We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick stay, great value”
Review of Hotel Contessa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Contessa
Ranked #8 of 356 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Quick stay, great value”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We only stayed one night on our last night of a week travelling around Texas from the uk.
The room was lovely, with a sitting area, and lovely big bathroom and very comfy bed.
Location as great.
We parked in a nearby car park which was really easy, and much cheaper than the valet parking.
For the money it was great value.
The only downsides were that the sofa in the room had a few stains on it to the extent I didn't want to sit on it.
The man on reception was not overly helpful in ensuring our bags came down as quickly as we needed them, infact he didn't seem to care at all!
Apart from these things I would recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natk38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,143
    651
    192
    105
    87
See reviews for
829
1,053
68
690
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (893)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grapevine, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

The suites were remarkably spacious and comfortable, service (including front desk and concierge) was gracious and helpful, the Riverwalk setting is lovely. The "in-room bar" is foolishly expensive (perhaps no more so than other hotels of this class) but bottles of wine and snacks are available at nearby retail stores. Wi-fi was included in the room price, and worked flawlessly. It happens that we were in San Antonio during unseasonably cold weather, and the open lower level of the hotel (which includes a bar with comfortable, scattered sitting areas) was too chilly for relaxing - seemingly an architectural flaw, since the front doors opened frequently allowing cold air to pour down into the area. However, that's the only flaw our family found!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank TheDane_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here last year and we liked it. Location, room and service so we decided to stay here again this year and boy were we disappointed. First the Room wasn't available despite paying the $40 early check in fee. Then they ran our credit card incorrectly during check in & hounded us with phone calls at 830pm (after we ordered room service) and again at 7 am demanding that we come down with the card. TV in bedroom & phone in living area didn't work. Hair dryer didn't work and they didn't have anymore to replace it with! Bad breakfast buffet.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank scubaguyUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Contessa, General Manager at Hotel Contessa, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear ScubaguyUsa,
We appreciate you taking time to share your experience with us and sincerely apologize for the less than perfect visit at Hotel Contessa. Both your review on TripAdvisor as well as your detailed guest survey have provided us with valuable and actionable feedback that our team will use to address the deficiencies and improve our service levels. I am glad that our Guest Services Manager was able to speak with you and we look forward to having you return again sometime in the not to distant future.
Les Utley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We recently stayed at Hotel Contessa for a quick "stay-cation" celebrating a bachelorette weekend. The location for the hotel was perfectly situated on the riverwalk, just close enough for an easy 5 min walk to the action, and just far enough to not hear the noise of that action. Although it was a short trip, every employee encountered was friendly and accommodating. The highlight for us was the room. We upgraded to a riverview double, which was huge as it had a separate living area, perfect for a get-together with the girls before going out for the night. We also happened to be on the end unit, which meant double the view and windows. As I work in the luxury hotel industry, I sometimes find myself a little on the picky side, but I couldn't seem to find anything to complain about here. Even the elevators were fast!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I think the thing that stood out for me the most during my recent stay at the Hotel Contessa was how friendly everyone on the staff was. Also, the hotel overall and my room was very clean. The Wi-Fi worked well and the hotel was a good location for me. I was very pleased with my stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

My two kids (24 and 27) recently stayed at the Hotel Contessa for the first time. It came highly recommended by my best friend and boy was she right! I loved it! The hotel itself is beautiful, and all of the employees from the bell staff to the front desk were so pleasant and friendly! The location on the River Walk is super convenient to all the popular places on the river. The room was very comfortable for the three of us, actually very roomy above and beyond what we needed! I have had several "favorites" in the hotels on the River Walk and the Hotel Contessa is definitely my new #1 favorite!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiDollar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Findlay, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 11 December 2013

The Contessa was a wonderful experience in every way. Right on the River Walk was a beautiful room overlooking all the action. The staff were all very kind and welcoming. We could not have asked for a better experience. Will stay there in the future. A romantic place to spend out 37th Anniversary.

Room Tip: City VIew is the best
See more room tips
Green Features: VEry nice its great to see a hotel in a large city concerned about the environment
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#7 of 356 in San Antonio
3,052 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#23 of 356 in San Antonio
3,728 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 356 in San Antonio
1,477 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#18 of 356 in San Antonio
3,010 reviews
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#12 of 356 in San Antonio
2,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Contessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Contessa

Property: Hotel Contessa
Address: 306 W Market St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2953
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#13 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Contessa 4*
Number of rooms: 265
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Contessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Contessa Hotel San Antonio
Contessa San Antonio
Hotel Contessa San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing