We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay but hotel experience could be improved”
Review of Hotel Contessa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Contessa
Ranked #8 of 356 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Katy, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very nice stay but hotel experience could be improved”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We recently spent a family weekend at the Hotel Contessa. This is a very nice hotel with friendly staff! I'd be very happy to return and would recommend to anyone.

The Hotel Contessa is beautiful and comfortable. It's location on the River Walk is superb! Very popular for weddings - there were several during out stay.

The rooms were large - all 2 room suites with a sleeper sofa - perfect for families with kids. No hairdrier or fridge, but the wi-fi was very strong in our room. There were 2 flat screen TV's in our suite. Beds were very comfortable.

With a few, small changes this hotel could very easily be transformed into a 5 star hotel. First, the weakest part of this hotel experience is the on-site restaurant, Las Ramblas. The food was good to very good, but it appears that the kitchen was understaffed. Long delay to be seated at dinner and breakfast, even with several tables available. Each plate was served to our family individually. It took probably 5 minutes or so for all the plates to arrive for one meal. A few plates were almost cold. Prices were a little expensive, but certainly worth the price if top level service was provided with it. I'd recommend they hire another chef for peak dining times. The menu has a very lengthy list of hot and cold tapa's (appetizer plates). I'd probably simplify the menu a little.

Also most really nice hotels have complimentary coffee, water, or lemonade set out at most times (some really nice hotels offer fresh baked cookies once a day). We did see hot chocolate and fresh apples were set out once, though. Self serve coffee would have been nice for many of the people waiting to be seated for breakfast at Las Ramblas.

The pool and hot tub is located on the roof. Very nice! They also have a well equipped fitness center. We did not visit the spa.

We'd be happy to return, but will probably dine elsewhere unless a few upgrades are apparent.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oktourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,139
    650
    192
    105
    87
See reviews for
828
1,050
68
689
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (891)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Tx
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I totally adored staying at this spacious and beautiful hotel. From the moment you walk in you feel welcomed and extravagant. I went during Christmas time, and the place was decorated in gorgeous Christmas decorations that got me in the spirit despite the 80 degree weather outside.

The location is great, just close enough to the main parts of the Riverwalk to make everything easy access, but tucked just enough away from the rowdy crowds to be quiet. It's actually in a pretty perfect spot. The mall, main Riverwalk boat take-off, and the Chilean flute players are all about a four or five minute walk away.

The staff was very friendly, and was very quick to offer me two double beds even though I only signed up for one king. The staff even asked what floor I wanted to be on, which I have never had happen at a hotel before. Most of the time the hotels just put you wherever they want/have room. The fact they asked really impressed me, and the staff even suggested the top floor since its quieter. THANK YOU, because I tend to be sensitive and need the quiet. I really appreciated this small gesture.

The room themselves were VERY spacious. I mean, VERY SPACIOUS considering this was a hotel on the Riverwalk. I got a suite for the same price I would have paid for a small room at La Quinta in the middle of nowhere. The cleaning staff was great, and the place was pretty quiet.

The rooftop swimming pool was really nice as well. I didn't get to eat at the restaurant inside, Las Ramblas, but it was nice to know I had the option. They also have a small convenience store inside the hotel which stayed open pretty late, where you can buy drinks, snacks, and necessities. It's small details like this that make this hotel stand out.

I would stay here again, and recommend it to anyone wanting to stay on the Riverwalk.

Room Tip: The top floor is best if you want super quiet and easy access to rooftop pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HTownMelBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewisville, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

We had an amazing experience at Hotel Contessa. The staff were truly exceptional. Each staff member went out of their way to make sure we were taken care of. The food was wonderful too. In the future, we will stay nowhere but here while visiting San Antonio.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank TiayaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We recently spent 2 nights at the Hotel Contessa right on the Riverwalk and had a terrific time. Everyone we encountered were polite, friendly, and genuinely wanted to help. We had a suite on the ninth floor partial view of the river. The room was cleaned, tastefully decorated, and comfortable. We are a small refrigerator, which came in handy to cool the sodas and juice, and a small microwave oven. The bedroom was spacious with two full size beds. We didn't eat at the restaurant in the hotel so cannot add any comment here but walking pass it seems inviting; perhaps next time. The location of this hotel cannot be beat. Just take the elevator down to the base floor and walk out the back door to the Riverwalk where countless restaurants and shops are withing easy walking distance. If you like to view it from the river, just buy a ticket and hop on the many riverboats and if you do, try it after dark when the lights are on. The view from the river at night is breathtaking though a bit chilly this time of year so bring warm clothes or a small blanket. We had a terrific time here at the Contessa and would certainly return here should our future traveling plan brings us back to this lovely city in Texas.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluescrubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We have stayed here for our last 3 trips to San Antonio. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are luxurious and spotless. The location is perfect for accessing the Riverwalk. We love the tapas. We took our grandson with us and because the rooms are suites, he had a "room" and we did too! We will definitely stay here on our next trip!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a river-view during Christmas to see the lights!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ejayd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Contessa for three nights in mid-December. We were visiting San Antonio for a wedding without the kids. It is a very nice modern hotel right on the Riverwalk. The rooms are huge...all are suites. Our room was very clean upon arrival. We had a great view of the Riverwalk and the city. WiFi is included with the price of the room. Bathroom is quite spacious. We really had a great time.

A couple of minor issues:
- There was only one front desk host upon our arrival and check-in. Therefore, we had to wait in line for a few minutes.
- As is typical of downtown hotels, parking rates are ridiculously expensive. We paid $30/day for mandatory valet parking. I suppose offsite parking is available. But, if you park at the hotel, you use valet. It took anywhere from 10 minutes to 30 minutes for the valet to retrieve our vehicle.
- The hotel restaurant was too small, too expensive, and only mediocre. The service was quite good, however.

Overall, for a downtown hotel, I would definitely recommend the Hotel Contessa. The fact that all rooms are suites means that you really can't get a bad room.

Room Tip: Get the highest floor with a view of the Riverwalk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BES1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crosby, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

This is our second stay at this hotel in San Antonio on the Riverwalk. Beautiful, clean, and a great location with good service. Had a little problem with Heater in room and they were there within 10 minutes to correct issue. Cannot ask for faster service than that.

Room Tip: They keep this place nice and warm even in summer so if you are cold natured you will love it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 356 in San Antonio
3,052 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#23 of 356 in San Antonio
3,726 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 356 in San Antonio
1,475 reviews
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#12 of 356 in San Antonio
2,842 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#19 of 356 in San Antonio
3,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Contessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Contessa

Property: Hotel Contessa
Address: 306 W Market St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2953
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#13 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Contessa 4*
Number of rooms: 265
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Contessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Contessa Hotel San Antonio
Contessa San Antonio
Hotel Contessa San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing