We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little splurge”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Contessa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Contessa
Ranked #11 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Davis, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A little splurge”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Beautiful rooms, great service. My room was by the street side and I woke ups few times from traffic. Other than that, it was lovely. Roof-top pool and jacuzzi in good weather beautiful. Nice spa on site with massages etc. Fun cafe/bar right on The Riverwalk, with a good happy hour. Food at the conference outstanding. The hotel staff was ever accommodating. They missed a wake up call, but who does those anymore. I survived it. An overall nice visit in a beautiful room.

Room Tip: Avoid street side if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharonafs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,032 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,026
    632
    189
    102
    83
See reviews for
782
999
68
665
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (849)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I was here recently for a five-day conference. Unfortunately, I did not stay at the hotel.
But breakfast, lunch and snacks were catered, and it was some of the best food I've ever had, anywhere! I also had happy hour and dinner in their dining room. Again, the food was excellent!
One of the staff, Ishmael, was lovely and took excellent care of us, making sure all of our needs and requests were met.
The people who did stay at the hotel were very happy with their experience.
If I go to San Antonio again, I will be sure to stay--and eat!--here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DinerPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by Eddie G. a bellman at the hotel, he is the most pleasant person you would ever want to have take care of you. If I had any kind of customer service business I would steal him away in a second. He has a great attitude and remembered our names throughout our week long stay. All of the staff at the hotel were very accommodating and helpful; I read some of the negative reviews and clearly the Contessa has taken positive steps to improve. Our stay and conference were flawless. Thank You

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Converse, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We spent a wonderful weekend at The Contessa. The staff was fantastic, everyone from the housekeeping staff to the Ms. Andrade, front desk manager, were efficient, professional and polite. The room was clean, we had a city view and were pleased to find that we also had a very nice view of the river as well. We chose the Bed and Breakfast package, and were very pleased with the selections on the buffet Breakfast. I have a somewhat special diet and needed a particular type of tea with breakfast, our server Ivan went in search and was able to bring me back a nice selection for me, we truly appreciated it. We had two very small hiccups and both occurred on Sunday morning before we were getting ready to go home, the first is something that any hotel guest around the world has probably experienced. We got an unexpected "wake up call" when the guests in the room next to us treated us to an invitation to their "nocturnal activities." What can you do but laugh and wait for the conclusion and hope you can go back to sleep. The second was with the valet, everyone was trying to leave at the same time, a wedding planner was trying to bring in necessaries for a ceremony to be held later in the day, and a large shopping party waited to sort purchases until it was time to load their cars, add to that a pretty yucky day outside and it equals a longer than usual wait for the retrieval of your vehicle. Once the valet staff was apprised of our wait time they quickly brought up the car along the side of the hotel and got us loaded and on our way within minutes. Everything was handled professionally and with a smile, something I truly appreciated considering everything else that was going on at the time.

Both my husband and I will be going back to The Contessa. It has a great location to the Riverwalk, the Little Village, Hemisphere Park and the Alamo. It was a wonderful way to celebrate my husbands birthday and we plan to have more weekends away at this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: We really liked being on the higher floor, not only did we have a quieter room, but we had a pretty...
See more room tips
Green Features: We were very pleased with the way Hotel Contessa is working towards a cleaner environment.
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kernfamily2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McAllen, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

I had originally booked a double suite with city view and when I got there they had changed it to a king with riverview. This was not what I had reserved. The manager said they were all booked. My family and I had to leave and look for another hotel. They ruined the trip for us. Do not stay at this hotel!!! They are snobs.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Ali T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Contessa, General Manager at Hotel Contessa, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Ali T,
As I had mentioned to you when we spoke just recently, we are terribly sorry that your reservation was not honored as it was booked. While we would like to say that "glitches" never occur, we realize that they do. How we respond to such "glitches" is what we believe separates a good hotel from a great hotel. Clearly, we did not rise to the moment in this particular case. I appreciate you taking time to speak with me about your experience and we will most certainly emphasize the take-away lesson learned as we work with our front desk team to improve upon our processes. I am very pleased to know that you will return to stay with us again and I look forward to greeting you personally upon your return.
Les Utley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
276 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Our group of four couples met at this hotel for a three night weekend. We found the hotel employees to be extraordinary. There was a relaxed atmosphere and the staff really seemed to like working here. It is an all- suite note and is casual friendly. I like that there is a door that separates the living room from bedroom. The negatives are this: Small closet and we paid for river view. We got a suite on the 8th floor. I remember the reservation clerk telling me I should get a lower floor if we wanted to enjoy the view. Well, the 8th floor is not low enough and being next to Commerce street is a negative. We saw more street view than river view and there was noise from the street. Lesson learned: Don't pay for the river view. We paid extra for the river view but our friends did not. They definitely got the better deal. There is no balcony and no reason to go the extra expense.cMy husband couldn't get hot water unless he ran the water a long time first. I got a warm (not hot) bath. There is no microwave. My friends were not so happy, but we were ok without it. My other friend got a larger corner room. It had a little more space and extra window. I think the standard suite without river view offers all you will need. I liked the hotel and staff. It was spot on! I had a massage and a facial in the Spa. The prices were very good and the service was excellent. Breakfast from the menu was excellent. We had appetizers from the patio on a Friday evening with drinks. Half price between 4-7 PM. Nice. The pool area is very nice. I liked my stay very much. $30 night for in and out parking. Valet is best. Take the river boat cruise. Pay the $15 and enjoy!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GigiBlogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed at the Contessa again this past weekend just to get out of Houston for a weekend of relaxing and shopping and dinning.....
Again we were satisfied with out stay at the hotel, everything was just as good as it was when we were there last Aug 2013.
Check in was fast and no wait, valet parked our car with no problem, bell hops were just as nice as ever.
Worked out in the exercise room there, very nice.
Drove up to San Marcos to the Prime Outlets on Saturday morning for shopping which my lady always enjoys then on the way back we stopped at the market square for more shopping to top off the day.
Over all this is our second stay there in 6 months and the staff was friendly as ever.
We expect to return again in the next 6 months and will ask for our same room number when had. Good view of the riverwalk and close to the elevators.
Thanks Contessa for another enjoyable weekend for us, this Hotel I would recommend for couples but I know there are families with kids that stay as well.
Again, thanks, we will return.

Room Tip: We did do the breakfast in the hotel on Sunday the day fo check out. The food was great! And of cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#21 of 354 in San Antonio
3,455 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 354 in San Antonio
2,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 354 in San Antonio
1,369 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Contessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Contessa

Property: Hotel Contessa
Address: 306 W Market St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2953
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#13 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Contessa 4*
Number of rooms: 265
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Contessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Contessa Hotel San Antonio
Contessa San Antonio
Hotel Contessa San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing