We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location on River Walk”
Review of Hotel Contessa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Contessa
Ranked #6 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My wife and I found the hotel very nice and conveniently located directly on the River Walk.
The staff were all very friendly and professional. Our room on the 12th floor was very clean with a River Walk view. The king size bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet. It was nice to not have to drive a car once we arrived and to be able to walk from the hotel and dine along the River Walk. We would definitely stay at the Contessa again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,591 - 1,597 of 3,248 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

The 250+ room Hotel Contessa in San Antonio Texas is rather surprising and definitely not a run of the mill bland US corporate hotel.

Everything about the hotel is reassuring. It is clean, comfortable and efficiently organised. The hotel has a good atmosphere, not flash and heading towards the luxury end of the market. The clientele is a mixture of business types and families.

Even though from the outside the building looks like any other highrise tower block, in side what really stands out is the Spanish feel to the place. This includes both the bedrooms and the lobby area.

Situated in downtown San Antonio on south western part of the Riverwalk on a relatively quite stretch of the river. There is a good bar on the lower ground floor that connects directly to the Riverwalk. There is a small pool on the roof of the hotel roof. More a dipping pool rather then for doing lanes.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
9  Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Hotel room was nice & desk staff great but really noisy. I have lived in NYC my whole life so when i say noisy it was really annoying. The street noisy was disturbing all night and was on 9th floor. But worst thing was at 9:01 am they started drilling inside the hotel. I jumped out of bed so loud. Finally over $30 to park. But for noise very nice hotel.

Room Tip: Careful if book on expedia...rate was for Riverwalk view but did not get view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Contessa, General Manager at Hotel Contessa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Janet G,

Thank you for taking time to share a your review with the TripAdvisor community on our hotel. We apologize for you being disturbed by the sounds of the city. We will often place light sleepers on the quieter river side of the hotel on higher floors. I wish we could have done the same for you. Yes, we are remodeling the guest rooms and once complete, they will be the most unique rooms in the entire city. The rooms that are already completed are receiving rave reviews! The good news is that the renovation is now just a few weeks away! We hope that you'll be back to experience the new and improved Contessa sometime soon. When you do, please contact me in advance so that I may personally see to it that you have a fabulous AND quiet room!

Kind regards,
Les

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Myself & 3 other friends stayed at this hotel over July 4th weekend. We had a great time. The hotel was nice & staff friendly. Our room was very roomy. Didn't seem like there were 4 of us in it. Pool area was nice and not crowded. We enjoyed appetizers & drinks at the bar and watched some soccer matches. It is central to anything you want to do along the Riverwalk. We took a short stroll to see the Alamo. Lots of restaurants & bars along the Riverwalk. We'd stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Sheryl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The top compliment I want to give is to the staff. Hotel Contessa does an excellent job hiring. Stephen - Kate - Carmen, to name a few, you were above your game! Thank you.
The hotel was very nice. The rooms were very nice. The location (on the Riverwalk) was great. The room service (meals) were awesome. Filets as good as Ruth's! Breakfast was yum every day!
Thank you - tripadvisor - for your advise. Hotel Contessa made our trip to San Antonio a great one!
Cate & Jim
(New Orleans)

Room Tip: Stay on the river side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Contessa while on business in San Antonio. From the seamless check in process, to the very helpful valet staff. a definite must. My business trip needed 2 additional days at the hotel, and without any delay, I was able to extend my stay. The entire staff, very courteous and never overbearing or intrusive. The concierge staff even recommended Cavenders Boot store( when in SA buy a new pair of boots)....
I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL.

Room Tip: Ask for a riverwalk view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I enjoyed my recent stay at the Hotel Contessa. The room was awesome, staff was excellent and the experience was worth every nickel. Located on the River Walk is an added plus.
Next trip to San Antonio, I will be staying at Hotel Contessa.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#5 of 358 in San Antonio
3,113 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#21 of 358 in San Antonio
3,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#19 of 358 in San Antonio
3,143 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 358 in San Antonio
1,540 reviews
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#14 of 358 in San Antonio
2,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Contessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Contessa

Address: 306 W Market St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2953
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#13 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: £146 - £304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Contessa 4*
Number of rooms: 265
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Contessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Contessa Hotel San Antonio
Contessa San Antonio
Hotel Contessa San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing