We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great conference venue!”
Review of Hotel Contessa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Contessa
Ranked #6 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stayed here for a small conference. Room was spacious. Really appreciated the Starbucks Verona dark roast coffee in room. Full sized hair dryer, which women appreciate. Very comfortable bedding. Staff were very accommodating. Located on the quieter end of the river walk so not so much congestion, which was really nice. Would definitely stay here again if in San Antonio for any reason.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank knordal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,735 - 1,741 of 3,248 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

My wife and I attended a conference in Austin, after which we drove to San Antonio for a night's stay. Our room was spacious and very nicely decorated, with a great view of downtown. We knew the location would be perfect, and it was. What genuinely surprised us was the superb dinner we had at the hotel restaurant. We ate late (we're from the East Coast), but we were too tired to go anywhere else and decided to just go downstairs for dinner. That turned out to be the right decision. We will definitely stay at the Contessa the next time we visit this beautiful city.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Contessa, General Manager at Hotel Contessa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear William D,

We appreciate you taking time to share a positive review of Hotel Contessa with the TripAdvisor community. We are certainly happy that you found that your room was spacious, very nicely decorated, with a great view of downtown and that our location was perfect. We are especially pleased that you enjoyed a superb dinner in our riverfront Las Ramblas restaurant! This time of year, the patio dining overlooking the river is something every Contessa guest should definitely not miss! We look forward to having you return again sometime in the not too distant future!
Les Utley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Place is located right on the river walk and only minutes away from all the great sight seeing locations of San Antonio. I would highly recommend this hotel for a good romantic get away.

If you have kids it might annoy next door neighbors since rooms are really close to eachofher but the rooms are plenty big

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_wonderer713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We had a small glitch when we arrived and was impressed at the professionalism of the staff. The front office manager, Kate could not have been more accommodating! Our bellman, Francisco was the BEST bellman we have ever encountered. He went out of his way to help us! The hotel is beautiful...4 star all the way! I would highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JuleandDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed this past weekend. We joined our daughter & her boyfriend. We couldn't have asked for a better time. The rooms were fabulous (high floor 10th). City view but we both got views of the river. Very quiet part. Eddie, the valet, wonderful!

Stayed: April 2014
Thank NMgirl66NewMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Contessa, General Manager at Hotel Contessa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear NMgirl66NewMexico ,

We are very happy to know that you enjoyed the best vacation that you've had in a long time and we thank you for sharing your positive review with the readers of TripAdvisor. We are also glad that you found the rooms fabulous and the views equally so! Many guest find our location on the quiet side of the Riverwalk to be perfect for relaxing yet still close to all the action. As for our bellman Eddie......we could not agree with you more. He is a true star among many stars! we look forward to having you back again sometime soon!

Les Utley,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My wife and I recently spent the weekend at Hotel Contessa and were extremely satisfied with the experience. The hotel is situated in a quieter section of the Riverwalk, but all the restaurants are within a 10 minute walk along the river, so being more secluded provides the best of both worlds. Although Contessa does not have a lobby, having ceded that space to a bar and restaurant, the courtyard-like setup, which has rooms ringing the main entrance, was charming. We stayed in a Cityview Suite, which actually had a view of the river, and were impressed by the décor (particularly the incorporation of brick and wood into the design) and comfort. Also, the bedroom and sitting area are separated by the bath, which is particularly useful if one wants to watch a little TV or do some work while their partner rests.

Outside the room, the fitness center in the hotel was first rate, with enough cardio and weight training variety to satisfy most. The pool and hot tub were also inviting, but inclement weather prevented their use. My wife had a massage at the Hotel Spa and raved about the experience. It is expensive, but worth every penny if you’re in a position to splurge. The valet parking is a little expensive too at 30+tax per day, but the attendants were prompt, which made for a convenient check-in and departure. Finally, the staff as a whole was friendly and accommodating, offering good suggestions for our stay in San Antonio and making us feel welcomed.

Hotel Contessa was close to five stars, but the din that rises from the restaurant/bar below could be a distraction to some. We stayed on the 12th floor, so the rising noise was mostly muted, but if on the lower floor, the residual sound of revelers might be a distraction to light sleepers. That potential inconvenience, combined with the lack of high-end complementary amenities (e.g., no Ethernet cable or complementary snack/beverage services), make Contessa closer to a 4.5 star establishment (alas, TripAvisor makes you choose between 4 and 5), but still highly recommended, especially for couples.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor to avoid any potential noise issue. If you require a refrigerator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank will23ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

My 60's something mother and I go away each Spring. We look for interesting cities to visit and hotels that are comfortable with good amenities. This hotel had reasonable service, but the environment was very cold and corporate. For example, they don't really have a lobby. I wanted to sit quietly and do some things out of the room, but the only place they had chairs available to relax were at the bar which had was in an open plan with a 6 story roof. It was just not warm and welcoming as I expected. I would not come here again.
Pros:
Room was spotless
Beds very comfortable
Amenities smelled great - unusual orange scent
Had THE BEST MASSAGE EVER in a hotel at the Woodhouse (neck, back only)
Creative cocktails
Valet was fairly quick
Right on Riverwalk
Used the refrigerator

Cons
Very little personality
Bathroom had open-slat design doors- little privacy, and they opened out so you had to make sure that you close them to go between the sleeping room and the sitting room.
The sitting room has poorly placed lights and is very dark
Poor sleep quality - You could hear the parties and bridal parties in the bar at all hours. In the morning the trucks and downtown traffic woke me up at 6
Restaurant was very expensive, the tapas were quite good but the entrees were less spectacular.
I had to do work and there was not a desk in the room.
The business office was tiny and not conducive to work.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Riverwalk may be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rainbowsparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Contessa, General Manager at Hotel Contessa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Rainbowsparkle,
We appreciate you choosing to stay with us for your getaway weekend with your mother. I am sorry to hear that you did not find the ambience of our hotel to be warm, welcoming or relaxing. While we do cater to corporate business and meetings, our largest volume of business is, in fact, leisure individual travelers who choose Hotel Contessa as a very relaxing and comfortable escape from the everyday and they tremendously appreciate our fabulous river front location on the quiet side of the San Antonio Riverwalk. Guests find our spacious atrium lobby to be the perfect place to relax, unwind and escape. There are also numerous nooks and alcoves throughout the lobby and atrium where many go to read, quietly surf the internet or just chat with friends and family. It is most unfortunate that you did not seem to find the ambiance of the hotel conducive to your wishes and needs and we are sorry that you left less than completely satisfied. We have just begun a full renovation on our guest rooms which will no doubt be the most exciting and unique rooms in San Antonio and we have just completed installation of all new computer equipment in our business center. We hope that you might reconsider a return sometime in the future as we are certain that you will leave with a much more pleasant impression of our hotel.
Les Utley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#5 of 358 in San Antonio
3,113 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#21 of 358 in San Antonio
3,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#19 of 358 in San Antonio
3,143 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 358 in San Antonio
1,540 reviews
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#14 of 358 in San Antonio
2,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Contessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Contessa

Address: 306 W Market St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2953
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#13 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: £146 - £304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Contessa 4*
Number of rooms: 265
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Contessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Contessa Hotel San Antonio
Contessa San Antonio
Hotel Contessa San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing