We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Stay”
Review of Hotel Contessa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Contessa
Ranked #5 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Contessa for a 2nd time (for our anniversary) because we had such a great experience the 1st time. However, the 2nd visit was not as expected. Check-in was disorganized. Front desk folks didn't seem as personable/welcoming as the first time. The room was okay - bathroom was clean but not spotless. The headboard looked tattered. One of the water bottles was not sealed. It is a beautiful hotel in a great location but the service lost a few points this time around. Had great expectations but didn't deliver this time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fillyhsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,709 - 1,715 of 3,278 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at Hotel Contessa on a trip to Houston. From the moment we drove up until the moment we left the experience was perfect. Staff was friendly, attentive and could not have been more helpful. The room was beautiful overlooking the Riverwalk. Decor very welcoming and clean with good quality bedding and comfortable bed and pillows. I just cannot say enough good things about this hotel. I LOVED IT. Thank you to all the staff at Hotel Contessa and congratulations on a job well done!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maggie10lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed in late September 2012 for a girls weekend. Perfect location, accommodations, happy hour, reverse happy hour, service (wait staff, valets, housekeeping, concierge). When we weren't walking to everything so close (restaurants, river walk, shopping, Alamo, dancing, sightseeing) we were drinking and eating at the hotel bar. Yesenia was the BEST waitress I may have ever had in my life. Remembered drinks, names, food, and was on top of every little detail. Concierge has great restaurant and fun recommendations. The valet guys are so nice and helpful with luggage, cabs, directions. Was a perfect long weekend. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaime P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

I recently had the opportunity to stay at the Hotel Contessa in San Antonio Texas. I travel extensively and truly appreciate a great hotel experience. The Hotel Contessa exceeded all of my expectations.

In a word - Perfection ...

I will definitely be back ...,

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
4  Thank TexasSelect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

This is a beautiful hotel. The rooms are amazing and the location is excellent. The hotel is a little pricey, but very nice.

I would recommend this place to others and would like to stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelingfrequent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We loved this hotel. The suite size was perfect for our family of 3, the hotel is beautiful, and all of the staff were great. The river view room was really pleasant - a pretty view but not too noisy due to the location of the hotel on the riverwalk. We will definitely stay there again on our next trip to San Antonio.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank 707travelmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We had an amazing stay my sons, 4 & 6, loved it! We got a river side room and it was truly river side! Location was amazing, about a 5 minute walk away from the boat tours. Breakfast buffet was not overly amazing. However, everything else was amazing! Definitely recommend, especially with children!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mommy_tabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#8 of 358 in San Antonio
3,143 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 358 in San Antonio
3,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#18 of 358 in San Antonio
3,204 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 358 in San Antonio
1,560 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Contessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Contessa

Address: 306 W Market St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2953
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#2 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#13 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: £138 - £314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Contessa 4*
Number of rooms: 265
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Contessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Contessa Hotel San Antonio
Contessa San Antonio
Hotel Contessa San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing