessa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Contessa
Ranked #11 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful!!!”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

My husband and I were required to stay here through our work. We loved it and would certainly return again in the near future.

The rooms were beautiful. Updated and fresh.... Clean, relaxing and very spacious!

The lobby was large with many areas to relax and read a book, play a game with the family, etc....

You can walk right through the doors of the hotel right onto the river walk. Perfect location! We were able to walk to the restaurants and shops as well as the Alamo! There are great family activities across the street from the Alamo as well, all in walking distance!

The people working at the hotel were very kind and accommodating. No complaints! I enjoyed every min of my trip!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorcul10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,080 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,060
    641
    190
    104
    85
See reviews for
791
1,019
68
678
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (860)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Henryville, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We stayed here for a week and loved this Hotel. From the moment we checked in until we left we were treated like royalty. The pool and hot tub were great. The staff was extremely friendly. We only had appetizers in the restaurant, and they were extremely good. The happy hour at the bar was great. Our only complaints would be that for such a nice place, they buy the cheapest toilet paper possible, and for rooms with suites, they should really have a refrigerator, but instead the refrigerator is a "mini-bar" only. Sorry, but I'm not paying $5 for a tiny bottle of booze when there are two liquor stores within a block.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room away from the elevators!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2dogsports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

2nd stay at this hotel for thanksgiving. Front desk and bell service excellent. Restaurant not so much..... Poor service, kids got their meals 30 mins before ours arrived. When it did arrive, steak was cold and wife's dish was very poor. As the kids eat for free, the restaurant was a big pull for us to come back for a second trip. Very disappointing. Something changed in the last year. Again, great hotel and location, but slipping a bit. Also - what happened to the fruit in the bowl in the foyer ? Went for breakfast this AM and they were unable to seat our party of 5. As we waited, another family of 5 walked up and got seated straight away. Absolutely clue less receptionist, wait staff and the food is mediocre at best.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank froggy72x4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Contessa, General Manager at Hotel Contessa, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear Fraser123456,
We thank you for returning to our hotel for a second visit however we are terribly sorry that Las Ramblas fell short of your expectations. It is very disappointing to hear that both the food and the service were lacking. We will use your critique to address these points internally with our restaurant team. As for the hotel, you will be pleased to know that we are now beginning a full renovation of the hotel and we will have completely new rooms by mid-year 2014. We hope that you will perhaps return again and depart our hotel with a much more favorable impression and experience.
Les Utley
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richwood, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Hotel Contessa was picked by the wedding party for guests attending a wedding at the Rio Plaza around the corner. This location is right on the River Walk and is a great place to stay. The staff was fantastic from Maintenance, housekeeping, valet and front desk. Every single employee would always greet you with a smile and make sure your stay was perfect. The rooms are first quality and I enjoyed my two day stay. I have always have trouble in the hotels with the bed quality, but the beds here were perfect and I slept solid for a change. The Cork Bar was great along with Las Ramblas. I will recommend it to all that have a chance to head to San Antonio for the weekend.
Jo L.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thechipster34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yoakum, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2013

My wife and I had never stayed in a hotel of this style. It was our 35th anniversary and we felt we needed to treat ourselves to something special. We were not disappointed in the least. The hotel staff was excellent and helpful with any issues that came up. The room was more than I expected. I had booked a city-view room but on arrival our room was not ready. The desk clerk gave us a river-view room instead. This room was very comfortable and quiet. Our anniversary dinner in the restaurant Las Ramblas was perfect. My wife and I felt very appreciated by the staff and this just made our stay the best we ever had. We will be returning to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROBERT D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We were very pleased with this upscale property, including the price we paid. The suites were clean and updated and were a nice alternative to the typical hotel room. We especially loved the location, right at the south end of the Riverwalk. The entire staff - from the concierge to the housekeepers - was very helpful and efficient. We enjoyed the Cork Bar.

About the only suggestion we would have for the management is to improve the WiFi service. The speed was quite slow and we had a lot of drops. It was OK for email, though, and it was free.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SeattleSunDevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryland0424
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We chose this hotel for a convention stay because of the reviews, of course. Although the room was clean, spacious, a number of maintenance issues which should have been notice by the housekeeping staff, were very annoying. Upon check in, the television would not work, the radio/clock would not work, an outlet the bathroom was broken and the a/c could not be adjusted. Everything except for the a/c was eventually fix.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teacher0424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#20 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,557 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Contessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Contessa

Property: Hotel Contessa
Address: 306 W Market St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2953
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#13 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Contessa 4*
Number of rooms: 265
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Contessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Contessa Hotel San Antonio
Contessa San Antonio
Hotel Contessa San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing